We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Family Sunday Lunch” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bell Hotel & Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bell Hotel & Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing Family Sunday Lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Eleven of us visited the Bell Inn restaurant for Sunday lunch on the 9th Feb at 1pm. The pub itself was nicely decorated and had a cosy atmosphere. On ordering our drinks we were surprised to be told that the bar did not have Martini, or not enough for a full measure according to the waitress! The restaurant had a very large menu at very reasonable prices and so we were looking forward to our meal. After spending some considerable time perusing the menu we made our choices. Unfortunately for us when the waitress took our order several of the meals were sold out. It would have been helpful to have known this before we began! Our children wanted to order fish and chips from the child's menu but this had sold out. We asked if the chef would cook a large fish and cut it in half so the children could share it but the waitress explained that the chef would not even consider doing this. The food that we had was ok, although the pork belly came without its sauce. Our empty glasses were not cleared from our table and so we barely had room for our plates. When it came to dessert, suprise, surprise several of the options were unavailable and they had even run out of custard! We spoke with a very nice waitress when paying our bill and told her our concerns, she explained that they were only allowed to stock a certain amount of food per week hence the lack of it! I suggest they cut down their menu size and improve their staff training. We shan't be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greeneyes0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank-you for taking the time out of your day to shave your thoughts about our hotel. As a new team at the hotel, we do recognise that there are certain issues that need addressing. However, it delights me to say a training plan and hotel improvement plan has since been rolled out for both the team and hotel in order for improvements to be made. We do take all feedback seriously whether good or bad, as feedback like yours enables us to improve our offering for future guests. Rest assured your thoughts will be shared with the whole team.


The team and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Deepak T.N.
General Manager

The Bell Hotel, Woburn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    88
    81
    49
    41
See reviews for
53
143
16
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have just come back from the bell inn, and we had a fabulous break away. We had read reviews before we went and was a bit worried. The hotel has recently been taken over by Deepak and he is doing a grand job, rooms very clean and spacious, we ate in restaurant both nights and the food was fantastic, very tasty, plenty to choose from and great value for money. Breakfast was very nice, waitress was lovely, couldn't do enough for you. Great location. All in all a fabulous weekend away. Don't read old reviews, the bell inn is definitely worth a visit and we would definitely return in near future.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parker1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to see that you had a lovely time with us at the Bell Hotel and we will be delighted to have you back again.


Thank you very much for the positive feedback!




Deepak T.N.
General Manager

The Bell Hotel, Woburn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at the Bell for a wedding, booked 3 rooms. We all had a really pleasant stay and a lovely breakfast. All the rooms were nice, only thing we could find was dust on the over bed lights.
Lovely buildings with lots of character, Woburn is lovely would recommend a weekend stay here.
Thank you.

Room Tip: Had 3 rooms in various places, one in each building, all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to see that you had a lovely time with us at the Bell Hotel and we will be delighted to have you back again.


Thank you very much for the positive feedback!




Deepak T.N.
General Manager

The Bell Hotel, Woburn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Considering low rates this was not a bad experience! We stayed for one night. Room clean although needed thorough dusting! Stairs in need of attention, tread missing from one stair- must be health and safety issue? Staff wonderful although receptionist appears to be 'on the run' from pub over the road! Breakfast in said pub was super and actually made our stay very good value! A cheap bed for the night at little more than the price of a breakfast at some venues. Basically you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank-you for taking the time out of your day to shave your thoughts about our hotel. As a new team at the hotel, we do recognise that there are certain issues that need addressing. However, it delights me to say a training plan and hotel improvement plan has since been rolled out for both the team and hotel in order for improvements to be made. We do take all feedback seriously whether good or bad, as feedback like yours enables us to improve our offering for future guests. Rest assured your thoughts will be shared with the whole team.


The team and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Deepak T.N.
General Manager

The Bell Hotel, Woburn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

My room at the back was comfortable, clean and quiet with a good bathroom (shower). Breakfast good. Plenty of parking space. I would certainly use it again. Excellent value at £30 for a single room including breakfast.

The pub is on one side of the road and the hotel on the other. This is no problem except you are not sure where to check in. Nobody was on the hotel reception, but there is a small sign telling you to ring a number on the phone. Please make the sign BIGGER and put it next to the phone because it took me some time to notice it. As soon as I rang, someone came immediately

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAVE64SOON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Bell Inn and we're happy to see you enjoyed your stay and we haven't troubled you too much by not having the reception manned at all times - this is only due to having a very quiet season and it's 'all hands on deck' in the pub and restaurant most of the time. Look forward to seeing you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Popped in for some lunch and was very impressed . Great meal and two main courses for £ 10.49 !!! . Do try this place you will be pleased you did. The staff are also very helpful and explain what's what on the menu. Looking forward to going again. Maybe a midweek day next time as the Friday was very busy and quite loud ,

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FastChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Glad you've enjoyed your visit in our restaurant, please remember to sign up with Old English Inns as more offers and discounts are on the way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

we stayed at the Bell for one night b&b on a golf trip to Woburn,
the bell does exactly what it says, clean rooms,ample breakfast, all for £55
for a twin room. how people on tripadvisor can complain at £27.50 per person complete with
a full cooked breakfast I do not know.we had 3 rooms in total,no complaints,good staff
definitely will return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjw5650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for you comments and hope to see you again soon! (maybe we'll have some better weather next time too)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woburn
0.0 mi away
Longs Inn Hotel
Longs Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moore Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel
5.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel & Inn

Property: The Bell Hotel & Inn
Address: 21 Bedford Street, Woburn MK17 9QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Woburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Hotel & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bell Hotel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel And Inn
The Bell Hotel Woburn
Bell Hotel Woburn
The Bell Hotel & Inn Woburn, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing