We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
Review of Woburn Safari Park

Woburn Safari Park
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Woburn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

It seems a bit odd to be endorsing what many other people have said, but I can only agree. This is a fantastic day out. From South London it only took 90 minutes in the car. The animals were great, happily avoided any monkeys on my car, but for some reason found it amusing when one of the monkeys was removing parts of someones rubber lining...
A great family day out.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank westhamfrom1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,103
    621
    263
    107
    72
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Awesome day out!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We absolutley loved this day out ( children aged 9 and 10, but enjoyed just as much by the grownups). There is something so exciting about seeign animals roaming freely about,and we were lucky enough to have a couple of close encounters, including a bear put his paws on our window!) . This is obviously the luck of the draw, and probably helped by the fact we did the circuit 3 times ( which was definitley quieter in the afternoon). Howver, we also really enjoyed the walk around attractions, especially the wallablys and lemurs who come right up to you, and rainbow lorakeets who eat from your hand.The park is beautiful, both relaxing and exciting, and in my opinion easily beats going to a theme park ( which is our more common day out). It's inspired us to go to Africa next time!
A couple of small points; slightly hard to find your way around the walking attractions, not that many signs. Also, not everywhere had hand washing facilites after touching animals. Plus don't forget to bring socks if you have children wanting to go in the pretty good soft play area, andn to wear lace up shoes and shorts/ trousers if they want to go on the high ropes assault couse, or else they won't let you on.
Anyway, all in all an amazing day out, and one we'll never forget!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank doctornicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Season pass holders because it's great.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We love it here, great for everyone. We have annual passes and are always at the play barn or looking at the animals. A fantastic place for in the week however when it's a bank holiday weekend expect huge delays and lots of people. It's a great family friendly zoo for all ages though.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail C, Manager at Woburn Safari Park, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Leanne D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review for the park. It’s great to hear you consider us to be a great family friendly park and that you and your family enjoy visiting regularly with an annual pass.

We really hope you can continue visiting for years to come!
Kind regards, Abi Crowley
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out - like Arnie...I'll be back.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Visited Woburn Safari today with the all inclusive ticket which was felt to be good value for money in respect of the admission fee, bottled water, included meal and admission to the brilliant and informative sea lion show. I am surprised at the negative comments about the animals not being sighted or being too far away...our experience was the total opposite we drove round the safari twice we enjoyed it so much. We had a tiger and bears brush past our front bumper and several monkeys sitting on our bonnet then roof of our car. As it was the elephant appreciation weekend we were also lucky enough to meet and have our photo taken with an elephant which was yet another highlight. Woburn Safari park is kept clean and tidy (yes even the toilets) with all the animal areas free of litter and I agree with the other reviews that comment the animals look well cared for - a credit to the Staff and Rangers. The only criticisms I would make is the layout of the foot safari as it was not easy to locate the penguins despite using the maps and the general attitude of other visitors pushing in, being too impatient to wait their turn and speeding round in an area where both people and animals are roaming but then I guess that's why I prefer animals to people!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BedCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail C, Manager at Woburn Safari Park, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Bedcat,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your day at Woburn Safari Park. We are really pleased you found the All Inclusive ticket to be great value for money and you enjoyed the Road and Foot Safari experience within the park.

We are also really pleased to hear you were able to see so many of the wonderful animals, getting a close view of the bears and tigers, as well as the magnificent Asian elephants at Elephant Meadow, as part of the Elephant Appreciation Weekend.

Thank you also for your positive comments about the tidy appearance of the park and all the dedicated staff and keepers.

We really hope you are able to visit again soon!
Kind regards, Abi Crowley
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“take your binnoculars”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We visited the Woburn Safari Park and we were dissapointed. Firstly we were in a que all the way around the safari , i understand that its going to be busy but a bit more organisation to get cars in two by two would have helped. I agree with previous comments animals are too far away and not enough of them. One thing that did irritatate us was seeing parents with children with their windows open!!!!!!!!! Drivers taking picture whilst driving with children on their laps!!!!!!!
Anyway i wish i could report that the foor safari was an improvement.....not. Facilities are very dated, take a picnic as food is expensive. Toilets were in need of a refurb. Australian walkabout was a joke a few wallabys in an enclosure and you had to que to get in and out. Penguin enclosure was spot the one and only penguin. Train ride blink and you miss it. Bouncy castle for under 5s was full of teens!!! Anyway all in all a waste of money but our 5 year old enjoyed it that i suppose is the main thing. Wish families in school holidays had a better option but we will all continue to pay the prices set by the zoos and theme parks untill a better alternative comes up.......

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Hayley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail C, Manager at Woburn Safari Park, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Hayley J,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your day at the park, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your day.

The keepers are always on hand in each of the Road Safari sections to keep traffic moving and to ensure the safety of the visitors. Windows and doors must be kept closed for your own safety.
The animal reserves are designed specifically to the animal residents’ requirements. For example each section is big enough for the species that lives there, to reach their top speed at full run, as well as giving them enough space to roam and behave naturally, as they would in the wild.
A number of new species have been introduced to the park in the past two years, including Sable antelope, Wildebeest, Lesser Kudu in the Road Safari, plus Meerkats, Mongoose and Porcupines in the Foot Safari. In addition to this we have had several giraffe calves born just recently, and five new bear cubs arrived just last year in the Kingdom of the Carnivores.

In regards to your comments about the animals in the Foot Safari, the Australian Walkabout is home to greater rhea and red necked wallabies, where you can walk through with the animals, we have had great success with wallaby joeys this year.

At this time of year is breeding season for the Humboldt penguins so they will spend more of their time in their nests. This is also currently a time of year when the penguins are moulting, they will spend far more time on land as they shed their waterproof feathers and swim less.

We hope this goes some way to explain a few things to you and you will consider visiting us again soon.

Yours sincerely, Abi Crowley
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woburn Safari Park also viewed

 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Woburn Safari Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing