We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holme Lacy Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Certificate of Excellence
rotherham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Holme Lacy Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at Holme Lacy for a weekend in January after spending the previous 4 days at Cricket St Thomas. It was a treat having 2 stays in a week to celebrate our Ruby Wedding. The Cricket break which I reviewed in January was brilliant but for sheer pleasure Holme Lacy just goes passed the post first. This was our second visit to this wonderful hotel and won't be our last, we go again in November for my wifes birthday. We spent this break in the Princess Beatrice Suite, luxurious it was too, a complimentary bottle of Moet & Chandon on ice in our room on arrival. One special pleasure of staying in a suite is all your dining takes place in The Orchard Resaurant and it really is first class, the quality of the food and the fabulous service excelled beyond our wildest dreams. All the staff were wonderful and I would like to thank the gardener who loaned me a landing net when I spent 3 hours in the freezing cold trying to catch some fish, unfortunatey it was not required on this occasion but it came in handy for breaking the ice on the lake. The entertainment staff were marvelous, they really do work so hard. Warners have put together a great team which this fantasic hotel deserves. We don't want to wish the summer away but hurry up November for our next visit. Best wishes to all at Holme Lacy Steve & Lorraine Simmons

Room Tip: Spend the cash and go Historic at the rear looking down to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stivRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SergioRodrigues, Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Thank you very much Mr. and Mrs. Simmons for you recent review of your stay with Holme Lacy. I am so happy that you experience a wonderful holiday with us and had a taste of what the Holme Lacy Team has to offer from the great bedrooms, entertainment, food and service.
I will personally be passing your feedback to the teams as they always want to know how they are doing.
Can't wait to welcome you back in November.
Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    376
    140
    45
    34
See reviews for
124
643
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This was our third stay at a Warners hotel and this time we stayed for four nights. We had a Junior Historic Suite (returned today Good Friday) - which meant we could eat breakfast and dinner in the Orchard Restaurant. What a delight! The food was absolutely superb and our waiter who was from Hungary, was attentive but discreet. He made us feel special. I cannot fault the food.
The entertainment for us during the day consisted of quizzes - we won 4 of them - and most of these were hosted by Alison who was excellent She put her heart and soul into the quizzes - most of which she wrote herself and they were better than the average quiz - having different themes, music, name the year, one based on bingo. Thoroughly enjoyable, as was the swim and steam room we had every evening before dinner. The room itself was gorgeous with a huge bathroom. Absolutely no complaints.
For us, the reason we did not allocate 5 stars were as follows:-
there were two bars. One doubled up as a small snack place where the staff, although lovely and charming, were slow. We ordered a beer and a wine and waited 15 mins for them to be delivered to our table. This bar also closes at 10.30 every night so unless one wanted to go to the Pavilion, there was nothing else to do but either go to bed (which I understand many people did) or sit on your own in the beautiful Blue Room looking like Billy No Mates!

The Pavilion has a bar, some seating and a seated auditorium where the staff do their "shows". We wandered over there on Wed afternoon to be greeted by a closed bar. When we enquired why the bar was closed, we were told that the team were rehearsing for the big show last night (Thursday). It was the same story yesterday so we thought we'd amble up and see this amazing show. Sad to say, it was loud and not very good. So, back to the room it was and in bed by 11.
We have been to Thoresby Hall and didn't go to any of the shows but didn't feel "left out" as there were other things going on e.g. the Thoresby Players doing a little playlet in the main hall whilst we sat in the huge Library playing cards with a couple of staff lingering to see if anyone wanted coffee/alcohol etc. I didn't feel the need to crawl up to bed then, and on this occasion, I felt a bit sad that the days, which we enjoyed so much, and then dinner, which was wonderful, was then badly let down by the evening of non-entertainment.

I would not return to Holme Lacy for the above reason but if you enjoy the social dancing and the show, then I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Junior Historic Suites and quiet and on the corners of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubyslippers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SergioRodrigues, Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your current review, we always appreciate feedback. I am glad that you had a restful holiday with us and enjoyed your room, dining experience and daytime activities. Alison is a very popular member of the team and really brings the daytime activities offering to life.
Entertainment plays a vital part of our product offering and its hosted in the Pavilion where we can accomodate seating for all the guest and I am sorry that the shows did not appeal to your interest.
Ian our Entertainment Manager is currently working on the programme to enhance our product within the main house.

Hope to see you back soon with Warner Leisure Hotels

Sergio Rodrigues
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moray, scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This really is a special place. Its aimed at the Adult market and offers mid week short breaks and weekend too,. It is easy to park. The room was just superb, a wonderful selection of food, up market dining and the entertainment was just what we hoped for, somewhere to socialise with an opportunity to dance, not to mention the activities on offer. We tried out green mat bowling as a group divided into teams, we walked through lovely scenery, and we managed to go to Hereford to visit the cathedral and market place.

If you are looking for a break from the little people where you can find fun and romance, this is the place for you and its a Warner Break we had however I do believe this hotel is open to other visitors too..

Room Tip: We did not upgrade and our room was lovely. My sister did an upgrade and her room was the height of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SergioRodrigues, Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. Myself and the team at Holme Lacy are so happy that you had a great time with us. We are very proud of our product and services and I hope to see you back with us soon.
Many thanks
Sergio Rodrigues
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weymouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Very good weekend with a Soul/Motown theme. Drinks inclusive package after 6pm. A little bit isolated unless with car to get out and about. Grounds quite nice and plenty to do. Food was good but they have gone part buffet service! A backwards move for us. Entertainment staff excellent and kept everyone involved without being pushy!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking rear gardens probably best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverjackWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SergioRodrigues, Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your recent review, we love feedback. All inclusive holidays always very popular and I glad that you enjoyed what we had to offer.
At Holme Lacy Hotel we have the pleasure of having 3 restaurants providing a variety of food and service. Some guests prefer to the self service within the Bremner Scott Restaurant, othesr prefer their food cooked in front of them like we do the the Courtyard Bistro and we also the Orchard Restaurant for fine dining which perhaps would of catered your needs better.

I hope to see you back with us soon

Sergio Rodrigues
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Clean room with lovely view. Helpful, friendly staff. Excellent food, lots of day time activities and the evening entertainment was extremely good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wrighty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SergioRodrigues, Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you very much for your detailed review. We love feedback as it able us to continue to improve on what we have to offer. I will pass your comments to our teams who always enjoy hearing our guests feedback.
Hope yo see you soon
Sergio Rodrigues
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

My husband and I visited Holme Lacy from the 2nd March to 3rd March as it was our Ruby Anniversary. We were met as we entered the grounds and given guidance. At reception, we were dealt with in a friendly and efficient manner. We had upgraded to a Signature Room and although it had a pleasant view of the gardens and was of a reasonable size, clean with adequate facilities, we thought the cupboards and fittings rather 'cheap' in appearance (to be fair that is only a personal opinion and may not be shared by other guests). The public rooms mostly still retained their original grandeur and were a lovely setting in which to relax. The staff were visible and attentive. The food was good and kept hot and seemed readily available even when busy. We were given a table in the Courtyard Restaurant which, being smaller than the main restaurant could have accounted for this. It was, however, in my opinion the least attractive in appearance. On our first day we chose to eat a late lunch in their 'Bistro', and waited a considerable time to be told our order had been overlooked. However, a very pleasant and efficient waitress replaced the order, and told us we would not be charged, which redeemed the situation. The grounds were well maintained, but being March, lacked colour. There did seem to be a great deal of topiary over flower beds, but I expect, easier to manage. The entertainment of an evening was good.there was a small group of entertainers but they did their very best to make each evening enjoyable. There was a good comedian, and 'Edison Lighthouse'. In the 'late' bar we were entertained by a very good pianist who sang a medley of popular songs. In all, a very good,all round Hotel. Our only quibbles, was that the fluorescent light above our bed flickered annoyingly, and the shower above the bath had to be almost full flow to get hot water which filled the bath at an alarming rate. We decided not to report it immediately in case it causes us disruption, but reported it as we were leaving so it could be fixed for the next guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scondelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SergioRodrigues, Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Thank you for your review on your Ruby Anniversary stay with us. I am glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and experienced what the Holme Lacy Team has to offer. Also we appreciated your constructive comments in regards to grounds, room and service which I will pass on to the relevant teams,

Come back and visit us soon.
Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Cannot praise the Holme Lacy staff enough - our stay was wonderful. The grounds and house are in excellent order - kept to exceptionally high standards. The resident band - Shades gave excellent entertainment each evening.
There is so much to do - activities to suit everyone - most included in the cost of your holiday.
The food was excellent - well presented and always hot.
Our room was clean and large - would have liked a slightly bigger wardrobe but that's a minor point !
Hope to return one day and would definitely reccomment to friends and family.

Room Tip: We we on the first floor and there were no problems whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SergioRodrigues, Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed all the aspects of your holiday at Holme Lacy. It is great to hear from guests who experienced all that Holme Lacy got to offer. We pride ourselves is providing great accommodation, entertainment, food and exceptional service and hope to see you and your friends back with us soon.
Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holme Lacy
3.9 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
5.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
4.2 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#5 of 13 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel

Property: Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Holme Lacy HR2 6LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Holme Lacy
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll be swept off your feet by the 18th century charms of this Grade I Georgian Historic Hotel, with its landscaped gardens, elegant drawing rooms, imposing staircases and fantastic views. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holme Lacy Hereford
Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing