We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find !!!”
Review of Longs Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Longs Inn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Reviewed 9 August 2013

After trawling the internet for what seemed and eternity, i stumbled upon Longs Inn we were travelling to Woburn for a visit to the safari park and needed somewhere too stay for one night. What a find! we were warmly greeted by friendly staff, shown to our family room which was amply sized for me, my husband and 12 yr old daughter. The room was nicely dressed with a mixture of eclectic furniture, comfortable four poster bed, lovely laundered bed linen, tea/coffee making facilities and ensuite. The breakfast was the best we have had for sometime and considering we had stayed at a 4* international hotel in London the night before there was no comparison Longs Inn was far superior. This hotel is minutes away from the park and offer larger accommodation as well so we are planning to return soon with friends asap.

Room Tip: We had a family room at the front of the Inn facing the road but it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASHLIE380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Longs Inn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

Lovely quaint coaching inn. You need to watch your head in the bedrooms (I am 6' tall) Lovely friendly welcome, inviting bar area where you can relax, restaurant serves excellent breakfasts & evening meals. We stayed for 2 nights in June as a base to visite Woburn Abbey & Safari park, we where not dissapointed with the the hotel. Just remember some rooms have baths some have showers so whatever is your personal preference

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phils186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We were looking 4 a last minute hotel in Woburn & this place is a gem. Really good size comfortable double room with ensuite. Very clean with a lovely big shower. Just a shame we were only there 4 1 night.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suemummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The staff were very friendly. Arrived late in the evening, restaurant was shut, the bar attendant offered to ring a take way and collect it for us, we kindly took her up on this offer! Over all we had a pleasant 2 day stay. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_parkinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed for two nights and were very comfortable. There was a bit of noise from other rooms and the road, but otherwise it was great. Comfy beds and a nice breakfast. The menu looked good but limited vegetarian options so we ate elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniCoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Thrown out of our house by daughter having a birthday barbecue, we decided to stay in nearby Woburn. A search on the Internet showed that our first thought of staying at The Inn at Woburn would cost us £160 so that was a no go!

Longs Inn which used to be The Magpies (and probably The Magpie Georgian coaching inn - one of 16 coaching inns that this tittle town boasted in the 18/19 century before the railway took over) was a much cheaper but better option.

It's a small, genuine Georgian inn, now a pub/restaurant/ hotel in the main street. Our double room on second floor was quaint and creaky, but with en suite and flat screen telly. Coffee/tea and ironing board/iron and a view out over the Woburn roof tops and rather scary church top gargoyles.

The couple running it are slowly working through renovating the rooms and showed me pictures of a first floor room which looked very plush.

Breakfast was outstanding, one of the best Full English I've had -- good bacon and proper sausages a nod black pudding.

Service is friendly and homely ( in a nice way). If it wasn't just down the road, it would be a great weekend break and for anyone thinking of visiting Woburn which has much to offer I'd thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BushH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed at Longs inn for our anniversary. The room was one of the nicest we have ever stayed in, very comfortable and lovely shower. We also ate at the hotel and had a 3 course set meal which was lovely. The breakfast was also excellent, staff were really nice and the owners of the hotel made our anniversarey stay really special, would highly recommend this hotel to any couple looking for a relaxing break or too a familys. Could not fault this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woburn
0.1 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
586 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bell Hotel & Inn
The Bell Hotel & Inn
#3 of 3 in Woburn
350 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Moore Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
5.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
4.2 mi away
Hilton Milton Keynes
Hilton Milton Keynes
#15 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longs Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longs Inn Hotel

Address: 18 Bedford Street, Woburn MK17 9QB, England (Formerly Magpies Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Woburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Price Range: £47 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Longs Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longs Inn is a charming 17th-century Coaching Inn situated in the historic village of Woburn. We have 15 well appointed, individually designed bedrooms. Styled to enhance each rooms own character. Our Bar gives a traditional,cozy atmosphere where you can enjoy a drink in front of a log burning stove, whilst in summer the courtyard is great for drinks and alfresco dining. We use only the freshest, locally sourced ingredients in our menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Longs Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longs Hotel Woburn
Magpies Hotel Woburn
Longs Inn Hotel Woburn, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing