We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking location”
other travellers have booked this property
Location of the property on the Toe Head peninsula
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Location of the property on the Toe Head peninsula
Large garden with views across Toe Head Bay- plenty of space for children to play!. Sea view from the front of the property across Toe Head Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Location of the property on the Toe Head peninsula
Large garden with views across Toe Head Bay- plenty of space for children to play!.
Sea view from the front of the property across Toe Head Bay
The property from the front which overlooks Toe Head Bay
Our newly refurbished kitchen.
King size double room with sea views - sit in bed and watch the waves!
The newly refurbished bathroom with contemporaty suite, shower bath and heated towel rail.
Living room with wood burning stove and very comfortable sofa. Shows adjacent large dining room
Sea views from the front and side gardens lots of space for outdoor dining in summer!
The spacious single room with wash basin. Situated at the back of the property with a garden view.
Twin room with sea view
Twin room with countryside view
The newly refurbished light and spacious bathroom.
Toe Head sunset - from property - taken from the dining area.
The dining room off the sitting room will comfortably seat ten people.
The property surrounded by large private garden
Walking from the doorstep! View from the road immediately outside the property gates
Dolphins swimming in Toe Head Bay - we sat in bed and watched them!
Surrounding area: excellent for walking and cycling!
Winter seas - view from the property
Bathroom with showerbath, heated towel rail, and contemporary fittings.
looking AT the property from across the Bay
Nearby unspoilt beaches
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Castletownshend, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Susan M
1 review
“Breathtaking location”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We loved our stay at Toe Head. The house and garden were in perfect order, very well organised and exactly as shown in the photos. The annexe was a nice surprise as there were no pictures showing it. It was very useful to have a second toilet and shower. The house itself was spacious, comfortable and very well equipped with everything we needed. It was a lovely bonus to be able to light a fire in the evenings. The view from the house overlooking the bay is magnificent and you would never tire of the views as you walk around Toe Head.

Paula, the owner, was very helpful in the run-up to our stay answering any queries we had and Pauline the local manager was there to welcome us and explain where everything was.

We went on lots of outings in the local area, the beach in Roscarberry, Lough Hyne, Mizen Head and Crookhaven, Castletownshend and Union Hall and, of course, Skibbereen.

The shops are a bit of a drive away so it does mean that you have to be organised concerning supplies but that is the charm of Toe Head, tranquility and isolation in a beautiful setting.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone and we'd love to come back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and comfortable home with beautiful views
Liked least: Having to think ahead about food supplies as the shops are a drive away
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that in addition to its fabulous location our holiday home had everything that you needed! Thank you for leaving the property so tidy and for taking the time to write a review. I hope that we can welcome you and your family back sometime in the future.
Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julia v
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Lovely holiday, great location and scenery. Very friendly and helpful people, some wonderful seafood eateries thoroughly relaxing
A great place to unwind

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Moynihans and had a relaxing holiday. Thank you for your comments! We hope that we can welcome you and your family back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth P
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil Toehead”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay was absolutely fantastic! Found it no problem and didn’t want to leave! Wonderful places to visit nearby, but perfectly happy exploring Toehead as well. We visited during winter and so used the wood burner, which was really great. Throws out some heat! Thank you for a hugely enjoyable stay. Will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed our holiday home and the beautiful surrounding area - as well as making use of our new wood burning stove!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller...
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great views in great comfort”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stunning scenery, very remote on a secluded peninsula which is a perfect get-away-from-it-all location. It starts when you leave the N71 and have mainly low visibility single-track road (hardly any traffic) for the final 20 minutes. You can't go quick so you relax and just enjoy! House itself is very spacious with everything you need and a large private garden. The local area is beautiful for walks/hikes when not venturing very far out for the day but there are also several good day-trips in the south west. Very happy we spent a full week here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GJC247
Berkshire
1 review
“Peace & tranquility in copious amounts”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Ideal location to relax and enjoy the views over Toe Head Bay, the walks around the quiet roads or cliffs, and for looking at the stars on a clear night. I would recommend the Saturday market in Skibbereen for good local produce and the Fish Shop on Marsh Road for fresh fish.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley M
Leyland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Set in a beautiful position with far reaching views overlooking the bay. The property is very spacious with safe gardens to the front where you can watch the children play while enjoying the stunning outlook. The area is free from your usual holiday crowds. In fact one day we got a beach to ourselves! Unknown in England.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline B
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning scenery and very spacious accommodation”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Traveling down from Cork Airport to Toe Head feels as if you are leaving the hustle and bustle of life behind you. Toe Head is a very rural "get away form it all" location and the scenery is stunning.
The views from the bungalow are just as described and there is a peace and tranquility about this part of Ireland that should be experienced by everyone.
The accommodation was excellent and had everything we needed. There is even TV and WIFI
I'm already looking forward to returning next year and hope to stay a little longer to explore the areas we missed.this time.
Castletownsend is a "must see place" if only to navigate the tree, growing out of the middle of the road, down to the small harbour.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: watching the sunset from the terrace with a glass of wine in my hand
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing