We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bell Hotel & Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

went on an 'old english inns' weekend away. Fantastic choice! village is very pretty and peaceful. Hotel is on one side of road with bar and restuarant opposite, works really well. Staff from beginning to end were very friendly, polite and couldnt have been more helpful. Bar and restaurant offers excellent, good quality food at fantastic prices.Hotel itself was very quiet and peaceful, ideal for relaxing night away. Room bit on the small side but fine for a couple. Both room and bathroom were extremely clean and very cosy.Really lovely venue, would highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfletc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    90
    81
    50
    44
See reviews for
55
148
16
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We called into the Bell Inn for a drink and simple sandwich lunch while staying in Woburn at another hotel. We ordered a pint and a pot of tea. After about 10 minutes we had to repeat order the pint as it had not arrived, bit strange in a pub! We ordered simply two sandwiches: one ham and one salmon and prawn. When they came there was no salmon on the open sandwich at all, when this was pointed out, instead of handling the complaint well the waiter checked the menu to see if it was supposed to include salmon, then took it away to 'check with the chef'! The sandwich was brought back with salmon added. For over £5 for the sandwich it was bad value with one slice of bread, defrosted tastless prawns and what tasted like bought -in 1000 island dressing. The ham sandwich was ok but not generous for £4.50. When we paid for the bill we were asked if we wanted a receipt, which we did not need, but we did not realise that they meant the credit card receipt - never knew that this was optional! So we had to ask for it. Strange experience and would put me off going there for full meal.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thompsonandthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to Bell Inn. We are sorry that your recent experience was not up to our normal standards. I have discussed the issues raised with our Head chef to ensure that this does not happen again for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Simple Sunday roast. Beef like shoe leather and Yorkshire puddings unedible. We were asked if the meal was ok as we started. Veg and potatoes ok. At end of meal we were asked if we enjoyed our dinner. We said that we did not, however because we were already asked that was that. Will not be going back

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write us your review and please accept our sincere apologies for your recent experience, we strive to serve the best meals and give our customers the best offers. Please be assured that your experience doesn't reflect the standards we set for ourselves and hope you'll give the Bell another chance, as I'm sure we'll be able to impress you positively on future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darkest suffolk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We booked a weekend away for my wifes birthday. £99 for 2 nights bed and breakfast. What a great choice. Lovely village with the Bell Hotel on one side of the road with the bedrooms and the Bell Inn opposite for food and drink. Yes, it does work and work well. Food is of an excellent quality, range and price, the serving staff are delightful and the setting superb.
Congratulations to the lady who served at breakfast on both days - well done, you are an asset to the Company. Old English Inns - we will be booking this again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank locoman20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We do value all feedback and work hard to maintain good service to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

At the Inn. We were a group of 6 in Woburn and saw the two main meals for £10.45, served all day. Seemed ideal for family lunch and we found nothing was too much trouble to the three waitresses, they organised a table and adjusted the lights helped with the wifi... The food was excellent value for money. (Service beat that at Woburn Abbey hands down!)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We recently visited on a Friday night with friends - just a catch up evening. We've eaten here before and the Old English Inns format is repeated so often we more or less knew the menu type.

The restaurant is over the road from the hotel and really is a pub diner with a little more panache. It’s a nice dining room with a small bar next to it. I’m guessing most diners are not hotels guests, and it’s a nice place for a dinner out for moderate cost - circa £25/head with drinks.

In the main both the service and the food were good. The ladies' blackcurrant crumbles were an anomaly being mainly filled with gooseberries and one being near cremated.

I had a large gammon steak with fried eggs which was really enjoyable. I don’t know why they had to pout it on top of the chips so I had to rummage around though. The beer was lovely - Abbott Ale, one of my favourites - so glad I wasn’t the driver that evening.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We recently went to the Bell Inn for lunch (4 ladies). We had such wonderful service by a lady called Yvonne, I felt I had to write this review. She was very attentive and had a good knowledge of the items on the menu. The food was very nice and well presented.

Will definitely return.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Morgan7Bedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We do value all feedback and work hard to maintain good service to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woburn
0.0 mi away
Longs Inn Hotel
Longs Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moore Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel
5.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel & Inn

Property: The Bell Hotel & Inn
Address: 21 Bedford Street, Woburn MK17 9QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Woburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Hotel & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bell Hotel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel And Inn
The Bell Hotel Woburn
Bell Hotel Woburn
The Bell Hotel & Inn Woburn, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing