We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place great staff”
Review of Longs Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Longs Inn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
London
1 review
“Nice place great staff”
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Have just returned from a couple of days in stay my husband is on leave from Afghanistan - booked 2 nights. The room - standard - was good with a view . I told the staff that I was pleased with there service and well looked after.
A great place to stay in the with easy access to MK shopping.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brent1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    62
    41
    27
    15
See reviews for
45
101
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dorset
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Rooms lovely, thats about the best comment. We were away for a wedding as a family, needed two rooms as have three teenagers. On arrival could not have lunch, as no chef, alarm bells ringing as booked table for dinner following night. Pub has good beer and staff quite friendly. Breakfast well! Transport cafe springs to mind. Already knew no cooked breakfast as no chef, we like continental but not DIY. Instant coffee milk in cartons, juice in cartons, bread in packet all of the cheapest possible quality. sugar had hairs in, cereal jars empty from previous day. No croissants or fruit. No staff only the cleaners helping themselves to real coffee out of machine!! which was unavailable to us. This really was the worst breakfast i have ever seen. We paid cash for that night and found somewhere else with real breakfast for the following night which was more than excellent and cheaper! Dont stay, cancel now!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank three_girlsDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magpieshotel, Owner at Longs Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2009
We have taken on board the guests comments, and at last managed to recruit a chef to cook breakfasts .
The member of staff mentioned has also left.
The hotel also has a new very experienced French manager who is raising the standards in all areas. The restaurant being her principle focus.
We apologise to these guests for their unfortunate experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Four of us visited Magpies Hotel for lunch on Sunday. The fact the dining room was more or less empty should have set alarm bells ringing.

Three of us chose bangers and mash and one chose goats cheese salad.

The goats cheese salad was as it said on the tin - some salad with a bit of goats cheese. No thought or imagination. For a main course, it was also extremely small.

When choosing your bangers and mash , you were able to choose from three different types of mash and three different gravies - the fact that only one of each option was available was a minor point!!

When the food arrived, I thought I had been transported to the dining hall at wormwood scrubs (though, this might be doing wormwood scrubs a misjustrice). The mash (I'll come onto this) was slopped onto the plate, the sausages were poked into the mash and the gravy had been poured over the top. Presentation was not a strong point for the person playing chef.

The gravy was acceptable (bit watery). The sausages were very low quaility and aside from being slightly over cripsy (I won't say burnt), they were on the whole edible, albeit boring.

The mash was the bit that I perplexed me. It was between the adhesive used for tiling bathrooms and wallpaper paste. The waitress insisted it was not smash and was "real" potatoes. None of us ate it.

To produce such awful food clearly is a skill!! Cooking sausage and mash must be one of the simplest things - how could anyone get it so wrong?

The only good part of this experience is that we were not charged for the food! I certainly would not have paid for it!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magpieshotel, owner at Longs Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2009
We now have a new chef.
We had to employ a contract chef to cover a period of absense who turned out to be not as good was we were promised ,and certainly expected. He was not cheap either !!!
We apologised to the customers and discounted their meals. We have high standards but let the customers down on this occasion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

This accomodation should clearly be called a pub not a hotel.

No concession what so ever is made to 'guests' attempting to sleep as karaoke continues well into the night. Given that you could hear someone wisper in the next room because the sound proofing is non-existent allowing activities this loud is unacceptable.

The room was nicely decorated but I would not waste my money on staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Having booked a "Premier room" we were expecting something a little better than we actually found. On entering the room we could smell damp, the cause seemed to be mould on the carpet around the bath & under the window in the bedroom, a window that could not be locked and the frame was rotten on the outside. We were at the front of the hotel on the main road through the village and the noise from the traffic was horrendous,meaning very little sleep; if the noise from the traffic didn't keep you awake, the noise of the plumbing did. There was no bulb in one of the bedside lights, a cardboard tube from a toilet roll on the floor of the bathroom & only 3 coat hangers in the wardrobe. The so called complimentary breakfast, which consisted of the cheapest bread products possible had been put out the night before & left to sweat under clingfilm. The reason for this seemed to be there were no staff on duty overnight until about 9am, this was all very well until the fire alarm sounded on the second morning of our stay & continued to go off for half an hour until staff appeared for the morning shift. The "In the event of a fire" instructions on our room door which instructed us to wait outside in the event of an alarm & be counted by the staff was clearly for legislative purposes only.We were staying on the top floor of the hotel and had no knowledge of if this was a real fire or not, it appeared that it was actually a fellow guest burning their toast whilst cooking their own breakfast! When staff did appear we were greeted with "oh, are we having fun?"
No - we weren't!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnshireAbbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magpieshotel, owner at Longs Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2009
We are a 16th century Coaching Inn
Once this year we have had karoke.One of the locals who has used the pub all his life was 70 . He had a birthday party,and most of the hotel was full of his relatives.The singing stopped at midnight.His daughter specifically asked if they could organise Karoke, as the family enjoy it.
Had I thought it would upset other guests we would certainly have said no to the request.
WE DO NOT ORGANISE KAROKE EVENTS IN THE HOTEL, PUB OR RESTAURANT. This was a guest request to help them enjoy their planned event.
We apologise to our guests who were upset by the event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2009

With the rooms at the Inn at Woburn being in dire need of a refurb and very overpriced (though lovely hotel in every other respect, great service), the Magpies was a cheaper option-was surprised though after reading reviews, our room wasn't very clean particularly the bathroom and seemed very 'thrown together'. All in all an ecomony room I would have expected to pay £40 for and not £85. Woburn is in dire need of quality ,value for money accommodation, if you charge £120 for a room then a stylish newish room is expected, as it is for £85 though fewer facilities are expected.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vcorsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

We stayed at the Magpies Hotel for one night on a Sunday. I have to say that calling it a hotel is pushing it a bit. It is really a pub with some nice rooms.

Having said this, that is what we paid for so I'm not complaining (although gutted to read that someone else got the 4 poster for £45 when we paid £85).

The place was easy to find and there was plenty of parking round the back. Our room was facing the front of the pub. It was a nice oldy worldy room with beams. A really good size with a comfy 4 poster and a seperate seating area with TV. The bathroom was a good size but there is only a shower.

We had a good nights sleep. It is really a shame that they don't do a full english breakfast and I have to say that perhaps they should reflect the lack of this in the price by £10 or £15.

The pub itself was fine, perhaps not the nicest one in Woburn (we tried a few) and it is clearly a 'locals' pub. (who were all very friendly by the way)

The restaurant wasn't all that busy on a Sunday. We met my parents there for the advertised Sunday Lunch. In fact, I received an e-mail from the pub telling me what a great Traditional Sunday they did so I booked. We were all really looking forward to this but unfortuantely, and, for reasons the waitress could not explain, there was no Sunday lunch on the menu!!!!

Having said this, the available menu was quite good. The food was all home cooked and very fresh and, all in all it was a good meal and very reasonably priced. All the staff we encountered were really friendly.

One word of warning, If you need a taxi, don't book it through the bar, or, at least get a few prices before hand. We were charged £17.50 (one way) to go to Wavendon. When we told locals they advised that we had 'been done'. This was confirmed by a £7.50 return with another firm.

All in all a decent place to stay for one night. Given the lack of decent accomodation in this area and the fact that the others available are extortionate, I would deffinitely stay at this B & B again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluesterNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woburn
0.1 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
560 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bell Hotel & Inn
The Bell Hotel & Inn
#3 of 3 in Woburn
331 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Moore Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
5.2 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
4.2 mi away
Hilton Milton Keynes
Hilton Milton Keynes
#14 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longs Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longs Inn Hotel

Property: Longs Inn Hotel
Address: 18 Bedford Street, Woburn MK17 9QB, England (Formerly Magpies Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Woburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Longs Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longs Inn is a charming 17th-century Coaching Inn situated in the historic village of Woburn. We have 15 well appointed, individually designed bedrooms. Styled to enhance each rooms own character. Our Bar gives a traditional,cozy atmosphere where you can enjoy a drink in front of a log burning stove, whilst in summer the courtyard is great for drinks and alfresco dining. We use only the freshest, locally sourced ingredients in our menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Longs Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longs Hotel Woburn
Magpies Hotel Woburn
Longs Inn Hotel Woburn, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing