We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service with a scowl” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caprioli

Caprioli
Ranked #18 of 20 Restaurants in Woburn
Cuisines: Cafe, British
Dining options: Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Service with a scowl”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I know us club cyclists can seem like a swarm of locusts arriving at a cafe, but in this case we were about 20-strong and arrived in three separate groups.

The 'waiter'/'maitre d'/'proprietor' (don't know how he'd prefer to be addressed - 'grump-in-chief' would fit) greeted the two of us that were sat at a table by the fireplace, with "This is reserved. Sit over there". We'd missed the hand-written scrap of paper.

We were largely invisible. The air given out by the only chap we saw was that we were all an irritation and getting in the way of him doing whatever it was that he really wanted to be doing. Think a 'passive aggressive' Bernard Black or Basil Fawlty.

The couple of waitresses that we did see were cheery and polite - but didn't hold back the atmosphere exuded by the chief.

As for food - the leaf-tea was nice, and the toasted tea-cake adequate; but the scones looked small and cheap. Not overly expensive (especially for Woburn).

However - I won't set foot in the place again. Service was so poor that hopefully word will travel, it's already my anecdote-du-jour. One of our number sat outside with a cake from the shop rather than enter after visiting once in the past... why oh why didn't he tell the rest of us!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crayfishuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    6
    18
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Do not go there....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stopped here with a large group people all ordering various items of refreshment. The general consensus of opinion was very poor service, poor quality food and drink and the most miserable proprietor and staff. We made an attempt to engage, but he was sullen and un friendly - we felt unwelcome. We will not be returning!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PHB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
500 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“No service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Visited on a Saturday, it wasn't very busy. As we walked in a man came out of the kitchen we said hello, no reply .We sat in the back room near what could have been an open fire on a cold January day, the fire was unlit and the room looked like the owner was in the middle of having a clear out and had given up. We all made a choice from the limited but reasonably priced menu and waited and waited. Nothing. So we left and had a meal at the very busy pub across the road.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KAW687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Please believe those who say this place is really poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

My partner and I spend a great deal of time travelling around and always look forward to stopping off and enjoying a quality cup of coffee Surely we couldn't fail- an Italian inspired cafe serving Italian coffee and ciabatta with such delights as Mediterranean roast vegetables. The result was awful and this place gives Woburn a bad name. The cappuccino had just one shot and was as weak and bland. We were shown the bag of roasted coffee and the addition of a second shot improved things, although they clearly do NOT know how to make decent coffee. My partner ordered the ciabatta which was described as containing cheese, roasted onion, courgette and red peppers etc. It was practically inedible and was largely made up of onion and cheese. Avoid this place like the plague. Frankly I think they are just trying to save on costs. Unfortunately there are limited numbers of cafes, so I suggest you go to one of the many pubs instead. Their coffee and food has to be better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LANDOFGREYANDPINK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint, friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Food is generally good and prepared fresh.
Décor however is a bit tired and could do with some redecorating - yet this is what gives this coffee shop/restaurant its character.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank celgre177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caprioli also viewed

Woburn, Bedfordshire
 
Woburn, Bedfordshire
Woburn, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Caprioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing