We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rowsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2010

My husband and I spend over 12 months looking for the perfect wedding venue... We saw East Lodge first and fell in love, but had to keep searching just in case there was something better out there... But there wasn't... Excellent Customer Service, Fantasic Food, Kind, Caring and Helpful in everyway... A proper family run business, who make you feel so welcome you could almost be one of the family.
They know your name, date of your wedding and every little detail without having to be reminded.
Iain Hardman the Deputy General Manager was actively involved all the way, a great help and firendly ear if needed. Charlotte the wedding planner, was absolutely fantastic... Even with my obsessive table planning and constant need of reassurance that everything would run to plan, she offered her time when she wasn't supposed to be at work and maintained constant communication via email and phone.
We had the run of the whole venue for 24 hours, each and every need tended too with care and a smile... The place - a beautiful driveway, gardens and building just a perfect little hideaway for the weekend or a wedding. 100% Top Marks, No Fault Found!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikeandlizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
There are newer reviews for East Lodge Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2010

The staff were all very friendly. We were welcomed into the hotel by staff members holding the door for us and then carrying bags. Throughout our stay they managed to avoid a stuffy atmosphere by being welcoming, friendly and chatty without being intrusive.
On arrival we had a room upgrade to a suite, which was very well equipped, although the bathroom TV didn't manage to get a picture.
We had a superb evening meal in the dining room, which started well and got better and better with each course. Breakfast was also delicious. I had the traditional country breakfast with local bacon and Bakewell black pudding.
There was a good local walk, as well as the option of the hotel's own garden's, to work off a few calories. The hotel is well situated for Chatsworth, Haddon Hall and a visit to nearby Bakewell (3 miles) as well as other delights of the Peak District.
All in all, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarethSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

The beautifully manicured and maintained gardens gave us a powerful first impression. We were then met at the door by the General Manager, who checked us in personally. East Lodge gave us a welcome upgrade. We were escorted to a beautiful room by a charming young lady, the first of many capable young people who we were to meet during our stay. As promised on the website, dinner was outstanding. It featured locally-sourced products, intelligently and creatively prepared and presented, served elegantly and efficiently by the attractive team in the restaurant. After a comfortable night, we enjoyed an excellent breakfast from the award-winning menu. Our stay was rounded off by an efficient checkout. I have been a hotelier and a hotel-school director all my life, and can therefore say from a professional perspective, that the family-run East Lodge exceeded all our expectations. Well done

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelSchoolProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

For a wonderfully relaxing break in luxurious surroundings with superb food and staff who are courteous, friendly and exceptionally helpful this is the hotel to visit. Set in beautiful grounds in the beautiful Derbyshire Peak District, East Lodge is a convenient base for visiting many interesting and historic places. Give it a try . You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reepion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

From the moment I arrived I knew that the day would go well. Everything was as requested, and additional requirements were efficiently provided. Without exception the staff were very professional - polite and friendly, attentive, discreet - and put themselves out to ensure that everything we needed was made available.

The manager also went out out of his way to ensure that all of my delegates' needs were met, and that the day was a success. I will definitely use this venue again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seriousbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We stayed for 2 nights for my Husbands 50th birthday and it was great! Dominic was so helpful, he ran out to us with an umbrella when we arrived back in the rain! All of the staff made us really welcome.. The food was the best either of us have ever had, every mouthful was fantastic!! If we lived nearer we would definately be regular customers.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenxMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

I booked to stay on a Saturday night at East Lodge for my partner's 30th birthday. I did book the day before my partner's birthday at short notice and the hotel offered a discounted superior room for £160.00 including breakfast. During the booking I was asked on the phone if there was anything the hotel could assist with and I requested a large bouquet of flowers to be in placed in the room.

On arrival we were greeted outside the hotel and assisted by a member of staff who kindly took our bags and instantly made us both feel very welcome. All staff were very pleasant, efficient and well mannered.

We were shown to our room and again provided full assistance with our bags. The immaculately clean bedroom was well equipped with a large flat screen TV including Sky, a desk, a two seat sofa and coffee table, a dressing table with chair and a large double bed with a comfortable firm mattress. The fully tiled ensuite bathroom provided a seperate shower cubicle and a bath - and to my partners delight a waterproof tv screen. Also adding to my partners surprise was to be greeted in the room by the ordered bouquet of flowers thoughtfully placed in a large vase.

As we had booked a table for dinner the hotel kindly provided a copy of the menu in our room. A three course meal costs £37 per person including a prestarter (although this is not mentioned in the menu). The menu choice was excellent with a range of dishes such as beef slow cooked for 24 hours, duck, chicken, fish and vegetarian options on offer. Please note the cuisine is a fine dining experience based on quality not quantity. Be advised if you are expecting plates full of food then you will be disappointed - perhaps those who have a larger appetite or belly should look elsewhere!

Before sitting down for our meal, we were cordially greeted by the manager who asked if we wished to order any drink in the bar. A bottle of Peroni lager and a small diet coke was brought to us in addition to a small selection of crisps, olives and peanuts. The drinks came in at just over £8.00 - okay for a special occasion however this cost is bordering City of London drink prices ...

Having selected our courses we were shown to the restaurant. A bottle of wine was ordered and our meals were brought to us when we were ready. Go for the beef or the duck and try the chocolate gateux with apricot ... sublime!

For those of you who enojy breakfast there is a great selection to choose from: the standard fare of full english breakfast to scottish haggis with toast topped with a ducks egg, a meal I have never come across before!

If you are contemplating a hotel for a celebration then East Lodge is perfect. Would I go back again? Definitely. Would I recommend to friends and family? Absolutely!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maps_Base
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowsley
3.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
698 reviews
5.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
307 reviews
13.8 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Lodge Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Lodge Country House Hotel

Address: Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Rowsley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rowsley
Price Range: £141 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Lodge Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your East Lodge Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Country
East Lodge Country House Hotel Rowsley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing