We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good value for a lot of money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bell Hotel & Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Reviewed 14 July 2008

The Bell Hotel and Inn is an absolute rip off, they charge £100 for a night and they don't offer anything special. The rooms are small and dated and so close together you can hear the next room neighbours snore, he doors were too short so there was a draft and you could hear the people upstairs use the toilet.
To add a lovely touch, i didn't have any hot water throughout my stay and when i complained on departured was offered a 'sincere apology' but not much else.
Not a very customer service orientated hotel.
I only ended up in this mediocre hotel cos the Magpies (lovely hotel and very good value for money) across the road was fully booked, which was a real shame.
Would not reccomend the Bell hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogelius77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2007

If you are after a comfortable stay, then this is a good hotel. It's a strange setup with the hotel being one side of the road and the bar/restaurant the other - so if you are planning on having drinks in your room, be prepared to have to cross a busy road with a tray! The lady on reception seemed to run the bar, hotel and did morning breakfasts and was rushed off her feet but did a grand job running back and forth. Downside to the room was that it was noisy being road facing. The bathroom was decent size but unfortunately the shower curtain only just skimmed the top of the bath, soaking the floor when you took a shower. Also, the fan in bathroom made an appalling noise and didn't cut off for about 15 minutes after you used the bathroom and there were no batteries in the tv remote. Good points about the room - spacious, really good facilities - tea/coffee making, iron, big wardrobe with hangers, hairdryer and very comfortable beds! Breakfast was also first class. Not sure it's worth £95 a night but if you do a last minute deal you can get a very good discount.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank alouayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2007

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel on a Friday night. We were staying in one of the larger rooms above the pub/restaurant (the hotel is split in two half on each side of the road)
We arrived and checked in fine, we were shown to our rooms (mind your head as there as lots of low ceilings) Our room was adequate at first glance although the ceilings were very low and we had to duck going from the bedroom to the bathroom. It was a small room, made smaller by the very large bed frame but looked quite quaint. One slight downfall was that the room was on a slant!! in fact we found it quite funny but some may not of enjoyed it!.
We decided not to eat in the restaurant and take a walk around Woburn so I can comment on the evening meals. I can Highly recommend the Italian Sapori the food was to die for!!!!
We went back to The Bell Hotel & Inn for drinks after dinner. It was quite quiet but very nice and reasonably priced.
In the morning we went down for breakfast. It was very nice and lots to chose from but it was not very well organised and we had to wait a while.
All in all we had a nice stay, i wouldn't suggest a long stay there but for the odd night it was quite nice. Woburn is a beautiful place and there is lots to do and see nearby

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nightsky224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2006

£40 for a single room... inc a very good breakfast

If I'd spent £60+ then I would have complained about the single room... the smallest bedroom on the planet.

Staff were friendly and the room was clean... so I have to say great value... but if you stay just make sure you don't get the 'tiny' room!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sunderland, UK
25
Reviewed 7 July 2006

I stayed here on business for one night. The hotel and Inn are actually across the road from each other, although I didn't find this to be a problem. The Inn itself is a typical country pub with delusions of grandeur judging by the prices it charges for evening meals and breakfasts.
The Hotel is creaky with narrow corridors, and huge differences between room sizes (not reflected in the costs). A colleague of mine had a room little bigger than a broom cupboard. My room was small, but not too uncomfortable.

The staff are friendly and efficient, but the hotel is definitely nothing special.

P.S. It seems to be a mobile phone black-spot - beware!

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2006

This Hotel deserves a review. Upon arrival, all the hotel staff were friendly and chatty and all necessary documentation was efficiently completed. The room itself (we opted for the standard double) was quiet, spacious and immaculate throughout. Tea and coffee facilities were supplied together with a packet of jaffa cakes, which was a nice surprise!

The menu was varied and original with a large range of vegetarian options. The breakfast choise was extensive.

My only criticisms are that the space between courses are a bit rushed and it's a shame the Inn & Hotel aren't joined, but apart from that, I'd defintely stay here again. It had a great atmos, and I felt it's great for all ages.

Unless it's a very special occasion (e.g. honeymoon), I would urge anybody visiting Woburn to stay here. Considering the location, the prices are very reasonable (www.laterooms.com had the best deal.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank RJD1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: con vista sul retro piano alto
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pretisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woburn
0.2 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
618 reviews
0 mi away
Longs Inn Hotel
Longs Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woburn
238 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Moore Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel
5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel & Inn

Address: 21 Bedford Street, Woburn MK17 9QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Woburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Price Range: £45 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Hotel & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Bell Hotel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Woburn
The Bell Hotel And Inn
Bell Hotel Woburn
The Bell Hotel & Inn Woburn, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing