We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing weekend”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just returned from a 60s weekend. Compared to the other Warner breaks i have experienced i must say this was by far the best. Food and room excellent however i cannot praise the entertainment manager David James and the entertainment team enough for their fantastic shows, hard work and dedication. Well done all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suelynn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Public Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this great review on our page. It’s great that you enjoyed the food and that you were pleased with your room. I have passed on your lovely comments to David James our entertainment manager to share with his team. The entertainment team do work very hard so thank you for mentioning it! We hope to welcome you back to Holme Lacy again in the future.

Kind regards,

Yasmin Priday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    398
    152
    47
    36
See reviews for
127
686
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Grand House, beautiful grounds, scenic countryside views, good food, clean and comfortable bedroom, super entertainments, excellent staff and management.

Nothing was too much trouble, just ask and it was done!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hi there! Thank you very much for your lovely review of Holme Lacy House Hotel. It’s great to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your break with us. We hope to welcome you back to Holme Lacy again one day in the future!

Kind regards,

Yasmin Priday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We recently stayed at Holme Lacy Hotel for a Motown weekend break. Although we have stayed at other Warner hotels, this was the first time we have stayed at this particular hotel. Check in was great, our room was very clean and comfortable with a huge bathroom. Hotel and grounds were really lovely with a large lake in the grounds (my husband will be taking his fishing rod next time we go!). We dined in the Courtyard restaurant and found our waitress (Beatriz although I've probably spelt that incorrectly) to be very cheerful and helpful. The food was fine, although there was one evening when the food from the carvery was only just warm, however apart from that the rest of the food was good. The entertainment was superb and we were up on the dancefloor each evening of our stay. The comedian (sorry couldn't remember his name) was very funny on the Sunday evening. All in all we had a lovely weekend, thoroughly enjoyed our time at Holme Lacy and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UsTwoCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hello there. Thank you for your great review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your Motown weekend break with us! It’s great that you enjoyed the entertainment so much! Thank you for your kind comments about the check in, your room, the grounds and your service in the restaurant. I will pass on your comments to Beatriz. I am sorry to read that the food from the carvery was only just warm; I have spoken to our executive chef in regards to this to make sure that this is not repeated. We look forward to seeing you again in the future so that your husband can enjoy fishing on our lake!

Kind regards,

Yasmin Priday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Spent an afternoon at this location, using a Virgin Leisure voucher for a cream tea for two. Grounds and location were fantastic and staff seemed helpful.
As for the cream tea, it was alright and that’s about it. It’s a good job I did not pay for this voucher.
Very nicely presented, sandwiches good, plenty for two. The main item on a cream tea is the scones, which should be slightly warm, fresh and served with clotted cream.
These scones were stone cold, and although I believe it was fresh cream it was not clotted. When I queried this with the person who served us I discovered that these scones had been frozen and may not have defrosted enough. All I can tell you is basic scones in supermarkets had more taste than these; they were awful and did not eat them. If I had paid for this I would have asked for a part refund, as other items were fine.
I cannot believe a beautiful place like this is serving this up; come on you can do better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aus4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hello and thank you for your feedback. I am really sorry to read that you were left feeling disappointed after your cream tea experience with us at Holme Lacy House. I have spoken with our bar manager in regards to your comments. I would like to confirm that our scones are not frozen. They are homemade and I would like to apologise that this was communicated incorrectly. Our bar team have made it a priority to improve the cream tea experience that we offer and your comments have been addressed in house by educating all of the team on the service that we need to provide our guests with. I am glad that you found the cream tea nicely presented and the sandwiches good. I really hope that you will visit us at Holme Lacy again one day in the future so that we can provide you with a better experience next time. If you would like to discuss your visit with us further please contact me on 01432 870870.

Kind regards,

Yasmin Priday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Im placing this Review as despite numerous comms, the Warner Group do not feel its important enough to reply to ..My wife and i would not fit into the current client age dynamic, but we are the future customers, so where to begin ....

My wife and i booked to visit ‘Holme Lacy House’ in Hereford, as a party of a group of eight people. Having visited three other locations, we were very excited at this venue in particular, not only because of its appearance BUT on this occasion, due to the weekend being a ‘Frankie Valli’ tribute. We are huge fans of the music and the group, having seen ‘Jersey Boys’ in London and New York.

On driving upto the house, it looked very inviting, despite the rain. We missed the 4.00pm ‘meet and greet’, so parked our car and took our cases to Reception, checking in without a problem. The location of our room was great, 1st floor, near the pavilion, albeit opposite the customer lift, which was regularly in use and noisy as people waited for the lift, chatting.

As a couple in our mid forties, we are still very active, and we make great use of the Warner Leisure facilities. We visited the pool facilities, and were very disappointed at the fact that the pool was tepid to be polite, the bubble pool slightly warmer and the Sauna closed. A sign said that the bubble pool temperature ranged from 27-33 degrees, to control the pool temperature. I can assure you that neither were anywhere near that temperature, a fact communicated to the Leisure reception team by many of the guests throughout our stay, and some others that i read on Tripadviser, some comments going back to November 2013. More disappointing was the fact that none of the staff knew when the Sauna would be fixed, as it had been “out of action for a while”. On returning to the showers, there was also no ‘shower soaps’ as the dispensers were both empty.

On returning to our room, we decided to try and connect to the free and well advertised wi-fi. How frustrating that on attempting to log-in, an error message was received. I went to the reception and was told by a curt member of staff, “'we've pulled the plug out, so we've done what we can”!! A number of customers were also trying to enquire, but seemed to accept that this was ok. Im sorry, but in the 21st century when people need wi-fi for so many reasons, this was not ok. And it was also not ok that it was still not working on the Saturday or Sunday too.

And what is up with trying to get any sort of phone signal within the building. The property is not exactly in the middle of a forest. Guests were forced outside if they needed to make phone calls.

Fast forward to the evening, we all love our food and were looking forward in particular to the carvery. The presentation was good, but can you please explain what instructions your chefs are given in relation to dishing out food. We were all embarrassed by the small portions of meat dispensed on our plate, and wondered whether the hotel were running out of food. I felt sorry for Urszula (who was excellent) our waitress, as she could see how disappointed we were. By the time we had finished our main course, the chefs had cleared away. I’ve never seen such a keenness to pack up.

We went to the ‘Pavillion’, spending more money to watch the Entertainment team sing a few numbers and then watch ‘Bruce Thompson’. Well Done to Bruce, he was very funny and catered for the majority age group in the room.

Onto activities, we had signed up for archery, rifle shooting, curling, table tennis, putting and pool, during our stay. Through no fault of the hotel, the weather meant that putting was unavailable.
Archery – great, under the care of Tom, well instructed and coached. However, one of the bows was worn, affecting the stability of the arrows.
Rifle Shooting – was full up so we didn’t attend, later to find out there was spaces available. The range looked tired and worn.
Curling – under the guidance of Alison (or was it Amanda), was good fun, well done
Table Tennis – looked after by Nick, but held in an upstairs corridor, frequented by many of the other guests, and in fact at one point was a walk-through for the ‘House Tour’.
Pool – i was given a bowls jack, instead of the white snooker ball. I genuinely think this was a mistake, and luckily there was one on the table when i arrived at the snooker room. However, there were pool balls missing, meaning we had to use snooker balls to be able to play.

Whilst, the men were busy with activities, two of our party took the trip into Hereford, which included a tea and scone on their return. I understand that guests were given a ticket which they could redeem in the Pavillion on their return. What instead happened, were staff bringing in a tray of scones, leaving it unmanned, and any guest (including those not on the trip) in the vicinity, helping themselves to the scones. So annoyed were a few guests, that two guests actually had a full scale argument about who was ‘pushing in’ and ‘who had a ticket’ etc

On the next evening, we visited the ‘Pavillion’ for the main act, and as stated earlier, the main reason for our coming to this location, ‘The New Jersey Boys’. Prior to taking our seats, we waited at the bar to be served. Unfortunately ‘Lloydie’ couldn’t quite grasp the concept of serving customers in order of when they arrived at the bar. We got our drinks and moved to some seats.
What happened for the next two hours can only be described as the most cringe worthy, shameful, disrespectful and disappointing ‘tribute act’ we have ever seen. I am embarrassed that a chain of Hotel that prides themselves on these sorts of ‘acts’ would agree to stage such a sham. Not only did the four guys look nothing like the ‘Four Seasons’, but they didn’t sound anything like them either, apart from one of the group (from Iceland) who was superb. The first half of the show before the break, the group covered many of Frankie Valli’s hits, poorly. The melodies were atrocious, the choreography was absolutely laughable, and it would be fair to say that it disrespected the name and memory of the original band. One of the guys, thought he was in some sort of comedy night, attempting to make jokes, sweating like a proverbial and referencing his wifes birthday at least half a dozen times !!

Fast forward to the second half, i couldn’t believe what i was hearing, most of the songs were nothing to do with Franki Valli, and when one of them sang ‘Nessun Dorma’, i had had enough. We had covers of Tom Jones, Neil Diamond, Showaddywaddy, what a rip off and a scam. In any other business, you wouldn’t get away with advertising one thing and delivering another. It was like ordering a steak, and receiving curried chips with a cold pie !!

Warners .... NO THANKS

Room Tip: TIP - do not come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Have just spent a weekend at Holme Lacy with my husband and four friends, and had a really lovely time. The weather was wonderful which always helps, but the beautiful place, the friendly staff and the genuinely relaxed atmosphere made it all very enjoyable. Special thanks to Roberta who looked after us so well in the restaurant. Star attraction in every way was the "Curtain Up" evening entertainment show provided by the in-house team, who all seemed to be of a professional standard. We found our room very comfortable and quiet, and we used our charge card to pay for coffees, drinks etc, thus cutting out the need for change. We are all over 60, and did not think there was much going on for younger groups, which is not made very clear in the brochure. I felt the staff were used to older people and made allowances for them without it seeming to be any trouble. I remember Warners in their former life, and think these new hotels are marvellous. A real treat for people of a certain age!

Room Tip: Some rooms seem a long way from the main house, but clever planning seems to avoid the need to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our Trip Advisor page and thank you very much for your great review! I’m pleased that the weather was kind to you during your stay. Thank you for your special mention to Roberta – I will be sure to pass this on to her. It’s brilliant to read that you enjoyed the entertainment so much during your stay as the entertainment team do work really hard. We hope to welcome you back to Holme Lacy in the future.

Kind regards,

Yasmin Priday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We have just returned from a four day break at Holme Lacy with friends. We had such a great time. Our check in was made quick and easy by a very efficient member of staff , also with complimentary coffee and biscuits on hand. The hotel has improved so much since our last visit in 2009.But the carpets in some areas and bedrooms are still a bit tired looking The evening meals in the dining halls are top class, and such a choice at breakfast and all very hot. Our room was clean and nicely decorated and the bed very comfortable. The house and gardens kept immaculate, such lovely views across the lake made so much better by superb sunny weather We will certainly book to go back again next year. We book 4/5 Warner holidays a year which speaks for itself.

Room Tip: We had room 142.Ground floor. Nice and quiet but close to the pavilion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parsopat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hello. Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our trip advisor page and thank you for your great comments. I am pleased to read that you feel the hotel has improved since your last visit and that you enjoyed your dining experience. Your feedback has been passed on to our maintenance and housekeeping department to see if there any carpets in the hotel that we can look into replacing. We will be replacing the carpet on our main staircase and also the carpet at the foot of it next month. I’m pleased that the sun was shining for your break with us and that you were able to make the most of our lovely gardens! We look forward to welcoming you back again next year!

Kind regards,

Yasmin Priday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holme Lacy
3.9 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 12 in Hereford
450 reviews
5.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
200 reviews
4.2 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#6 of 12 in Hereford
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Hereford
Travelodge Hereford
#8 of 12 in Hereford
246 reviews
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Hereford Grafton
4.2 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 12 in Hereford
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel

Property: Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Holme Lacy HR2 6LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Holme Lacy
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll be swept off your feet by the 18th century charms of this Grade I Georgian Historic Hotel, with its landscaped gardens, elegant drawing rooms, imposing staircases and fantastic views. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holme Lacy Hereford
Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing