We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coach House at the England's Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coach House at the England's Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Bodenham B&B and Inns
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here after a visit to Hereford. After staying in a poor hotel the night before and getting next to no sleep, we we're placed here and it was beautiful! The decor was gorgeous and it had such a cosy, warm atmosphere. It was spotless. The pub attached to it was cheap and very friendly.
Breakfast the morning after was lovely, I had a continental and there was plenty of choice, toast, fresh fruit, yogurts, croissants, fruit juice. Such a good nights sleep and the view from our room was beautiful.
I'd definitely stay here again, and I'd recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere to stay near Hereford.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimrr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    17
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
20
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed her for one night in late Jan with a group of friends as we were shooting locally the next day. Very friendly welcome in the bar when we arrived, and met up with friends and chatting. We all enjoyed some excellent and varied meals, lots of local ingredients, in the bar/restaurant, with great atmosphere.
We were all staying in the Coach House which is a separate building next to the pub, with beautifully decorated rooms, my was overlooking a field of sheep and stunning views. Not huge rooms but very adequate size and well appointed en-suite.
We all came down for breakfast in the morning, ( the Coach House has a purpose built kitchen breakfast room) to the delightful smell of bacon, eggs etc and a cheery greeting from the lady who was ensuring we were all well fed for the day. Nothing was too much trouble, lots of choice from all the locally produced food on offer. Delicious!!

Great place to meet up with friends and enjoy the local area/food

Room Tip: Room 5 overlooked the field of sheep and was a double bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We just stayed here for 2 nights in room 7( Chilman, I think), the room was very nice, the breakfast was good, and Carol who made and served it was lovely. We didn't eat in the Pub so cannot comment. Friends with us had a different room which nice like ours, but small. Slightly expensive for what it is, but would use it again if in the area.

Room Tip: room 7( Chilman)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJMYORKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We just stayed here for one night after visiting the Broadfield Court winery. The room was very well equipped and I loved the candles in the lanterns - and the matches to light them! The breakfast was lovely - a great choice of continental breakfast, and my husband enjoyed a delicious cooked breakfast for an additional £5.00. Being situated next to the pub it was delightful stepping across to dinner in the evening before returning to the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting friends and found this to be a comfortable and modern room in an historic old building. The room was luxurious if a little small as was the bathroom.We decided on the continental breakfast and this was more than adequate with cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, boiled eggs, ham, juice, toast and croissants to choose from. . The "breakfast lady" was very welcoming and pleasant. Just down the road is Hampton Court Castle where we spent a good few hours in the gardens and watching falconry and jousting.
My only complaints would be that although there is a door out into the car park you cannot open this from the outside so you have to take your case through the breakfast room and manoeuvre around the table, fine for the more sprightly, also the croissants were very dry and a little hard, and having been spoilt recently in France each morning, this was disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizards1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Ok, from the start. Located 15 minutes drive away north of Hereford lies the beautiful village of Bodenham. Bodenham is half hour drive away from at least 10 other scenic/historic villages which are a delight in their own right. When we arrived we were greeted by a lady who seemed nice enough. We were shown the amenities and to room 5 'Baker', which, I must say I was extremely impressed with the decor and standard of cleanliness. The new housekeeping lady who has only been here a week or so was very friendly and would do anything for you. For the room alone I would rate the accommodation on a 4 star basis as it has everything you need. It wasn't the largest of rooms which could have been an issue on a long stay, but for a couple of nights it is absolutely ideal. In between checking in and dinner we visited the extraordinary Hampton Court castle & gardens. Seriously if you have time you must visit this little Eden. We drove past and thought 'ah that looks like a nice little castle. It has some unexpected gems which are not to miss! On our arrival back at the hotel/B&B we prepared for dinner. The staff are very attentive and made sure we were always comfortable. We then sat for dinner and ordered. I had the tomato and roasted red pepper to start and a pork extravaganza for my main, Ani had the salmon cream cheese roulade to start and sirloin steak for main. You could not argue with the portion sizes especially if you have a very healthy appetite. For us the portion sizes could have been slightly smaller, but that's just splitting hairs. My soup to start was exquisite. Absolutely fantastic, so good we both had it the second night to start. Ani's reports on the salmon cream cheese roulade were fair to middling, too much of a portion for a starter really and the lemon that it was served with was slightly overbearing. For mains my pork belly with black pudding and faggot was extremely tasty and everything on the plate was presented well and was cooked nicely too. Ani's sirloin was cooked to order and you could tell that they have a good local meat provider, the sauce however was unusual. Green peppercorn sauce was ordered which seemed to be infused with aniseed/fennel/Pernod. There was only a hint of it but you could certainly taste its presence. We weren't dissatisfied with its inclusion but it certainly made us aware that the chef had a feel for meddling with unusual taste combinations. The night was extremely warm I'd say into the mid 20's still and although the accommodation does not have the luxury of air conditioning (but to be fair, in the UK who needs it, the weather doesn't generally warrant it as a necessity) when we called through to the bar, the young girl went heaven an earth to find us a fan which we seriously appreciated. Without her efforts it could have been unbearably uncomfortable.

The next morning we went for our continental breakfast for which we picked a time any time between 7am-9am. It was a mixture of buffet and table service. There wasn't a limit on how much you could have, in fact the housekeep encouraged us to ensure we we're fully sated. On offer was white or best of both bread, freshly prepared mixed fruit, choices of yogurts, a selection of cereals, croissants, meats, a selection of around 6 different types of tea, lovely filter coffee, and juices. All in all quite an impressive offering for an inclusive continental breakfast service. Later that day we ventured off into some of the local villages and on ou return the room was nicely made up. We decided to return to the inn's restaurant the second night and as previously mentioned we plumped for the soup to start. For mains I had the rump steak and Ani had the pork chops with masala sauce. We also had a side of ciabatta garlic bread. The soup was again delightful which was served with fresh warm bread and butter. My rump steak was requested rare, which half of it was but the other half was sadly cooked medium/medium well. Ani's pork was also overcooked to the point of being quite dry. Thankfully the masala sauce that it was served with proved some form of redemption. Finally, the garlic bread. A trend seemed to build in the chef's love of dabbling with aniseed/fennel/Pernod and other flavourings. Again not completely offensive but not what you generally expect when ordering garlic bread. To judge on the whole experience I would agree with the owners self-appraisal of the accommodations 4 star rating. It is certainly worth recommending for everyone else to come and pay a visit to this little hidden gem. We will certainly come back again and would also tell our close friends to visit, too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We visited on a Sunday evening. The accommodation was excellent and the general setting was rural and nice and quiet. The pub and garden were very pleasant, but the evening meal was disappointing. Although it was pointed out that Sunday evening menus are limited, we had to wait 53 minutes for the food to arrive, and when it did it was bland and overcooked. The vegetarian linguini was without Parmesan cheese, and the scampi and chips overcooked.
However ,the continental breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodenham
5.6 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leominster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lower Bache House
Lower Bache House
#1 of 1 in Kimbolton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Riverside Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House at the England's Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House at the England's Gate Inn

Property: The Coach House at the England's Gate Inn
Address: Millcroft Road, Bodenham HR1 3HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Bodenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bodenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House at the England's Gate Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House is a building adjacent to our popular 16th-century food and drink pub, The England's Gate Inn. All seven of the rooms and en-suite bathrooms within the coach house have been renovated and finished to a luxury standard and are full of character. Due to the sizes of the rooms varying considerably they are all priced at different rates. Breakfast is served in the breakfast room in the Coach House and is included in the room rate. The pub and Coach House have just been awarded a four star rating from the AA. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Coach House At The England's Gate Inn Bodenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing