We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Old Herefordshire Pub.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coach House at the England's Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Bodenham B&B and Inns
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
526 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Lovely Old Herefordshire Pub.”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We visited this lovely old pub on Bank Holiday Monday. Although there were lots of people, the service was good. The price per bottle of wine was very reasonable.
The food was cooked to order and was hot. There were loads of chips with the gammon steaks and fish! Too many really, but we ate them all because they were so crispy and delicious.
We spotted the accommodation in a separate barn on our way out, which looked very inviting.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TravelBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    17
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
20
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

This is a small bed & breakfast in an excellent location close to Leomister, but close to a busy road. Overall the room was good, very high quality fixtures and fittings, but a real lack of attention to detail, we stayed in room 1, the McNeil, the mezzanine is snug, the furniture is high quality but the plastic wrapper had been left on the dressing table stool (strange was this incase we wanted to sit on it?) there was also a hairdryer downstairs, but no plug at the dressing table, again strange. When I finally decided to use it downstairs the cable didn't stretch to the mirror, really small point but irritating none the less. More irritating than that, 1/4 of a roll of loo paper for two people is inadequate, not easy to go to the bar of busy pub/restauranr and ask for loo roll late at night. You thought that would be it, but no shampo or conditioner in the stainless steel wall fitted dispensers, better not to have them empty. Breakfast is very limited during the week (including bank holidays) this isn't served in the pub as you would expect, but in a kitchen, around a farmhouse table, this was a very dull breakfast, which frankly was strange. The housekeeper Emma was helpful and pleasant, vs. the owners wife who didn't speak, but sat at the end of the table coughing all over the table...complaining about previous guests to her daughter who was evidently trying to balance the books...all together a strange experience and not the general hospitality you would expect at a bnb. It was value for money but without a friendly cooked breakfast it was dull!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosebud1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Family Sunday lunch in this beautiful old pub with a nice atmosphere, good service and pleasant staff.2 courses £14.40 . Good food and portions and good company makes for a happy afternoon! Would eat here again definitely or stay when in the area as the accommodation looks very nice too!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hezziehoohahum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2012

These guys obviously put their heart and soul into the Coach House and adjacent pub. The room was small but had all I needed and the bathroom and shower was well equipped with lovely thick towels. Everything appeared new and well kept. I did have a problem finding the breakfast room as no-one had explained where to go but got there in the end and the Continental brekfast was excellent. It was a bit awkward/noisy having the waitress clearing around me while I was eating which would be my only gripe.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlRoyale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Returning to this part of the country after 20 years and making a late booking at this Inn was the best idea I had in ages. The accommodation in the Coach House is excellent and the staff are friendly and professorial. The food is excellent. Many thanks see you again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The accommodation in the Coach House is excellent. The room we'd booked (No 4) was very nicely set up, but too small for a couple staying two nights. (It would have been fine for one night.) At no extra charge, we were moved to No 6, which was a little larger. Both of the rooms had really nice bathrooms.
(Two of the other rooms have the beds on a mezzanine level, with a sitting area below. Another has a bathroom set up for disabled access. I know all this because on one of the nights we stayed we were the only guests, and a member of staff showed us the other rooms!)
Continental breakfast was very good, and the food in the pub is really excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The properties are converted and furnished to a high standard, very clean, tea and coffee making facilities - everything you need was there. There was one big draw-back and that is that it is situated next to a busy noisy road, which spoilt it for us. However, the food and the atmosphere in the pub and restaurant was excellent

Room Tip: Room 1 is right on the road, other rooms may not be quite so noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeanLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodenham
5.6 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leominster
304 reviews
7.3 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
431 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stretton Sugwas
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holly House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House at the England's Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House at the England's Gate Inn

Property: The Coach House at the England's Gate Inn
Address: Millcroft Road, Bodenham HR1 3HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Bodenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bodenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House at the England's Gate Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House is a building adjacent to our popular 16th-century food and drink pub, The England's Gate Inn. All seven of the rooms and en-suite bathrooms within the coach house have been renovated and finished to a luxury standard and are full of character. Due to the sizes of the rooms varying considerably they are all priced at different rates. Breakfast is served in the breakfast room in the Coach House and is included in the room rate. The pub and Coach House have just been awarded a four star rating from the AA. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Coach House At The England's Gate Inn Bodenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing