We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and pokey but nice and tidy”

City of Sails Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City of Sails Motel
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small and pokey but nice and tidy”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Very noisy fridge at night, turn it off. The room looked a lot bigger on-line so I wish we had looked before paying. No microwave, cooking equipment, utensils or plates, also you couldn't cook anything. If you needed to wash your cups you had to do so in the bathroom. (yuk). The room was so tight and small we spent most of the time out on the tiny little balcony with no view. The Wi-Fi service was excellent and un-limited. The best features were the spa bath and the Wi-Fi. The owner was more interested in telling us we had to be out at 10am sharp and then told us we had to walk up 3 flights of stairs with our luggage, not good when partially disabled.

Room Tip: if you must stay pay the extra $10.00 for a spa room otherwise your stay there isn't worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Motel is handy to public transport and also motorway. Our room was a good size, was expecting it to have microwave, Reception staff bought one up to our room as well as plates and cutlery. Room had a balcony and a ceiling fan, which worked well, as it was quite warm in our room. Bathroom was a good size, lovely shower. Room was very clean. Motel doesn't have a lift, so there were a lot of steps to get our suitcases up.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for just one night while visiting a relative. It was ok - a bit impersonal but reasonably clean and well equipped. The bathroom was excellent. Location is not very pretty but extremely convenient.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Korsakoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
424 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I had an urgent trip to Auckland at North Shore Hospital. This motel was about 50 metres from the entrance to the hospital.
the spa unit was spacious, bed comfortable and spa great. As other reviewers have noted we did turn the fridge off overnight, noticed some road noise, and the unit had no utensils or cooking facilities. Units were cleaned well.
there are no lifts so we were on level 2 so had to take bags up four flights of stairs, although the manager insisted on taking these for us.
the chinese and european takeways just 100 metres down the road was very reasonably priced and had excellent meals.
For location to North Shore hospital or westlake high this is tops and was worth its weight in gold at a stressful time.
the managers were very helpful.

Room Tip: Furtherest from the road intersection I would suggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

If you need to be handy to the North Shore hospital well then this is the place to stay. It is only a five minute walk to the hospital. The rooms are apartment with everything you should need whilst in the area. There are local shops and within a five minute a choice of several places for something to eat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
,Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Spent one night here, having chosen the motel for its convenient location and was not disappointed. Room was of a good size, with a large, comfortable bed. Very quiet, considering the busy traffic outside. The person at reception was friendly and helpful. Had a great meal at a Malaysian restaurant down the road in Milford.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Kiwi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed in this motel on business and found it pleasant and comfortable. The location is good and underground carparking is provided, which is very convenient. I was impressed with the very helpful and friendly staff. The gentleman at the desk carried my bags up to my room for me and was most helpful during my stay. The room was spacious, pleasantly decorated and spotlessly clean. I particularly enjoyed the spa bath, which was very relaxing. I found it interesting that the room facilities were more in keeping with a hotel, rather than a motel. In particular, there was no fresh milk provided - only those horrible plastic containers you get in hotels! I find that most motels provide fresh milk these days. Also, there were no utensils or microwave facilities for preparing your own meals, although the staff provided eating utensils on request. I had to switch the fridge off at night, as it made a rattling sound and I am a very light sleeper. However, this was easy to do and not particularly inconvenient.

Room Tip: Ask whether some rooms have eating facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
1.2 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
0.6 mi away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aristotles North Shore
Aristotles North Shore
#1 of 1 in North Shore City
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
121 reviews
2.5 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
599 reviews
4.0 mi away
Albany Oak Motel
Albany Oak Motel
#1 of 3 in Albany
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City of Sails Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City of Sails Motel

Property: City of Sails Motel
Address: 219 Shakespeare Road | North Shore, Milford, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Milford
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City of Sails Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your City of Sails Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing