We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was like a broom cupboard and stank of damp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bell Hotel & Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a wedding so thankfully spent very little time in it. The room was very cramped and the bathroom was minute, but the worst thing was the overpowering smell of damp in the room. We have returned home and everything we had in the room now stinks of damp or whatever the smell was. I would never stay here again. Also, my friend booked a room at the same time as us which was also small and smelly but they were charged £40 more than us. They challenged reception about this there was no explanation or offer of a refund.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJK299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for your review and we are sorry you did not enjoy your room. Our apologies if the rooms had a 'smell of damp', but as you may appreciate it being a 17th Century hotel and inn our room classifications are based on character rather than size.
In regards to the different rates, you and your friends may have booked your rooms at different times, giving you different rates.
We hope you will visit us again and that next time your stay is comfortable in all aspects.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

We booked a 'feature room' at this hotel online and indeed when we arrived we were told that we had got a feature room. When we were shown to our room we were excited to see that it said 'Woburn Suite' on the door - but what a disappointment!
It was one of the smallest rooms we have ever stayed in - how they can call it a suite I don't know! There wasn't even space for a bedside table at the side of the bed and the door only just opened, pushing against the side of the bed.
We were at the front of the building and it was very noisy from the bar/restaurant underneath. You could actually hear what people were saying.
I rang reception and asked if we could move rooms due to the noise and the size of the room. I was told that the hotel was full so this wasn't possible. I was informed that most people leave the restaurant by 10pm so the noise shouldn't be a problem, this turned out to be correct and we had a good nights sleep.
The breakfast in the morning was very nice and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.
On checking out we were asked if everything had been ok, so we told him that we were not happy with the size of the room and asked why it was described as a feature room and a suite when clearly it was neither. He said that the head office decided how to classify the rooms but did reduce our rate from £85 for the night to £65 (which is the corporate rate).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thankyou for your review and kind comments about our service. Our apologies if the room was not to standard, as you may appreciate being a 17th Century hotel and inn our room classifications are based on character rather than size. We hope you visit us again and that next time your stay is comfortable in all aspects.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

I've used this hotel on numerous occasions and would stay again. However there are plenty of issues, you can't sit on the toilet properly as the bathroom is to cramped and the side of the toilet is tight against the wall! The wifi is really slow which is frustrating when on business trips. The bar and restaurant is the other side of a busy road and I have suggested a zebra crossing is required. You need your wits about you when you cross. Other than that its better than most in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Appleshag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thankyou for your comments and thankyou for your repeat custom. You'll be happy to know there is now a zebra crossing closer to the hotel now! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

What a great stay I had here. Was visiting from Australia for a friends wedding. The hotel room I stayed in was clean, well appointed and very comfortable. The breakfast is an absolute bonus. A great choice from the menu as well as small buffet along with a friendly staff made the stay here an added bonus to a fantastic weekend. Many thanks to Dan and his team. You are on my list for my next visit.

Room Tip: The road noise is not bad, but would suggest a room to the rear. I had come from Heathrow early in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ians_Traveladventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed over the Bank Holiday weekend and got a super price of £59.80 for 2 nights B & B for us both. Lovely village, very green and leafy location. The rooms are fine , bed comfy. We had room at front but the traffic noise ceased about 11pm. Food was lovely, good value !staff were all very friendly, cooked breakfast great on the Sunday, but dissapointed on the Monday, hubby asked for tomato omlette, it came out with the tomato cut in half placed on top of the omlette !
We asked for extra pillows and they were there in our room straight away, service in restaraunt was great !!! I would certainly stay again.
We went to the Sarafri park, weather was great so we thought it would be packed but it was lovely, we did the car safari, then the foot safari and then went round again later in the afternoon which was much quieter and you coud spend more time watching the animals. Shame some people cant read and thought it ok to go through the big cat area with their arms out of the windows taking photos !!! All in all lovely weekend, weather was kind to us, good time had by all !

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikkikev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Thankyou for your kind comments regarding your stay. Our apologies for the disappointing breakfast on your second morning, this issue has been rectified and will not be an issue in future. we hope to see you agaon soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

What a superb hotel! Everything was excellent. The room was nicely furnished, and reasonably spacious for a single. The comfortable bed was three quarter size and the linen of good quality. The only small niggle I had was that only 2 coat hangers were provided and there wasn't enough drawer space. The room wss equipped with the usual brew facilities, freeview TV and en-suite Staff were pleasant and efficient.

Food really good and not over priced.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigger41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Thankyou for your kind comments regarding your stay here at The Bell. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stayed over bank holiday can only say everything was very good. The Staff were all friendly and helpful,,The Room although was on the front of the building was good and did not notice any traffic noise. Breakfast was really good (although the oached eggs were over cooked..
Great location in lovely countryside. Plenty to do in the area Locally The safari Park and Woburn Abbey Shopping at Milton Keynes.Went to Wasddesdon National Trust about 45 Minutes away well worth the journey. Definately want to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Thankyou for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We will be pleased to have you stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woburn
0.0 mi away
Longs Inn Hotel
Longs Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woburn
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
591 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Moore Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
7.7 mi away
The Knife & Cleaver
The Knife & Cleaver
#1 of 1 in Houghton Conquest
451 reviews
5.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel & Inn

Address: 21 Bedford Street, Woburn MK17 9QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Woburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Price Range: £58 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Hotel & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Bell Hotel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel And Inn
The Bell Hotel Woburn
Bell Hotel Woburn
The Bell Hotel & Inn Woburn, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing