We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1,359)
Filter reviews
1,359 results
Traveller rating
615
455
180
64
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
615
455
180
64
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening entertainmentage groupfine diningthe blue roomwarners breakterrace barsalad barstandard roomaverage agebistro restaurantballroom dancingdance floordining roomsgreat weekendmid week breakcoach triplovely grounds
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 1,359 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

I dropped my parents off here yesterday, they will be staying a week in a signature room. Just a few observations. All good to start with, someone to meet our car and hand us information for the week. Easy parking, no need to walk far, a very pleasant member of staff helped us with bags to the room. We then booked a table which you are seated at for the rest of the week, not a very friendly girl here. The tables were very close together a bit cafeteria style I thought. We found a bar serving coffee/ sandwiches etc and waited in a queue to order, service seemed a bit disorganised and whilst I waited I noted that the guy serving looked scruffy, shirt hanging out, the bar area and coffee machine really needed a clean. We placed our order and waited for the coffee, I tried to pay but apparently we should have organised a charge card. The coffee was Luke warm and not real milk but some sort of creamer I think, that tasted awful, all three of us were not impressed. The sandwiches took ages to arrive, I could not eat the egg mayo sandwiches I ordered as they were bland and tasteless.i just hope that the evening meal was better for them!
The room was good, the bathroom ok. I think the info on what's on for the week needs to be emailed the week before, as should instructions on what to do on arrival, ie sort your table and charge card. I did call ahead and asked for this to be emailed but it wasn't. Hello manager, you need to be walking around on arrival day to make sure things are running smoothly, first impressions etc!! Oh and while your at it please try ordering a coffee and sandwich and taste what your serving up to your customers. On my return we will definitely not be eating here. Sorry but just initial feedback.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank DebA50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback
The signature rooms are lovely with many extras in the room such as fluffy white robes, fresh milk for your tea tray, home made cookies and a bottle of wine to name but a few
Guests check in from their car on arrival and given their welcome pack, one of our team members explains to all guests what they have to do and where to go before they even leave their car making the check in process very easy for our guests
Guests do not have to set up a charge card for their stay but many find it a lot easier to do so rather than paying cash or making a card payment for each purchase
I am sorry that you were not happy with the drinks you had , if you had raised your concerns with a team member at the time this could have been rectified for you also seasoning ( salt and pepper) is available on all tables in the terrace bar so that guests can adjust food to their liking
I trust that your parents had an enjoyable week with us here at Holme Lacy House Hotel with our award winning gardens in the beautiful Wye Valley and we look forward to welcoming them back again for another break with us
Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

My 1st Warner's holiday, and I enjoyed every moment of my stay at Holme Lacy the grounds are beautiful and there is lots of things to do. My bedroom was basic but clean plenty of food to choose from in the dining room.The staff were all very helpful and friendly

Room Tip: Second floor is ideal for views and quite
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shorthaul2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback
I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us here at Holme Lacy House Hotel.
It is always our intention to provide all of our guests with a first rate level of service in all areas of the hotel so I am pleased that we achieved that for you
I very much hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon
Regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

My husband and i have been here more than once and enjoyed every time. We are an older couple and enjoy the beautiful grounds and the relaxation of the venue.As a Coeliac and Diabetic they are very clued up and i have been told coeliac uk work with them.There are lots of activities if you want but nobody will hassle you and of course no children even though they are lovely

Room Tip: If you want a view of the grounds you will pay more but is usually worth it. So this will make it more luxury .
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jacymorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback
I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at Holme Lacy House Hotel. The grounds are indeed beautiful and the venue is as you say very relaxing
I was very pleased to read that we were able to help you with your dietary requirements
I very much hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon
Regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We have just returned from a three night break at Warners Holme Lacy House Hotel. The hotel is based in a Grade 1 listed Georgian Manor which dates back to 1674, including some of the beautiful plaster ceilings and the red coloured stone that clads the building.
We had a Signature room which had been recently refurbished with immaculate décor and furnishings. Tea and coffee facilities, a mini fridge with water and fresh milk are included. Bath robes, and a complimentary bottle of wine with cakes and biscuits are also included.
There are two restaurants available both with waiter service or a carvery. A large selection of daytime activities are available, including a swimming pool, a spa, rifle shooting, archery to name a few. Lounges are available for a quiet relaxation, including one called the Blue Room where quizzes and musical entertainment is available daily,
Outside, beautiful well manicured gardens are not to be missed, and bowls and putting is available. Entertainment is available every evening, including Tribute groups and singers.
The only downside to the hotel is the Terrace Lounge which is the only outlet that serves drinks and snacks during the day, and at lunchtimes takes 20-30 minutes to get served, due to lack of sufficient staff. This need addressing as we all know it takes a lot of effort to build up a good reputation, which can disappear overnight.
That aside, we would go again.

Room Tip: Book a Signature room, worth the extra cost
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback
I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable short break with us here at Holme Lacy House Hotel
The signature rooms are lovely and offer our guests just that little bit more to help make their stay more comfortable and enjoyable
The entertainment programme that we offer our guests runs from early in the morning to late into the evening with activities to suit all tastes
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon
Regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Just got home had a fab week hubby did bit of fishing meet some lovley people i tried the nordic walking which was ok aqua fun with lauren was fun tai chi and yoga with Rai lovley lady we both did crazy curling and skittles with james ws ellie and beth did a lot of laughing fab time with them dave as all ways fab singer and lovley guy the entertainment team work hard and there shows are fab dinning not at its best usually fab with my husbands lactose intolerants but not this time but keri kate and paul made up for it really helpful James Birmingham was great Imagine the Beatles were fab Raw Material are fab in the blue room Kris Radar was lovely to listen to i had Hopi ear candling with Chloe she was lovely and did an amazing job also had an amazing Swedish back massage with Letty only a couple of things that could have made it perfect was if the pool and bubble pool were a little warmer little bit cold this time and as i said earlier about the dinning

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jan Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback
I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable and very active stay with us here at Holme Lacy House Hotel. It sounds like you kept yourselves very busy and took full advantage of the entertainment programme on offer to our guests
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future
Regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews