We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“return revue” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Certificate of Excellence
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“return revue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just back from a mid week break that was a repeat booking we had made last May. We had a good time (apart from the weather) The food was good and well presented apart from one small gripe the bacon at breakfast it was not presented in slices as such, it was all put into a container which made it difficult to separate the rashers, they seem to stick together.
The staff could not do enough for you. Having a charge card and waiters serving at your table this year made life a lot easier. (not that there was ever a long wait at the bar) From my observation there did not seem to be many drinkers in.
Shades the resident band were their usual self working hard to keep everybody happy.
The pianist did his same act (hooked on classics) he did last year. still enjoyed it. The entertainments team (with some changed faces) really worked their socks off. How they remember all the songs and dance routines amazes me.
Its worth a visit if only to see the entertainments team, they were brilliant.
Our second visit was not a disappointment. Our signature room 116 with a patio was very comfortable and close to amenities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tankdriver07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for writing your review on Trip Advisor.

Your positive comments are really nice to read and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many thanks,

Rachael Fitton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    373
    135
    43
    32
See reviews for
120
633
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was the first time we had ever done anything like this and had gone with friends to enjoy their company. The weather unfortunately was bad, and no one can anything about that.
The hotel is situated in lovely grounds and there seems to be plenty going all through the day, but at this point I must say that we felt under age compared to the rest of the clientele. There is no age limit just adults only.
The food was fine with varied choice, but the waitress was far too keen to clear away plates that were still in use, and was forgetful of what had been ordered and needed frequently reminded.
The main query to the whole holiday is why do they need you to pay for items at inappropriate times! Whilst eating my friend ordered a lemonade, iw absolutley shocked for her to be charged cash whilst eating her food. It came to light that Warners operate a charge card system which no one had told us about. It is not necessary in 21st century to have a system at all. Charge to the room and sign and pay on leaving is adequate every where else, why not at Warner's
The evening entertainment was patchy to say the least, some of it being second rate at best.
We wouldn't go to another Warner's after this experience. Enjoyed our friends company though!

Room Tip: I don't think paying extra gets a better room just bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Woerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had booked this hotel in May 2013 for Bank Holiday week 2014. We had upgraded to a Signature room. Our friends were in the room next door 323. We were allocated room 324 but we rejected this because we wanted a bath. We were then allocated room 351 because "another couple wanted a shower and not a bath". On entering 351 there was no bath either!! We were then asked to accept room 260 which was not a signature room but we were promised a refund of the difference in price - yet to be received. This room was adequate, slightly smaller than a signature room and two bottles of toiletries instead of three. There was no fridge but we requested one and it arrived. So really for another £180 over 4 nights the Signature rooms seem little different. The Hotel is a little jaded. The rifle shooting was ok but only one rifle was working to be shared between 8 people. The equipment for all the sporting activities needs renewal. The food in this Hotel is superb both in presentation and in quality. There were slightly too few staff on duty in the restaurant though.

The entertainment was extremely good. We were not keen on the piano player but that was our taste - our friends enjoyed it.

The Spa was one of the best at the Warner's hotels that we have stayed at. Large swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam and sauna rooms.

The location of the hotel is beautiful with stunning views and a lovely lake in the grounds.

We took a coach trip into Hereford for £7.50 per person to include a cream tea when we arrived back at the hotel.

All in all a lovely break.

Room Tip: Rooms are allocated on arrival. You can upgrade to either a Signature or Royal room. You pay your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor, with regard to your recent short break. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable break at Holme Lacy House.

Your kind comments and praise for our rooms, food, leisure facilities, entertainment and grounds are very much appreciated and those teams will be recognised within our rewards scheme.

I do have concern in regards to the charge for the signature room upgrade and kindly ask if you would contact myself on 01432 870870 to allow me to investigate this further.

Kind regards,

Rachael Fitton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend at Holme lacy Hotel. We have visited several of the Warner Hotels and alway enjoy returning to Holme Lacy. The room was lovely and clean and as always the food is of a good standard. The day time entertainment is good fun and the evening show on Sunday was fantastic. Even getting a standing ovation from the majority of the audience. A big thank you to David James and the entertainment team for making our stay so enjoyable. Already looking to book again.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
I am so pleased to read that you had an enjoyable break at Holme Lacy House Hotel.

All feedback is helpful in helping us get better and make improvements where needed.

I will pass your comments on to Dave and the team.

Thank you for letting us know through Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards,

Rachael Fitton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We went to Holme Lacey House last weekend particularly for the Swing Band entertainment. It was superb. The entertainment team put on a show on the Friday and Sunday evenings they are fabulous, very professional.
Mr Donoval was the duty manager and sorted a minor problem with our room, then was most attentive the whole weekend. It was my birthday and he organised a special treat at dinner on the Sunday evening, I felt very spoilt, thank you "Spinney". All the staff were great, the gardeners always ready for a chat, the gardens were lovely. Well done everyone at Warner's.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the historic rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

It’s great to read that “Spinney” looked after you very well.

I will pass on your comments to the team, including our grounds team who work exceptionally hard.

Kind regards,

Rachael Fitton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful very plush hotel,beautiful countryside,and super food.i went with my Mother for a few days away and we had a lovely time.i can highly recommend it,you will not be disappointed! They also do themed holidays.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Denartes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hello,

It’s lovely to learn that you and your mother had a good time with us here at Holme Lacy House Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you both back in the future.

Regards,

Rachael Fitton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just returned from a 60s weekend. Compared to the other Warner breaks i have experienced i must say this was by far the best. Food and room excellent however i cannot praise the entertainment manager David James and the entertainment team enough for their fantastic shows, hard work and dedication. Well done all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suelynn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Public Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this great review on our page. It’s great that you enjoyed the food and that you were pleased with your room. I have passed on your lovely comments to David James our entertainment manager to share with his team. The entertainment team do work very hard so thank you for mentioning it! We hope to welcome you back to Holme Lacy again in the future.

Kind regards,

Yasmin Priday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holme Lacy
3.6 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
6.2 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
4.0 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#5 of 13 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
7.4 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel

Property: Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Holme Lacy HR2 6LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Holme Lacy
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll be swept off your feet by the 18th century charms of this Grade I Georgian Historic Hotel, with its landscaped gardens, elegant drawing rooms, imposing staircases and fantastic views. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holme Lacy Hereford
Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing