We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restauranr Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bell Hotel & Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We recently visited on a Friday night with friends - just a catch up evening. We've eaten here before and the Old English Inns format is repeated so often we more or less knew the menu type.

The restaurant is over the road from the hotel and really is a pub diner with a little more panache. It’s a nice dining room with a small bar next to it. I’m guessing most diners are not hotels guests, and it’s a nice place for a dinner out for moderate cost - circa £25/head with drinks.

In the main both the service and the food were good. The ladies' blackcurrant crumbles were an anomaly being mainly filled with gooseberries and one being near cremated.

I had a large gammon steak with fried eggs which was really enjoyable. I don’t know why they had to pout it on top of the chips so I had to rummage around though. The beer was lovely - Abbott Ale, one of my favourites - so glad I wasn’t the driver that evening.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TrevMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

We recently went to the Bell Inn for lunch (4 ladies). We had such wonderful service by a lady called Yvonne, I felt I had to write this review. She was very attentive and had a good knowledge of the items on the menu. The food was very nice and well presented.

Will definitely return.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Morgan7Bedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We do value all feedback and work hard to maintain good service to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

After looking at some of the previous reviews was slightly concerned but was in for a truly special and good surprise. The inn was very easy to find , the staff were lovely, especially the kind woman , who served the most delicious breakfast! The bedroom I stayed in was really nice with a nice ensuite bathroom ! All in all a really nice stay for the weekend ! I would defiantly recommend this hotel to any of my friends .

One thing be aware thou if you book on-line al thou the on-line booking form takes your card details and it looks like you have paid for your stay in advance please be aware that you will not be charged for the hotel at the time of booking but will be charged for your stay after you have stayed so need your credit/debit card with you when you check out! This is not made clear at the time of booking!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quiet side of the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Small but comfortable room with all the facilities you would need including free WiFi. Parking at the rear of the holet can be limited at busy times but there is an additional car park opposite behind the pub that shares the same name as the hotel. Food is served in the pub and is OK as pub food goes but not up to the standard of some of the other restaurants in Woburn. Overall, great value and I will definitely stay at the Bell Hotel & Inn in Woburn again.

Room Tip: Book well in advance to get the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChallengerSRT8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Were fortunate enough to be invited to play at Woburn GC and instead of the long drive there and back decided to stay the night before.

Was surprised at how reasonably priced the Bell was, so my playing partner and I instead of sharing had seperate double rooms which were both clean and comfortable with en-suites. The staff were friendly and inviting, and dinner in the restaurant was again great value for money, plus had a few drinks afterwards in the bar which was pleasant.

Breakfast in the morning was again very good having a nice home cooked english breakfast.

If you are looking for out and out luxury the Bell is probably not the place for you, but if you want an independent hotel that is a little quirky and offers comfortable rooms and great value for money, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: The hotel has rooms on both sides of the street and we stayed above the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollymuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

On balance, pretty dreadful. I understand this is an old property and there is little than can be done about squeaky floorboards and ill-fitting windows. But on the night I was there, the blind in the bathroom was stuck open and the TV didn't work at all. And, incredibly, the kitchen wasn't able to make me a sandwich. I asked politely for one and I was shown the menu and told: "That's all we do!" They did a number of things but not, apparently, sandwiches! Add to this the dirty carpets in the common parts, and the fact that the reception hardly ever seemed to be manned, and it will be an easy decision not to go The Bell Hotel ever again. I did get a decent pint of IPA in the bar though!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Steve49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Thankyou for your feedback. Our sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us; we do everything to ensure that our customers are happy and I regret that this time we were not able to meet our usual high standards. In relation to the television and the blind, staff are happy to help sort any problems or queries you may have, and we do our utmost to keep the rooms in good maintenance, but regrettably in this instance we were unable to do so. As we are only a small hotel it is sometimes unnecessary to have a receptionist on hand at all times, but our bar and restaurant staff are fully trained to help you with any enquiries or issues. Our public areas are cleaned every day and a recent refurbishment means that all carpets are to a good quality, and again, my apologies if this did not meet the appropriate standards. In regards to our menu, sandwiches are served at lunchtimes and up to 5pm; we endeavour to cater for all of our guests needs, and can only apologise for the abrupt manner in which your request was declined. Again, many thanks for your feedback; all of your comments will be taken on board for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

The "Bell", unusually, is on both sides of Bedford Road, the village street in Woburn, up at the north end as you come from the village's central square. Woburn's a really characterful "chocolate box" village - a distinctly upmarket and rather posh spot, as befits somewhere on the outer fringe of London commuter-land, and next to the Duke of Bedford's ancestral mansion. Not a good place if you rely on public transport, though - only 4-5 buses each way per day!

The hotel is part of a large chain of pubs and hotels, mainly in the southern half of England, and it was noticeable that it lacked a "mine host" figure. Indeed, I got the impression that it was run on a bit of a shoe-string staff-wise; there was frequently no one around either at the reception desk or around the bar during the day, and the staff in the restaurant seemed very stretched and rushed when the place was busy.

But that certainly didn't lead to bad service. On the contrary, from the moment we arrived the staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful: we were shown round, warned where we needed to duck on the stairs - the hotel's a very old building with timber beams, very pleasantly and appropriately refurbished - and even when the restaurant was at its busiest we got everything that we requested quickly and with a smile. And the room was cleaned daily by cheerful, friendly and efficient people.

Our room was in the section on the right hand side of the main street as you approach from the village's central square, which is the part where the bar and restaurant are. Very pleasant bedroom, with tea, coffee and biscuits provided for guests to use as and when they wished, and an en-suite shower/bathroom: very clean, and extremely comfortable beds. A bit noisy at night, with the traffic on the main road immediately outside and the outdoor drinking area at the back; but the front window had a sliding double glazing unit to deaden sound, you could quell the noise from the happy drinkers at the back by shutting the bathroom door, and both quietened down pretty quickly after 11:00 pm.

A very varied menu in the restaurant; not perhaps that exotic, and with one or two limitations - peas, for instance, seemed to be the only vegetable other than potatoes on the night that we ate there. But there was a very competitive "two main courses for £10:45" deal, aimed at couples, on three or four items on the menu, with certain starters and sweets reduced to £2:50 each, which meant that you could get three courses for just over £10. All hot and really nicely cooked and presented without too much delay, even though they were really busy.

And the best range of breakfast alternatives that I've ever had in a hotel or b & b. As well as the usual "full English" or eggs done whichever way you prefer, there were unusual alternatives like eggs benedict, ham and egg with cheese sauce, kippers and filled omelettes. The b & b element cost us £65 each - at the pricier end compared with the smaller b & b's that we usually use, but good value for what we got; and the keen price of the evening meal and the fact that we didn't have to go out to find somewhere at night was a considerable compensation.

I'd recommend the "Bell" very happily to anyone, based on our experience. My only warning would be to watch the taps - they're fine when you've learned how they work, but until you do they can play you up! - and be careful with the hot water, which is invariably scalding without even having to run the water first.

And if you travel to Woburn by car, avoid Milton Keynes - we reckoned the road signs on its featureless roads were a conspiracy designed to make you despair of ever finding the way out. Our theory is that they want you to stay in the town for ever - or at least until your money's run out!

Not bad at all if those are the only warning shots!

Room Tip: If noise worries you, try to get a room in the part of the hotel across the road from the bar/restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DynSaesneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

We are really please that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woburn
0.2 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
625 reviews
0 mi away
Longs Inn Hotel
Longs Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woburn
244 reviews
5.1 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Moore Place Hotel
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
8.8 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes
Mercure Milton Keynes
#3 of 35 in Milton Keynes
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel & Inn

Address: 21 Bedford Street, Woburn MK17 9QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Woburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Price Range: £56 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Hotel & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bell Hotel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Woburn
The Bell Hotel And Inn
Bell Hotel Woburn
The Bell Hotel & Inn Woburn, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing