We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Woburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Woburn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have just returned from a weekend wedding party (Friday/Saturday night) where we had booked 16 rooms in the hotel in a variety of standards and every guest said they were entirely satisfied with the rooms which was a good start, our room was part of the old stable block "wispers" plenty big enough, with a comfortable bed, it's is a light invasive room so if a light sleeper would suggest the use of eye shades

As a large wedding party with a mixture of couples, families with children and single people to be able to cater for everyone's needs is not easy but the hotel staff did a great job children catering for everyone's varied needs, the reception staff were very attentive

We had a large family meal in the restaurant on the Friday which was another challenging task, but in truth the menu was not very varied and I would have expected more locally sourced food, especially as it as an estate hotel, having said that the food we had was served hot and well cooked but it was nothing special, again the restaurant staff were very good

Breakfast was excellent, we had a large room set aside for our party and we were very looked after, the food selection was very good with a variety of freshly cooked bacon, sausages, eggs etc along with fresh fruits, all in all a very good breakfast

If I had to make a choice I would recommend the hotel over a chain especially for the staff and choice of rooms to suit a variety of budgets

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keredewor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidJPB, Manager at The Woburn Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Keredewor,

Thank you for your review of The Woburn Hotel following your stay with us over the weekend of Friday 06/06 and Saturday 07/06.

We also thank you for choosing our establishment to stay on your wedding day and I take this opportunity to congratulate you and your wife again.

The weekend just gone, was indeed extremely busy for us, as we had three weddings; a group of golfers and some individual travellers staying at the hotel and the challenge, as you pointed it out, was to be able to cater to all the different needs of our guests. We are pleased to hear that you feel the team did deliver product and service on this front.

Regarding your meal in Olivier’s Restaurant on the Friday night, we are sorry that you felt that the choice was not varied but delighted that you did enjoy the food and service. We do have to limit choices on larger parties in order for Chef to deliver quality food, hot in a timely manner.
For locally sourced food, our Executive Chef does get seasonal supplies for local producers and also venison from the Woburn Estate, time of the year permitting.

Once again thank you for all your constructive feedback and we all hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at The Woburn Hotel before your first anniversary.

Yours sincerely,

David Bouchet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    145
    51
    30
    11
See reviews for
131
193
13
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel as part of a package for our family visit to Woburn Safari Park. I was a bit apprehensive to stay in a hotel that was not a large chain. However, we were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in interconnecting family rooms which were spacious, very clean and appeared to have been newly decorated. Hotel is not very big but has a very warm welcome by reception. The restaurant is clean and the staff are very polite. I would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidattheinn, Manager at The Woburn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you fro posting your review of The Woburn Hotel on this site.

I am delighted to hear that you fully enjoyed your recent stay on the safari Package.

I hope you had the opportunity to see all the newly born baby animals at Woburn Safari Park but also made a stop to visit Woburn Abbery and its glorious gardens.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon in Woburn.

Yours sincerely,

David Bouchet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
407 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Is this a new hotel trying to look antique, or an old building trying to pass for new?

Either way the decor, carpets and furnishings need some tlc.

The staff were all very welcoming and helpful, but the meeting room stuffy, cramped and uncomfortable

I did not stay for the night or even a meal, as we had an afternoon meeting time slot, however upon my first impressions I would prefer to stay at the Bell down the road

The car park entrance is not easily spotted from the main road and navigating the car parks and remembering to collect the barrier release code was a hassle after a long day

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taur033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidattheinn, Manager at The Woburn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Taur033,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel and I am sorry to read that you were not fully impressed by our facilities on your last visit.

The Woburn Hotel, formerly the Inn at Woburn, has undergone a full refurbishment of its bedrooms in the last few months. We are now in the process of moving into our public areas to ensure we create a consistent style throughout the hotel.

Our meeting rooms are all fully air conditioned with size and facilities always specified to either the agent or organiser to ensure they fully meet requirements.

Our car park, located next to the Village car park, has a barrier and CCTV to enhance security, hence having the barrier code only featured in our reception lobby.

Once again, I thank you for your constructive feedback and I sincerely hope that you will consider to revisit in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

David Bouchet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break (Friday/Saturday night) and have enjoyed the experience. The package included an allowance for an evening meal on one night, afternoon tea and discounted entry to Woburn Abbey & Grounds.
Our room was in one of the converted farm buildings in the courtyard, which was clean and tidy with tea/coffee making facilities provided.
The restaurant meals were reasonable and the service was good. The breakfast was a self service buffet type, but found the cooked food a little dried up and not very hot if you arrived near the end of the sitting.
We would stay there again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidattheinn, Manager at The Woburn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay with us in Woburn on one of our special hotel packages.

I have noted your points in relation to breakfast and will discuss further with the relevant teams.

Once again thank you.

Yours sincerely,

David Bouchet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a great hotel, staff are on the ball, professional and friendly making you feel at home straight away. If you are prepared to spend the money then a larger room is worth it. We had the delightful "Flying Duchess" room, tastefully furnished, spotlessly clean with a very, very comfy bed. In fact the whole hotel has an enticing mix of new and old, the management really have done a good job here. As for the location, well, no contest. You have the quintessential English village atmosphere on the edge of Woburn. Unbeatable, really. Yes, we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeremyfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidattheinn, Manager at The Woburn Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your your review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Flying Duchess room, which with the other seven 'Abbey Rooms', has been fully refurbished.

Further refurbishment will take place shorthly in some of our public areas to carry the style and 'moods' ceated in the bedrooms.

Once again thank you for your encouraging comments on the work carried out and we all hope to have the peasure in welcoming you back very soon at The Woburn Hotel.

Kind regards,


David Bouchet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

My brother and I took our mother to The Woburn Hotel for afternoon tea to celebrate her 91st birthday and we were wonderfully looked after.
My mother was met in the car park by a member of staff with an umbrella as it was raining ,to welcome her and escort her in, like the Queen!
She was then presented with some beautiful flowers and we offered complimentary champagne. The afternoon tea was dainty and delicious and as good as any I have had at top tables in London which includes Claridges and The Ritz.
I am so grateful to all staff concerned that my elderly mother was given a lovely birthday to remember and I would definitely choose The Woburn Hotel as a venue for future family celebrations.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank KenB-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidattheinn, Manager at The Woburn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
First and foremost thank you for having your celebration at the Woburn Hotel.

We are delighted that you received great service and hospitality fro such a special occasion and that you mother had a most enjoyable birthday with us.

We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon in Woburn.

Yours sincerely,

David Bouchet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed for one night and there is no doubt that it is a well run, well established and comfortable hotel. The lounge has lovely, large armchairs and settees to relax in!
It is very popular for business people for meetings and conferences etc. that is excellent for the hotel but I hope they don't forget about the ordinary holiday maker. We felt a little neglected when ordering food in the bar. I'm sure it was a one off but thought it worth mentioning.
A wonderful venue for exploring woburn abbey.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digit_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidattheinn, Manager at The Woburn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you fro your review.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoy our facilities and have noticed most of the work that has been carried out to develop our hotel.

More to come..., so please keep coming back.

Once again thank you.

Kind regards,


David Bouchet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woburn
0.1 mi away
Longs Inn Hotel
Longs Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
0.1 mi away
The Bell Hotel & Inn
The Bell Hotel & Inn
#3 of 3 in Woburn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
12.0 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 18 in Bedford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moore Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woburn Hotel

Property: The Woburn Hotel
Address: George Street | Bedfordshire, Woburn MK17 9PX, England (Formerly Inn at Woburn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Woburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woburn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Woburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Woburn Hotel Woburn
Woburn Inn
The Inn At Woburn
Woburn Bed Breakfast
The Woburn Hotel Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing