We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an awesome location and very family friendly campsite!”
Review of Aberafon Camp Site

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberafon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aberafon Camp Site
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Just spent a beautiful weekend at Aberafon with my partner and our two young sons (3yr and 1yr). It couldn't have confirmed my love of camping more. We met lots of lovely people and the kids made instant new best friends ( they're very fickle at this age!). We toasted marshmallows over a beach fire whilst watching the sunset and the kids skinny dipping in the sea (still lovely and warm at 9.30pm) facilities were great.. Not flashy but clean and functionable. Shower block was a bit grubby by the time we got to it at 10am but to be expected at that time in peak season! My only gripe was maybe the Jet Skis being allowed to launch. It was such a stunning evening in such a beautiful spot just slightly marred by the roar of a jet ski. I would still highly recommend this great campsite though. We'll be going back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Roomservicejunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent one night here, we really couldn't have been any closer to the sea without being in it, and the view from our cliff top pitch was stunning. It rained so there was no beach campfire or sunset and we didn't spot any dolphins but the campsite is still in one of the nicest locations imaginable. No one in the office when we arrived but we did bump into the owner when we were looking for a pitch and he was very welcoming, the instructions for arriving when there was no one about and the info leaflets were very comprehensive.

Only downside was that there was no soap in the loos closest to us - we always carry soap and anti bacterial hand gel when traveling so not a big deal but given the way the info leaflet goes on about e coli soap might have been a good idea.

Also the rubbish on the beach was a little depressing (not the campsites fault necessarily I know and not as bad as many other beaches we've been to), we ended up coming back from each walk with a carrier bag full, maybe a bin near the slipway with a sign encouraging people to pick up any rubbish they spot would be a good idea?

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank sammylou100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh B, Owner at Aberafon Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Just want to clarify that all of our toilets have liquid soap dispensers that are regularly checked.
It would be helpful for us to be made aware of any problems at the time so that we can endeavour to sort them out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We've just returned from Aberafon following an amazing week of sunshine and relaxation. The site is in a stunning location, watching the sunset on the beach in the evenings was magical. Reviews about the facilities are all fair but they are adequate with plenty of hot water. The owners were friendly and helpful and having a little shop on site was great, especially in the evening when we fancied a cheeky biscuit!
We can't wait to go back!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank happywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights with2 young children and had a lovely time the toilets were nice and clean our pitch had an amazing view of the sea and we will definitely be coming back as much as possible! There are some reviews saying the toilets were not clean we found them to be fine and cleaned every day remember your camping and not staying in a hotel!!

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Daveanelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed for 6 nights, monday to sunday the first 4 were quiet not many campers, then it got busy Friday and Saturday ,the tents are pitched quite close together so we lost our lovely view from the tent on the last 2 days.The owners are lovely, they leave you alone, but also are more than happy to help in any way if you ask. The facilities were nice and clean it was a nice touch to have the radio on in the shower block. Direct access to the stony beach is lovely, we walked down each evening and watched the beautiful sunsets, you can have a fire on the beach if you want to. I would recommend this camp and I would look forward to another stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We go camping every year, Generally cornwall/Devon, However this year we fancied a change and wow what a camp site. Its a stunning site very scenic and beautiful even the lovely stream by the shower block. was fairly clean and quiet most of the week. The owners are amazing gave us little hints for nice walks and places to eat.

We did have fantastic weather which does help the experience the only negative i could think of is the pitch numbers are on posts in the bushes with small numbering making it difficult to read from a distance, however a very helpful map and another camper helped us find our way!


will be back again without a shadow of a doubt!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and despite the rain had a fantastic time! We were greeted by the friendly owners who pointed us to our pitch and then left us to it (which I think is a bonus as some watch over you like a hawk and can be far too strict!). The views are amazing and the facilities are more than adequate. We had a camp fire on the beach whilst watching the sunset - so relaxing (fire wood can be bought from the main house). There was a small playground with swings and a slide for anyone travelling with children and there was ample space in the middle of the fields for them to fly kites, play with a frisbee, play football etc. We can't fault this camp site and the only down side was that we didn't book an extra night! Everything else was perfect! Highly recommended and we will be back for another visit.

Room Tip: We were on the top field and we were open to the elements but we were made aware of this when we boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cp2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Aberafon Camp Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberafon Camp Site

Address: Aberafon LL54 5PN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Aberafon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Aberafon
Also Known As:
Aberafon Camp Site North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing