We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History and beauty: Great combination”

Woburn Abbey and Gardens
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Woburn
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Woburn Abbey has been the home of the Earls and Dukes of Bedford for nearly 400 years and is now home to the 15th Duke and his family. Alongside the world class collection of art, the house contains the fascinating stories of the people who have shaped the history of both the Abbey and the nation; including the ‘creation ‘ of Afternoon Tea. The Gardens, with a twenty year restoration programme, are of equal splendour with 28 acres of Repton designs to be explored and discovered.Throughout the year Woburn also hosts a series of events including: classic cars rallies, The Woburn Abbey Garden Show, summer theatre, the country fair, vintage airplane rally and autumn deer walks.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
779 reviews
224 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
“History and beauty: Great combination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We spent a very pleasant and relaxing 3 hours here exploring the old Abbey and the beautiful gardens. The Abbey, like the other historic homes we've seen, is very well presented with staff on hand to both answer questions and... to stop you attempting to take photo's. The bedoom of Queen Victoria is most interesting - as is the story of how the Abbey was used as a hospital for war wounded.
The gardens are truly magnificent and one could easily spend 2 or 3 hours here: Tranquil and peaceful.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PANTHER029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    185
    41
    23
    35
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Chilled afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

A relaxed afternoon spent in the gardens and around the house. The gardens are worth a long ramble around especially off the beaten path.
The house is full of portrait art of the family as well as beautifully set out rooms. The staff are knowledgable and keen to talk.
There are some lovely personal touches from the youngest members of the incumbent family.

Helpful?
Thank greyseal70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stunning home... incredible grounds and lovely to see so many deer roaming free, the cafe had great home cooked meals at good prices, often not the case in these venues. Formal gardens very nice, only sorry we didn't have enough time to look around the house... we will return for a weekend

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Breconscouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Relaxing Gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We went on the day of the garden show & it was a beautiful warm, sunny day.I've never been to the gardens before & on that day the duchess was opening the new rockery.The drive to the parking area was long but we enjoyed watching all the deer happily grazing & the beautiful scenery,lakes.We even saw an oystercatcher on the side of the road which we stopped to look at you usually only see them birds by the coast or estuaries & I was so disappointed as I had forgotten my camera.The actual show was very good with lots of stalls selling lots of different plants & the prices were very reasonable.I especially liked the stall that was selling wood sculptures & some of them were amazing.They offered plenty of seating under a huge marquee which was good to get away from the intense heat & have a rest & chill for a while.They provided a food area & we went for the gourmet burger/hot dog stand you could not resist the smell of the onions & the hot dog was amazing yum yum !! Everyone seemed to be enjoying them and again plenty of seating in the sun & shade.They also on the day had Pippa Greenwood the gardening expert on hand giving advice and providing demonstrations etc.The actual gardens were beautiful & as we wandered into the duchesses private gardens which was open on the day we noticed a huge woodland area and it was full of wild pink orchids.I've never seen a wild orchid before & I couldn't believe how many there were again so annoyed I didn't take the camera so if you do visit don't forget your camera.The whole area was so peaceful and tranquil and we really enjoyed the day.We are planning on going into the house some other time and i'm looking forward to that.They provide plenty of toilets & all the staff were very friendly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ball1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely space to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Really lovely to visit! Good value too for the gardens, very calm space to visit during the week and gardens are very well kept. Tea Rooms are nice too. Good food and generally reasonably priced.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BritHammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woburn Abbey and Gardens also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Luton, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Woburn Abbey and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing