We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Booked in for two nights to celebrate a birthday, all fab so far weather good food great staff really friendly, should have done an extra night. We have done several Warners and they are all different but the quality of hotel always good.

Room Tip: Room 269 nice and quiet at the end of a corridor handy for spa, restaurant etc
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is great to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us at Holme Lacy for your birthday celebrations. Thank you for your kind comments about the food and the staff. We hope to see you again at Holme Lacy in the future!

Kind regards,

Yasmin Priday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,190)
There are newer reviews for Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

789 - 795 of 1,190 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Excellent Easter weekend, room very clean and well laid out. All facilities available. Plenty of entertainment. Just wait until you dine what wonderful food and I do not think their breakfast menu can be beaten. The staff are very friend and helpful the waiting staff are marvelous. On our stay it id appear very much an elderly group presence. Excellent pool and facilities, of all the hotels I have stayed in the food served and the staff are the best I have experienced. Lovely grounds. Very much a Hotel that caters for most taste in respect of entertainment with air rifle shooting, archery and many other interests. Easy to book in and help on offer for cases. All in all the staff and facilities make this a very good experience that I am sure most would love to repeat.

Room Tip: Very helpful staff and ideal hotel for disabled who can move about easily on the ground floor with a...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claybusterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our page and I am glad to read that you had an excellent Easter weekend with us at Holme Lacy! Thank you for your kind comments about the entertainment, food and staff. It’s good to read that you made the most of our facilities that we have to offer during your stay. I am so glad that you had such an enjoyable break with us and we hope to see you again at Holme Lacy in the future!

Kind regards,

Yasmin Priday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Fabulous day out. Living social deal bought for a Mother's Day treat which was then excellent value for money. Very friendly, happy staff with 2 lovely treatments each which were included in the deal, would definitely go back if there was another offer on. Beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review of Holme Lacy House Hotel. It is great to read that you had such an enjoyable spa day with us and thank you for your great comments about the staff and the treatments. Your comments have been passed on to our Leisure and Beauty team. We hope to welcome you back to Holme Lacy again in the future!

Kind regards,

Yasmin Priday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We recently stayed at warners Thoresby Hall with another 3 couples.
The signature rooms were lovely and food was plentiful and all you could want,The plates were red hot though even with napkins to hold them!
We booked for the. Fabulous Irish St Patricks weekend as 3 of us in our group saw it last year and loved it-so we persuaded more friends to book up for it! What star entertainment- everyone was talking about it all weekend! The band (The O Gees)were good and the girl had a great voice if a bit loud on some numbers,but the sheer tour de force which is Christopher O Gee was simply amazing,he was dancing on and off the stage,singing and doing quite simply superb impressions ,my wife had a stitch from laughing! Even the younger people loved it as he. Modern impressions MIchael Macintyre too! Where does he get his energy from?
When we got back home a few more members of our dance club wanted to see him as we were still enthusing about this very funny and not in the least. Smutty man,- so we phoned warners reservations to ask when we could all book up to see. chris perform again,we were very dissapointed to find out that he. Will not be appearing until Christmas Day and it would be the Xmas show at Holme Lacey which thrilled us as its our very Favorite Warners.,so we have all splashed out and ALL of us have booked the Christmas break at Holme Lacy- we can't wait the wife is hoping to get a photo with Chris this time too.
Great entertainment thank you Warners for having such a fun break as most companies assume older people want bingo and tinkly pianos - we range from 48to 73 and we all have a lot of life in us yet!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and thank you for your lovely comments. It is great to read that you had such a great time at Thoresby Hall earlier on this year. I’m pleased that you enjoyed the entertainment and the food. It is fantastic to hear that you are going to be staying with us at Holme Lacy over Christmas – we look forward to welcoming you in December!

Kind regards,

Yasmin Priday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed for three nights from the 28th.to 31st.of March in a signature room ( 332 ).
Improved reception arrangements mean you book in without getting out of your car and there is help with your luggage if you need it from the car park to your room.
The room was bright and clean with the exception of the window frames which were black with mould in the corners ( surely this could be easily cleaned off with a bit of bleach or similar ? ) Hanging and draw space is limited but adequate for a short break. We would not recommend this particular room as it overlooks a coach point and an outside smoking area from the main bar.
The main public rooms are very pleasant and comfortable as is the terrace which overlooks the mini golf and gardens towards the lake. We ate in the dining room just off the drawing rooms and preferred this to the Courtyard dining room which we used on a previous stay.Both dining rooms suffer from too many too small tables and a lack of space due to the number of tables. The room and particularly the ceiling is really very nice just a little overcrowded. Waiter service was very good ( thank you Mathew ) and the food was good with a reasonable choice. We bought our wine for the three nights after tasting at the bar on our early visit to book a table. We had initial booked the 'wine and dine ' but upgraded this and added an extra bottle for each night,one for the meal and one for the show bar later,this achieved a small discount and avoided waiting to be served in the bar. We did not choose the date because of the headline act but because it was our wedding anniversary, nonetheless, we found the band and vocalist okay. We liked the resident pianist and the entertainments manager but were a little surprised to see the same show on the Sunday evening that we had seen two years ago when there was a more talented cast. However no complaints and we were well entertained throughout and enjoyed the mini golf in the day time. Just one really sore point about the show bar and it is the metal framed chairs. Given the age group and the fact that one needs to be comfortable to relax and enjoy the entertainment the chairs are unsuitable for the purpose. Unlike the dining room where the numbers game results in a minor adverse consequence in the show bar the seating is seriously detrimental unless you manage to get one of the bucket type chairs which are very few in number.( just over two weeks ago we were in a similar show bar in The Riu Palace Madeira which has much nicer tables and much better seating.)
We were lucky with the weather and really enjoyed the gardens and grounds,which together with the upmarket public rooms,add something special to the holiday experience. The grounds were in better condition than they were at the same time two years ago, maybe improved care or perhaps better weather in early March to enable the work to be done.
Will we return ? Possibly, because of the convenience of it being a short car journey or maybe to Cricket St Thomas where we have also stayed; but the overall value is not as good as the Riu Palace Madeira if we want to be away for a week or more.

Room Tip: this depends on your mobility, however, we would prefer an upstairs room at the rear overlooking the...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pater41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and thank you for your comments. I’m glad to read that you found our reception arrangements efficient and that you enjoyed your dining experience. I will pass on your kind comments to Mathew. I am sorry to read that your window frames were not clean; this feedback has been passed on to our head Housekeeper as this is not the standard expected. Your comments about the chairs in the Pavilion have also been passed on to our management team to make sure that we are providing the best possible experience for our guests whilst they are watching the evening entertainment. Thank you once again for your comments as by providing us with such feedback it gives us the opportunity to keep improving our services. We hope to welcome you back to Holme Lacy again one day.

Kind regards,

Yasmin Priday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I booked Holme Lacey due to the fact my OH and I needed a break and Matt Ford and his Fat Chops Band were on and they are outstanding! Worried about the age group it attracts, we arrived and were blown away! Signature room with patio was lovely, tastefull and the bed the best ever. Food was great, especially our last night in the Orchard restaurant fine dining, that was exceptionally good. Activites (in with price) all day and evenings in the Pavilion for the entertainment was all good. Swimming pool was brill, especially as not many seemed to use it so it felt like our own. Never danced so much. House, grounds and gardens outstanding, staff and entertainment team were outstanding, nothing too much trouble! Had treatments in spa, first class, we did a trip into Hereford, bus drivers commentary was hilarious should be on Utube. Met some lovely people! Yes some moaners but you get them everywhere, and if they eat, have entertainment at home like we got on this weekend, then they should stay at home! Our first time with Warners, but it will certainly not be our last, it was amzing and exceeded our expectations in all areas! Thanks Warner!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on our page and thank you for your lovely feedback. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the entertainment and also the food! Thank you for your kind comments about all aspects of the hotel and I am glad that your first break with Warner Leisure Hotels was such a great one! We hope to welcome you back to Holme Lacy again in the future.

Kind regards,

Yasmin Priday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed for the weekend in 303 :- It’s a nice well-lit room, on the 2nd floor with a semi-view of the gardens but a direct-view of the bedroom windows in the hotels new-build part. The bed was comfy and there was a nice bathroom with a good shower.

Archery & Rifle shooting activities were OK (= But not as good as those at Thoresby Hall) and the instructors made all guests feel very welcome & relaxed. Superb putting greens and a top-class small golf practice area with multi-level greens & bunkers (so take your clubs....).

Orchard restaurant dining:- High quality food, very good value for money and its staff were very attentive & had great ‘menu’ knowledge.

Courtyard restaurant dining:- Great selection of quality food, table staff were very pleasant & nothing was too much trouble.

The ‘Welcome & Meet’ presentation was very good / informative and the evening entertainments team were excellent. Bar staff were friendly but remained very professional. Front reception staff were initially welcoming but a little stand-offish when asked for some earl grey teabags & milk = it took them 3 attempts to get this 1 request sorted = better recording of guest requests..?

The hotel grounds / gardens are superb and there are lots of paths & small walks.

Our thanks to the Holme Lacy House team,
Andrew & Belita.

Room Tip: Room Tip: 303 = An OK Historic room but not great view. It’s not a long way from reception (= oppos...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumstead1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our page and thank you very much for your lovely comments about the hotel. I am sorry for the problem you had in regards to the earl grey teabags – this should not have been a problem and is not the standard we expect of the team so your feedback has been passed on to the Reception department to make sure guest requests are dealt with better in future. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to Holme Lacy again in the future!

Kind regards,

Yasmin Priday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holme Lacy
3.9 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 12 in Hereford
460 reviews
5.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
211 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#6 of 12 in Hereford
317 reviews
4.2 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#11 of 12 in Hereford
110 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 12 in Hereford
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel

Address: Bridge Road, Holme Lacy HR2 6LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Holme Lacy
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Price Range: £266 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll be swept off your feet by the 18th century charms of this Grade I Georgian Historic Hotel, with its landscaped gardens, elegant drawing rooms, imposing staircases and fantastic views. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holme Lacy Hereford
Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing