We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Break”
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stretton Sugwas
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Little Break”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My girlfriend and I decided to book a few nights at The Priory to get away for a break during the summer holidays (We're both teachers) and we weren't disappointed. When we arrived at the hotel there was lots of room for parking and we got a good spot not far from the front door. We were checked in by a polite and friendly member of staff and shown to our rooms. What rooms! We were shown to Room 5 which was massive with a very comfortable bed and flat screen tv, the bathroom was very well finished and spotlessly clean too. The overall stay was fantastic with great food in the restaurant made with locally sourced ingredients where possible.

Pros:
- Very well finished rooms.
- Very quiet at night time (It's about a 15min drive from the city).
- A fantastic cooked breakfast which must be one of the best around.

Cons:
- Not great wifi. Pretty slow.
- Nothing within walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 5, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liver_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    13
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
23
28
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
herefordshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We held our wedding at the priory stretton sugwas on 03/03/2012, from the moment i meet Chris i knew we were in safe hands she helps the day flow from start to finish without being pushy or stressed.
The food was lovely and all our guests commented on how nice the meal was and the evening food was great. We hired the whole hotel so that family could stay overnight. All the rooms were very clean and each one different. The Priory is a beautiful period building with lovely wooden floors, lovely chandiliers , and big wide doors. there are lovely gardens for photos.
We will be returning for sunday lunches as we live only 3 miles away; they also have high teas with bone china and pretty cake stands so maybe i will drop a hint for mothers day!
Could not fault our day, highly recommended.

Room Tip: treat yourself to one of the bigger rooms all slightly different with original features
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ylaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My daughter was married at the Priory on Saturday and everything about the day, from breakfast with the bridesmaids through to the last dance went like clock work!
The rooms were set up as requested, the flowers set in place, candles and a log fire lit. The rooms are tasteful and classic, the staff efficient and friendly and the food was pretty good for a large service.
From marriage ceremony to the Wedding Breakfast all went seamlessly with photos on the patio (even the weather had been specially chosen to be a clear, crisp winter's day!)
The cake was set in a recess by a large window which lent itself wonderfully for photos and the time between food and the evening party flew by. The separate sitting room up one short flight of stairs is brilliant for those wanting to have a breather and well furnished with comfy chairs and sofas.
Chris and Chris the owners are well versed in weddings and this experience shines through. Finally, the setting itself is magnificent and the bedrooms luxurious, so even if a wedding is not on the menu - the hotel is well worth a couple of nights!

Room Tip: Choose the four poster bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelagh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My husband & I choose this hotel for our wedding on sept 3rd 2011. From our initial viewing ov the venue up to the Sunday aftr the wedding Chris was truly amazing, makin evrythin special for us. As a young couple with really little confidence ov wt to do our minds were totally at ease. I really can't find anything negative to say, it was so perfect the food was exquisite, the breakfast was enjoyed by all ov our overnight guests & the rooms were immaculately presented. If ur lucky enough to come across the priory in Hereford for ur wedding venue book it, the staff can't do enough for u and Chris will make ur fairytale wedding come true. Thanku to all at the priory for a amazing day. X

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Evansfamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

We enjoyed an excellent stay at this hotel.

The staff were friendly, the room was comfortable and clean, and the food was delicious - both at dinner and breakfast.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuggleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

The hotel has come on leaps and bounds since last owner. Good quality food, very clean room (on two recent seperate visit's) and lovley personal service.. Can now recommend confidently, a very pleasant stay.Thank You Chris & Chris

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobFrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lossiemouth
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2009

What an absolute gem of a place, the food is mouthwatering, the staff are so helpfull and freindly. The rooms are cosey and comfortable, I stayed in one of the "Small neat and tidy doubles" and I would highly recommended them to anyone. If you are in or near Hereford looking for a room then look no further thean here, you will not be dissappointed.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheQAman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stretton Sugwas
3.5 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
431 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
800 reviews
3.3 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#7 of 12 in Hereford
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 12 in Hereford
767 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 12 in Hereford
280 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Hereford
Travelodge Hereford
#8 of 12 in Hereford
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Property: The Priory Hotel
Address: Priory Lane | Stretton Sugwas, Stretton Sugwas, Hereford HR4 7AR, England (Formerly New Priory Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford > Stretton Sugwas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stretton Sugwas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Priory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem in rural Herefordshire, but just 3 miles from the Cathedral city of Hereford.Chris & Chris Rowbotham operate the family run country house hotel as a home from home. There are 8 en-suite bedrooms, ranging in size and bathroom options, offering every comfort. At the heart of the hotel is our Hathway Restaurant priding itself on using the finest local ingredients cooked fresh to order. Enjoy a glass of wine or local beer in the cosy lounge bar with an open fire for the winter or on the sun terrace if lucky with the weather. We also are a popular wedding venue in the area, licensed for civil marriage ceremonies and able to cater for up to 80 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Priory
The Priory Hotel Stretton Sugwas, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing