We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but its not quite.......”
Review of Woburn Safari Park

Woburn Safari Park
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Woburn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good but its not quite.......”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We love animals, zoos, and safari parks. The drive through portion of the park was superb. We were not rushed and got really close to bears, rhino, giraffe, monkeys, and the rest.The monkeys were well behaved and did not attempt to dismantle cars as we passed by.
The foot safari was a little disappointing.....not for the animal content but for the customer experience. We visited on a Friday but most of the kiosks and cafes were closed. I realise this was a commercial decision but it results in a poor customer experience for those that have paid on the day....only to see a closed up facility.
Worth a visit but go on a weekend when everything is open.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail C, Manager at Woburn Safari Park, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review after your day at Woburn Safari Park. It’s great to hear you enjoyed seeing so many of the wonderful animals in the Road Safari section of the Park.

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the facilities in the Leisure Area, on quieter days such as weekdays in school term time some of our food kiosks may be closed but guests can still get a wide range of items such as ice cream, hot and cold meals and snacks from our Safari Restaurant.

We hope you are able to visit us again soon!

Kind regards,
Abgail Crowley
Leisure Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,173
    662
    279
    113
    75
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Turn up early and take a lunch!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was the second time I'd visited Woburn and took my aunt as a treat to see the monkeys (don't ask!!).
If you turn up at opening time, it's all the better. Buying tickets in advance saves a small amount of money, but not essential for single adults.
You can take as long as you want driving round, as long as you keep moving through the *danger* areas, such as the tigers and bears. The road is wide enough to allow others to pass you, although maybe the "idiot" who tried to speed around me was surprised when he nearly hit a gazelle. Oh yeah, safari....Patience! That aside, the rangers are looking out for you, without being intrusive.
Soft top cars are not allowed through the monkeys as it would be a free for all, so a bypass is provided.
After doing the circuit, which took about an hour, there is an area containing "foot safari", including sealions, penguins, otters, squirrel monkeys and more. These were informative, but I felt they were more suitable for children. However, it was nice to see that the animals were NOT made to perform tricks at all.
After this, you can then do a repeat circuit or more if you wish of the drive safari, although we found 2 goes round acceptable.
I would recommend arriving early as it allows you to see the animals, then do the safari, followed by another drive round, which was good as it was quieter and the animals were in different places.
Looking through the reviews, have seen a couple of reviews stating the animals didn't do much. It's a safari park trying it's best to replicate the natural conditions in the middle of England and the animals are left to do as they please. They are not in cages and I felt it was more relaxing than any zoo.
One last point, the food, although nice, was very expensive, so take your own lunch!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank emuslushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail C, Manager at Woburn Safari Park, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a detailed response after your day at Woburn Safari Park.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed seeing the animals displaying natural behaviours in the Road Safari and you were able to repeat the circuit as well as enjoying some of the keeper talks and demonstrations in the Leisure Area.

We really hope you can come back again soon.

Kind regards
Abigail Crowley
Leisure Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Photography experience at Woburn”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I was lucky to be given a gift of photographing big cats at Woburn. It was an amazing experience as the added advantage of going on a tour is that you get to drive right up close to the animals and take photos of them, unlike those who visit in their own cars and have to stick to the road and risk the chance of missing the animals if they aren't feeling particularly active!
The food in the café is rather expensive for what it is. There is also a small area where you can go around on foot and see small animals, which was quite nice and great for photography as they aren't in cages.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Such_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail C, Manager at Woburn Safari Park, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for leaving us a brilliant five star review after your day at the Park photographing the big cats. It’s great to hear you had a wonderful time and you were able to see so many of the amazing animals.

We really hope you can visit again soon!

Kind regards,
Abigail Crowley
Leisure Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

When we visited this attraction we were surprised to find what we considered to be only a small number of animals.
Whilst it was unusual to bears wandering, the other species were few and far between. The park is not a cheap day out and we have visited a number of safari parks which are far more interesting and better value. Knowsley being a case in point.
The restaurant was also quite pricey for not a very good choice and not particularly well presented., and the tables were not cleaned often enough.
All in all a disappointing day out.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail C, Manager at Woburn Safari Park, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Carol,

Thank you for your comments, we value feedback from all of our visitors. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit as we strive to provide a consistently high level of customer satisfaction. Our visitor research shows that our 95% of our guests would recommend us to a friend (BA Research Survey results 2012).

I am sorry you didn't feel there were very many animals on your trip around the 360 acres of the Safari Park and in particularly in the Road Safari. We have over 80 species of animals at the park and they are given plenty of space and the freedom to roam within the parkland reserves. Unlike a traditional zoo where the animals are in smaller enclosures and can be viewed continually, the animals have the freedom to spend time where they please. This means each time you complete a circuit of the Road Safari, you might see them in different areas and exhibiting different behaviours, as they would in the wild. In the first Savannah Grasslands reserve, you will see a great mixture of species as you would in Africa, including Ostrich, Wildebeest, Rhino, eight species of Antelope, Buffalo, Zebra, Cattle to name a few.

I'm sorry to hear you felt the catering options were expensive. We regularly review the pricing in our various catering outlets, in order to benchmark against other UK attractions and similar locations in the UK. Food is sourced from local suppliers whenever possible and is freshly prepared each day, as our aim is to provide a quality offering at reasonable prices.

We have staff members available throughout the day to deal with litter, cleaning and presentation of our restaurant areas. We aim to maintain a high standard of presentation of restaurant areas and I'm sorry to hear that you felt standards had slipped on this occasion.

I hope you will consider visiting again.
Kind regards, Abi Crowley
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A nice day out, but take a picnic!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and I visited mainly because she wanted to see the bears!
We have been to Longleat more than once and for me it's a superb place, a hard act to follow.
Woburn almost gets there, the safari drive is excellent and even beats Longleat as you can drive through it as often as you like, as opposed to Longleats once only!
Woburn also has more "walkthrough" animal areas, but they are fairly small and don't take long to complete.
Overall i recommend a visit but take a picnic as there are ample seating areas to eat and the food and soft drink prices at Woburn are excessive.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tadleyterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail C, Manager at Woburn Safari Park, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for writing us a review after your day at the Park, it’s great to hear you enjoyed the Road Safari and you were able to drive around more than once.

We hope you are able to visit us again soon!

Kind regards
Abigail Crowley
Leisure Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woburn Safari Park also viewed

 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Woburn Safari Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing