We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality, friendly, comfortable Country hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stretton Sugwas
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quality, friendly, comfortable Country hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have stayed in a large number of hotels throughout the year, I found The Priory Hotel to rate above the rest. It is a charming hotel, in lovely grounds. Ran by a lovely friendly family, who were approachable, flexible and friendly throughout. I worked a varied shift pattern and my needs and requirements were accommodated and without issue. I only had a couple of opportunities to sample the food at the hotel, given my work pattern, but wow.... the meals I ate were 5* all the way! Great delivery, presentation and produce! I stayed once in September 2013, once in October and again November 2013. I will have no hesitation to book and stay again given the opportunity! The hotel is suitable for families, couples and Business. It is located very close to Credenhill and only 10 minute drive from Hereford town centre. Excellent, keep up the great work!

Room Tip: Room 8, four poster bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerefordshireOwner, Manager at The Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Alan, thank you so much for your lovely review.
We really enjoyed having you stay with us and we're glad that you were pleased with the service you received. We aim to be both friendly and accommodating and its nice to have guests who really appreciate what we strive to offer to each and every person who stays at the hotel.
Hope to see you again soon (but maybe not too soon :))
Chris & Chris
P.S. Thank you for the choccies, we enjoyed them on Sunday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    13
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
25
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We chose to stay at The Priory Hotel after looking at the highest rated hotels in Hereford... this place won our booking because the photo of the lovely big lawn. We wanted somewhere for our energetic 18-month-old son to run about. It turned out to be a real gem.
We stayed in a lovely big spacious room with a four-poster bed and plenty of room for the travel cot. When you travel with a toddler the small things make all the difference - there was a small fridge on the landing (just outside our room) that kept fresh milk for guests, which we were able to use to keep our son's milk and food in, bottles were taken and washed for us, food was heated up etc. Nothing was too much trouble it seemed... they even set a dinner table up especially for us in a lounge just by our room on our first night so we could eat together without disturbing our son.
Fantastic food, friendly and thoughtful service in a charming and beautifully decorated house. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 5 had a lovely view of the lawn and was a big spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HermioneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerefordshireOwner, Manager at The Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review for our hotel.
We aim to accommodate all guests needs where possible and customer care really is our top priority! We're glad that on the most part the reviews reflect what you find here and hope you will come and stay with us again.
Many thanks,
Chris & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

I haven't visited this hotel but booked over a month in advance for a November 2013 long weekend there.

Despite special instructions with booking with details of a 4 year old well behaved small terrier, they have just refused to refund a (booking.com) cancellation fee when I phoned them to confirm the booking 3 days after making it a month in advance.

Seems like an unreasonable & inflexible approach to customer service to me.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank toffee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerefordshireOwner, Manager at The Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
I am so sorry you feel this way but we are not advertised on here, our website or bookings.com as pet frienldy, as we are unable to accommodate pets effectively. You chose to proceeded and make a booking through a third party agent, rather than directly contacting ourselves, and it clearly states the non-refundable £25.00 booking deposit taken at time of booking.
We actually offered to make arrangements for you to be able to bring your dog, however, you declinded our offer - this being considered, we went above and beyond to try and accommodate yourselves therefore offering the best customer service we could without jepordising our hotel and future guests by accepting a pet.
Chris & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frimley Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I have now stayed at this hotel on two occasions and both times have had a good stay. The hotel is located aprox 3 miles from Hereford. You are guaranteed a warm welcome the food is excellent the only word of caution is that they only have 12 rooms and book up very quickly. They are also registered for weddings. You are guaranteed peace and quiet as it is well off the main road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerefordshireOwner, Manager at The Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Our location is just down a quiet leafy lane ensuring your of the peace and quiet enjoyed by yourself, but easy access to all main roads.
We are a family run hotel and always offer a warm welcome with customers on first name terms and many guests returning time and again.
We look forward to your booking when next in the area, but book early to avoid dissapointment.
Thank you for your kind words Chris, Chris & Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay at this lovely hotel, but we were made to feel welcome as soon as we stepped through the door. Nothing was too much trouble, so many times we have been refused lunch due to being too late/early, so it was a refreshing change that we were willingly accommodated. The same welcome was also extended to our family on their arrival.
The rooms are pleasant with everything you need, and the beds are very comfortable. I had spent time trying to find somewhere quiet away from the centre of Hereford to be able to relax, chat and enjoy great food, all of this was achieved at The Priory, the evening was very enjoyable. If I lived locally I would undoubtedly be visiting this hotel on a regular basis.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dollywales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerefordshireOwner, Manager at The Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
It was lovely to have you stay with us! So pleased you really enjoyed your weekend. We always strive for a friendly, relaxed atmosphere and glad that you felt that we achieved this.
All the best,
Chris & Chris (or Liz)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

My husband and I got married at The Priory Hotel earlier this year and what a fabulous day us and our guests had. Chris was wonderful to work this and helped us plan from beginning to end, with every detail considered and looked after. On the day the service was seamless and you hardly noticed all the back ground action going on to get everything ready. The staff were friendly and helpful but discrete and professional.
The venue is beautiful and our guestes commented how intimate it felt and what a beautiful and relaxed environment to celebrate our special day.
The accommodation is lovely and the beds are so luxurious and comfortable, I could have stayed forever!
Since the wedding, my family has used the Priory for several other occasions including a vintage afternoon tea and a Sunday lunch and I know they offer much more besides. They do what they do really well and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to anyone.

Room Tip: I would happily stay in any of the rooms but my favourites were 5 and 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nflocke12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerefordshireOwner, Manager at The Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a kind review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your special day with us and that you chose to use the hotel for numerous other occasions as a result of your confidence in us.
We pride ourselves on our wedding expertise and proffessional service and we have many reviews to show this!
We wish you both love and happiness for the future!
Chris & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Messingham
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had two nights (Thursday & Friday) whilst attending a wedding as guests here. We cannot praise the hotel enough. The staff & the owners Chris & Chris, are so friendly & attentive, they can not do enough for you. We had a toilet seat & flush problem in our en suite and within an hour of telling Chris it was repaired, some plumber he has got there! The setting of the hotel is perfect within lovely grounds & such a rural location, you will definitely get a good nights sleep because it is so quiet.
The wedding went off so smoothly and professionaly with all the staff doing a splendid job of decorating the rooms then turning them round to a dining room with just as beautiful decorations. The food definitely first class with the use of locally sourced ingredients was delicious & plentiful.
If you are planning a stay at this hotel you will not be disappointed with anything from the room, the public rooms, the gardens and the food.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerefordshireOwner, Manager at The Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review and the lovely photos you uploaded.
We are so glad you found your stay with us pleasing and that you felt the wedding day went so smoothly. What a lovely celebration, we enjoyed looking after you and your family.

We aim to deal with any issues as soon as they arise, as long as we are made aware of them, so we would like to thank you for bringing the bathroom issue to our attention.
Regards,
Chris & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stretton Sugwas
3.5 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 13 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#5 of 13 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#10 of 13 in Hereford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Property: The Priory Hotel
Address: Priory Lane | Stretton Sugwas, Stretton Sugwas, Hereford HR4 7AR, England (Formerly New Priory Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford > Stretton Sugwas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stretton Sugwas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Priory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem in rural Herefordshire, but just 3 miles from the Cathedral city of Hereford.Chris & Chris Rowbotham operate the family run country house hotel as a home from home. There are 8 en-suite bedrooms, ranging in size and bathroom options, offering every comfort. At the heart of the hotel is our Hathway Restaurant priding itself on using the finest local ingredients cooked fresh to order. Enjoy a glass of wine or local beer in the cosy lounge bar with an open fire for the winter or on the sun terrace if lucky with the weather. We also are a popular wedding venue in the area, licensed for civil marriage ceremonies and able to cater for up to 80 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Priory
The Priory Hotel Stretton Sugwas, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing