We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice surprise !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coach House at the England's Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Bodenham B&B and Inns
pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very nice surprise !!”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here for one night on 12 November with husband, son and in-laws. Booked last minute so didn't really know what to expect, we had a lovely room on 2 levels which allowed a bit of privacy very spacious, spotlessly clean and all facilities you could ask for, very comfy nights sleep only one grumble seemed to run out of hot water in morning although my shower was lovely the boys did say their shower was cold.
We had a lovely meal at the next door restaurant which was quite busy but food was exceptional - only wish I could have managed a desert because they looked fab.
Breakfast served in adjoining breakfast room which was continental although we were told that a cooked breakfast could be ordered - perhaps a couple of hot breakfast items would be a welcome addition.
Overall a very enjoyable stay and we will definitely try to stay here next year when we attend remembrance sunday service in Hereford.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jebeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    17
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
20
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We only stayed one night, but for family accommodation this really is very good value and excellently equipped. A very competently converted barn, all the rooms looked like they were completed to a very good standard. The room we stayed in was easily large enough for the extra large double bed and Z-bed for a child. The fittings and fixtures were of a good quality and there was also a good sized TV. The only slight niggle was the shower, which lacked a little oomph, it was adequate rather than luxurious. The staff we met were very friendly and helpful. Certainly happy to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snapperfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The England's Gate is an old pub situated between Hereford and Leominster, a fews mile off the main A49. Adjancent is the recently renovated Coach House with approximately 7 rooms of varying size. I occupied the small but comfortable double 'Blake' room which, at the time of writing was simply but smartly decorated and in very good order; clean, fresh and unmarked and with an immaculate en-suite shower room. The pub is a pleasant mixture of local boozer and quiet restaurant, a balance not always easy to pull off, in my experience. My food was notable for both its quality and quantity (possibly a little too generous, but better that than sparse) and the range of local ales were nicely kept. If I had a critisism of my dinner, it would be that the fishcakes were too large; smaller, but with more fish and less padding would have been even better. The restaurant was reasonably busy on a Monday night in September, which speaks volumes in these difficult times and I gathered that a number of dinners were repeat visitors. Definately worth a visit. I shall be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Staff at Leominster Tourist Information directed us to this recently completed B and B - and we are so pleased they did! The new owners have converted the coachhouse into a B and B experience of the highest standard. Our room (No1 - McNeil) was described accurately as an Executive suite. A huge, comfortable bed on a mezzanine floor and living space below - Plasma TV, DAB radio and free WiFi provided. Furniture and fittings were elegant and the comfortable sofa bed gave the room family appeal by providing sleeping space for 2 children. The bathroom was modern and spotlessly clean (as was the whole suite) - the shower had three power settings. Toiletries were provided. The pub has a restaurant offering fine dining - a visit is a not-to-be-missed part of the stay - however, the locals already know how good the food is and so booking is advisable. For real ale lovers, the cask ales (especially Butty Bach from Wye Valley Brewery) are enough of a reason to stay at this superior hostelry. Continental breakfast is provided on week days in the purpose built breakfast room though cooked breakfasts at a small extra charge is available at weekends. Several attractions - National Trust properties, Hampton Court, Leominster and Ludlow - are all within a 20 minute drive.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David_Coleman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodenham
5.6 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leominster
304 reviews
7.3 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
431 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stretton Sugwas
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holly House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House at the England's Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House at the England's Gate Inn

Property: The Coach House at the England's Gate Inn
Address: Millcroft Road, Bodenham HR1 3HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Bodenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bodenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House at the England's Gate Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House is a building adjacent to our popular 16th-century food and drink pub, The England's Gate Inn. All seven of the rooms and en-suite bathrooms within the coach house have been renovated and finished to a luxury standard and are full of character. Due to the sizes of the rooms varying considerably they are all priced at different rates. Breakfast is served in the breakfast room in the Coach House and is included in the room rate. The pub and Coach House have just been awarded a four star rating from the AA. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Coach House At The England's Gate Inn Bodenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing