We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Travelled through as part of a canal holiday.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of River Avon

River Avon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$26.07*
and up
Lunchtime River Cruise on the River Avon from Bath including Pub Visit
Ranked #7,431 of 15,698 things to do in England
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This scenic river runs through the center of Bath and offers pleasant walking trails along its banks and boat tours.
Worcester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Travelled through as part of a canal holiday.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We travelled through Bath en route from Bristol to Devizes on the Kennet and Avon Canal. Very picturesque.

Helpful?
1 Thank Vigornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Why Avon?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

The reason this is called the River Avon, along with others in this country of ours, is because the word Avon, in Roman times meant River! Therefore there are numerous River avons' or literally River river! Take the short harbour cruise. very informative and pleasant.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sturat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Take A Trip On The Bristol Packet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Whilst at the Bristol Harbour Festival on Sunday I took a boat trip along the river with my boyfriend and parents aboard the Bristol Packet. The trip lasted about 45 minutes and went as far as the Cumberland Basin and back again. I've therefore only seen a very small part of the river as it stretches for miles.

Aboard the Bristol Packet I learned a few things about the river that I never knew - like the fact that it's tidal in places and has to be controlled to stop Bristol from flooding!

It's full of boats and on Sunday we got to pass The Matthew a couple of times which had just set sail ahead of us.

Unfortunately it is rather brown and filthy-looking but that didn't seem to faze the man who was going along it on a surfboard!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ReviewAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
647 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Muddy but scenic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

By its very nature it is a muddy river but it a most scenic gorge and has some wonderful walks and views

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank shish57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Historic River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Mention this great river and it embodies Bath and Bristol, as well as numerous pretty villages. The river has seen trade for hundreds of years and is now the venue for all kinds of water sports, as it wends its' way to Avonmouth and the Bristol Channel.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MichaelDevon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Avon also viewed

 

Been to River Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing