We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful day out”
Review of Woburn Safari Park

Woburn Safari Park
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Woburn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful day out”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have not been to Woburn Safari Park for 30 years, when my children were small. Could not believe how things have changed at the park. I thought it much better than a visit to the zoo, the Giraffes were a delight to see and I was surprised there were so many, including a one born only yesterday. It was a shame the gates to the tiger enclosure were being repaired as we did not get to see the tigers, Will have to go again! A brilliant day out, quite expensive but the animals and upkeep of the park must cost millions. Must take the grandchildren.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail C, Manager at Woburn Safari Park, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review, there has been a vast investment in the park over recent years and it’s wonderful to hear you have seen the park change.

It’s great to hear you enjoyed seeing the herd of Rothschild Giraffe and the new calf at Giraffe junction.

We really hope you are able to come and visit again soon!

Kind Regards,
Abigail Crowley
Leisure Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,129
    631
    265
    109
    75
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Up close and personal....”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I took the family (parents over 60, daughter 2 yrs etc)....the expereince starts as you enter and realise that the animals are that close! Coming close to the car, walking in front of it...it was one of hte best expereinces we had. As you pass the bear, tiger and wolf areas, you start to wonder why you havent come here before....breath taking is the only word for it!

Finally, the best bit of your trip...the monkey section....as they jump on and off you car, slide their rear end on your windscreen (nice, hey!!!!) and just doing what monkeys do.....

Took a picnic in the nicely layed out areas...wondering the other sections....

Yes, we went round again....as it was that good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail C, Manager at Woburn Safari Park, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give write us a five star review after your visit to the park, it’s great to hear you had wonderful and memorable day.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Abigail Crowley
Leisure Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Meet the Meerkats!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have just spent a lovely day at Woburn Safari Park which was made even better by upgrading to a VIP Meet the Meerkats experience (pre-booked). It was great to get so close to the Meerkats and Bob who was with us for our experience was very helpful and was only too happy to answer our questions.
We also enjoyed meeting Lemurs as close hand and went to see them during one of their feeding times, the keeper was very helpful and informative as well as encouraging us to fuss them.
We went to a parrot show/performance which was also very good.
We would happily recommend the Park. The animals look very well kept and the staff were all very helpful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail C, Manager at Woburn Safari Park, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for writing us such a positive review after your Up Close Encounter with the Meerkats in Dessert Springs, it’s great to hear you enjoyed your whole day.

Thank you also for your positive feedback about the staff and appearance of the Park.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Abigail Crowley
Leisure Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“VIP Off Road Safari”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

An earlier reviewer referred to the "brilliant Bob" - I wholeheartedly agree. As the collective ages of the 4 passengers in the group was close to 240, we were a little concerned this might be more suitable to families with children - we should not have been worried. I cannot remember the last time that 2 hours passed so quickly - we had incredibly up close viewings (any closer and the lion would have been in the car!) , and the off road experience gave a significantly different perspective, without stressing the animals. We learned a lot, and came away really impressed with the patience and dedication of the staff here. This experience exceeded all our expectations, and it was a great day. Cannot recommend highly enough. (oh - and we have some AMAZING photos!!)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Awomanofnoimportance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail C, Manager at Woburn Safari Park, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review after your VIP Off Road Safari Adventure with Ranger Bob.

It’s great to hear your whole family enjoyed getting up close to lots of the amazing animals.

We really hope you can visit again soon!

Kind regards,
Abigail Crowley
Leisure Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big Cat Breakfast Experience”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We bought our daughters this experience for their 11th & 13th birthdays as both of them are animal mad. We were half expecting it not to live up to our expectations but we weren't disappointed, it was better than any of us had imagined. Our guide, Erin, was full of enthusiasm and knowledgable about all the animals different personalities which helped make the whole thing more personal. We were so close to the lions when feeding them that we could have touched them (if we'd been stupid enough). At one point, the keepers managed to encourage the male lion, Kassanga, to jump up at the bars to reach for some meat. Our hearts were in our mouths as we stood in front of this towering lion. It was quite incredible. I thought we'd be feeding the lions from really long metal poles but we were centimetres away feeding them off wooden sticks! They were so gentle. The rest of the experience was spent in the Land Rover being driven around the bear, wolf, tiger and lion enclosure. I would definitely recommend this experience. We stayed at Longs Inn in the pretty village of Woburn the evening before as we needed to be at the park for 9:30. I would recommend that too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail C, Manager at Woburn Safari Park, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a wonderful review after your Big Cat Breakfast Experience. It’s great to hear you had such a wonderful and memorable day with Ranger Erin and you were able to enjoy feeding Kasanga and the pride of Lions.

We really hope you are able to visit us again soon!

Kind regards,
Abigail Crowley
Leisure Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woburn Safari Park also viewed

 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Woburn Safari Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing