We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what it says on the tin but make sure u r over 60!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“what it says on the tin but make sure u r over 60!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We went for a 2 night dinner b & b break. Did not know before we went it was a 60 plus age group. No matter we enjoyed the hotel (me 43 hubby 51). We had an amazing room high ceilings huge space really comfy bed and sofa. However disappointed with bathroom facilities. Obviously used to be wardrobes. Walk in shower very old with plastic crappy shower curtain impossible to keep at dry designed clearly for older people. Toilet on the other side bit cheap and plastic. Little storage could have done with some shelving. Loved the hotel plenty of places to go and sit but WiFi rubbish. We had lunch there on our first day as local pubs were non existent bit disappointed with cheap ham sandwich plain cheap bread and rolled ham tiny bit of salad on the side. Nice to choose ur wine and get 10% discount. We took our own and then refilled the hotels bottles! Water very expensive bottled so take your own. We had booked the orchard restaurant but when we got there it was closed on the nights we were there! As we were in a historical room we sat in a private dining room with waiter service which was a nice touch. We had buffet both notes very good food no queues plenty of it. My one real gripe last sitting for dinner was 7.30 pmbit early for us but reflects the age group of customers. Excellent deserts and really excellent breakfast but shame no proper fruit juices. Evening entertainment not for us we were 2 young but others enjoyed it and it was nice to watch. Staff all very good particularly Jazz in the spa lovely treatments. You could see the effort the entertainment staff put in. Enjoyed our stay would we go back? Don't know lots of oldies and scooters etc... But it is what it is. Maybe when we're a bit older. As long as you know this you will have a nice stay!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a historical room its like a suite great size quite luxurious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catspelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    375
    139
    45
    32
See reviews for
122
641
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Went to Warners Holme Lacy hotel recently, which was advertised as Abba Tribute weekend, which is not something I enjoy as a rule but we were accompanied by my son in law and daughter and this was the only time they could fit the break in. Their ages are late 30s and early 40s, so was a bit worried about how they would feel with an older age group which tends to be Warners target audience. Check in was very efficient and historic rooms we were directed to were very pleasant and clean. Public areas were lovely, plenty of places to relax in, and efficient service at reasonable prices for any drinks etc. in fact whole set up very good. Staff made a point of talking to us, checking everything ok etc which was a good touch. All staff were pleasant, friendly and approachable. Food was better than a lot of other Warner hotels we have stayed at, with a great selection to choose from, and service good. Only downside was that salad bar and carvery area were very close together and the flow of people hadn't been thought out as well as it could. But that was a minor nuisance. Massages worth having. But the icing on the cake was the entertainment team, entertainment manager was best ever experienced at Warners and his team of singers and dancers as good as any on large cruise lines. In fact their show on last night could have been from the West End, it was sooo good. As for daughter and son in law, they said it was really good weekend, very relaxing etc and hope to persuade some acquaintances to return with them. All in all, great time, and this was due to staff there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hello and thank you very much for your great review! I’m glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found the team pleasant and friendly. We have a great team at Holme Lacy. I will pass on your lovely comments to our entertainments manager David James for him to share with the rest of his team. I’m really pleased that your daughter and son in law also had an enjoyable break and I hope we welcome you all back to Holme Lacy again in the future.

Kind regards,

Yasmin Priday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a sixties weekend with The Swinging Blue Jeans. The hotel is lovely with many old features. The food is excellent. The grounds were spacious if only it hadn't rained. There were many games to be played and walks you could do if the weather had been dry. We used the swimming pool every day. Most of the time we had it to ourselves. The entertainment was great. The staff were very helpfull. We had a lovely weekend and would go there again.

Room Tip: We had to walk a fair distance to the bars, which was ok for us but less mobile people would need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roosterwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for posting your review on our Sixties Weekend break and for the kind comments you make regarding the food, grounds and entertainment. It’s lovely to read that you found the team to be helpful; we do have a great team here at Holme Lacy House.

We hope to see you again for our next sixties break.

Best regards,

Rachael Fitton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just back from a mid week break that was a repeat booking we had made last May. We had a good time (apart from the weather) The food was good and well presented apart from one small gripe the bacon at breakfast it was not presented in slices as such, it was all put into a container which made it difficult to separate the rashers, they seem to stick together.
The staff could not do enough for you. Having a charge card and waiters serving at your table this year made life a lot easier. (not that there was ever a long wait at the bar) From my observation there did not seem to be many drinkers in.
Shades the resident band were their usual self working hard to keep everybody happy.
The pianist did his same act (hooked on classics) he did last year. still enjoyed it. The entertainments team (with some changed faces) really worked their socks off. How they remember all the songs and dance routines amazes me.
Its worth a visit if only to see the entertainments team, they were brilliant.
Our second visit was not a disappointment. Our signature room 116 with a patio was very comfortable and close to amenities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tankdriver07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for writing your review on Trip Advisor.

Your positive comments are really nice to read and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many thanks,

Rachael Fitton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was the first time we had ever done anything like this and had gone with friends to enjoy their company. The weather unfortunately was bad, and no one can anything about that.
The hotel is situated in lovely grounds and there seems to be plenty going all through the day, but at this point I must say that we felt under age compared to the rest of the clientele. There is no age limit just adults only.
The food was fine with varied choice, but the waitress was far too keen to clear away plates that were still in use, and was forgetful of what had been ordered and needed frequently reminded.
The main query to the whole holiday is why do they need you to pay for items at inappropriate times! Whilst eating my friend ordered a lemonade, iw absolutley shocked for her to be charged cash whilst eating her food. It came to light that Warners operate a charge card system which no one had told us about. It is not necessary in 21st century to have a system at all. Charge to the room and sign and pay on leaving is adequate every where else, why not at Warner's
The evening entertainment was patchy to say the least, some of it being second rate at best.
We wouldn't go to another Warner's after this experience. Enjoyed our friends company though!

Room Tip: I don't think paying extra gets a better room just bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Woerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had booked this hotel in May 2013 for Bank Holiday week 2014. We had upgraded to a Signature room. Our friends were in the room next door 323. We were allocated room 324 but we rejected this because we wanted a bath. We were then allocated room 351 because "another couple wanted a shower and not a bath". On entering 351 there was no bath either!! We were then asked to accept room 260 which was not a signature room but we were promised a refund of the difference in price - yet to be received. This room was adequate, slightly smaller than a signature room and two bottles of toiletries instead of three. There was no fridge but we requested one and it arrived. So really for another £180 over 4 nights the Signature rooms seem little different. The Hotel is a little jaded. The rifle shooting was ok but only one rifle was working to be shared between 8 people. The equipment for all the sporting activities needs renewal. The food in this Hotel is superb both in presentation and in quality. There were slightly too few staff on duty in the restaurant though.

The entertainment was extremely good. We were not keen on the piano player but that was our taste - our friends enjoyed it.

The Spa was one of the best at the Warner's hotels that we have stayed at. Large swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam and sauna rooms.

The location of the hotel is beautiful with stunning views and a lovely lake in the grounds.

We took a coach trip into Hereford for £7.50 per person to include a cream tea when we arrived back at the hotel.

All in all a lovely break.

Room Tip: Rooms are allocated on arrival. You can upgrade to either a Signature or Royal room. You pay your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor, with regard to your recent short break. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable break at Holme Lacy House.

Your kind comments and praise for our rooms, food, leisure facilities, entertainment and grounds are very much appreciated and those teams will be recognised within our rewards scheme.

I do have concern in regards to the charge for the signature room upgrade and kindly ask if you would contact myself on 01432 870870 to allow me to investigate this further.

Kind regards,

Rachael Fitton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend at Holme lacy Hotel. We have visited several of the Warner Hotels and alway enjoy returning to Holme Lacy. The room was lovely and clean and as always the food is of a good standard. The day time entertainment is good fun and the evening show on Sunday was fantastic. Even getting a standing ovation from the majority of the audience. A big thank you to David James and the entertainment team for making our stay so enjoyable. Already looking to book again.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
I am so pleased to read that you had an enjoyable break at Holme Lacy House Hotel.

All feedback is helpful in helping us get better and make improvements where needed.

I will pass your comments on to Dave and the team.

Thank you for letting us know through Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards,

Rachael Fitton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holme Lacy
3.9 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
409 reviews
5.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
147 reviews
4.2 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#5 of 13 in Hereford
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
545 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
783 reviews
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel

Property: Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Holme Lacy HR2 6LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Holme Lacy
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll be swept off your feet by the 18th century charms of this Grade I Georgian Historic Hotel, with its landscaped gardens, elegant drawing rooms, imposing staircases and fantastic views. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holme Lacy Hereford
Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing