We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just for drinks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bell Hotel & Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Having been to the Bell for a drink and a snack before ,we decided to go for a Sunday drink whilst passing. The place is pleasant enough and has a good Car Park at the rear with plenty of outside seating. Service was prompt and friendly but the choice of drinks was limited and the Strongbow didn't seem up to it's usual quality.
The glasses should also be checked as one of the ones we had had multiple scratches on it even though it was clean.
We noticed a few people went in but came out again without buying. Could not say why though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank-you for taking the time out of your day to shave your thoughts about our hotel. As a new team at the hotel, we do recognise that there are certain issues that need addressing. However, it delights me to say a training plan and hotel improvement plan has since been rolled out for both the team and hotel in order for improvements to be made. We do take all feedback seriously whether good or bad, as feedback like yours enables us to improve our offering for future guests. Rest assured your thoughts will be shared with the whole team.


The team and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Deepak T.N.
General Manager

The Bell Hotel, Woburn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Today was the third time visiting the Bell for lunch on a Sunday,it was also the third time being dealt with by a very rude waitress.Collected the plates,there was no 'was everything alright or thank you'.Waitress with the long curly blond hair I think you need a course in politeness and customer service! Your manner lets the pub down badly!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank christine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear guest,

We are very pleased to see that you had a lovely time with us at the Bell Hotel and we will be delighted to have you back again.


Thank you very much for the positive feedback!




Deepak T.N.
General Manager

The Bell Hotel, Woburn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Although room not ready on arrival, we were offered a choice of tea/coffee whilst we waited and then offered a free dessert with dinner - which impressed us greatly as were just happy to sit and wait in the very welcoming reception lounge. The double room we had suited our needs and was very comfortable and clean albeit due now for some re-decoration. The choice at breakfast was quite pleasantly surprising and sets the bar for other chains to match. It was freshly cooked and hearty.Overall, the special offer we had was excellent for a 2 night break with breakfast and we would certainly choose to stay here again when visiting the area and look forward to seeing the change the new management will bring.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pg_deane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear guest,

We are very pleased to see that you had a lovely time with us at the Bell Hotel and we will be delighted to have you back again.


Thank you very much for the positive feedback!




Deepak T.N.
General Manager

The Bell Hotel, Woburn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is one of the worst places I have ever stayed in.For £95 I got a small pokey room with wafer thin walls and the window rattled all night. Room 3
Food. Dinner and breakfast awful. Soup tasteless, porridge inedible, bacon like leather
Beer. Flat
Service. No interest
Decor. Stains, food crumbs and dust on the chairs in the restaurant. HP sauce with congeiled sauce round the top. Hygiene - Nil
I stay in the area on a regular basis but never will I set foot into this poorly managed, dirty place

Room Tip: Don't Book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peteshillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank-you for taking the time out of your day to shave your thoughts about our hotel. As a new team at the hotel, we do recognise that there are certain issues that need addressing. However, it delights me to say a training plan and hotel improvement plan has since been rolled out for both the team and hotel in order for improvements to be made. We do take all feedback seriously whether good or bad, as feedback like yours enables us to improve our offering for future guests. Rest assured your thoughts will be shared with the whole team.


The team and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Deepak T.N.
General Manager

The Bell Hotel, Woburn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stayed here on business a few weeks back, working in MK the next day. The hotel was very easy to find, or rather the associated pub was; the hotel is actually on the opposite side of the road, but I don't think the desk is always manned in the evening so it's best to head over to the bar.

My room was quiet and clean, there were just a couple of issues but I wouldn't expect these to recur on another visit -

* the room smelled like it had been deep cleaned, and the window was open - therefore it was cold - brr! Admittedly it's my own fault that I didn't check the window before going to bed and didn't actually find out that it was open until the next morning... but the staff could have pointed this out, or indeed nipped up and shut the window...
* shower was a bit broken, so there was some loss of pressure and a haphazard dispersion pattern (you shower enthusiasts out there will know what I mean).

Anyway, I'm being picky here; for the price this hotel is lovely. I've stayed in much worse and paid more for the privilege.

I arrived quite late and their pub/restaurant stops serving food at 9.30PM, so I nipped over for some food, which was very good and reasonably priced too. Then back to sleep, over to the restaurant again for breakfast which was good too; easy checkout, and off to work.

So this is a bit of a non-review in a way, "everything satisfactory" sums it up. At this price you're in Premier Inn territory, and given the choice between the Bell and a Premier Inn, I'd take the Bell any day. There are some extra perks for business travellers too - free wifi and two private car parks. Just allow a bit of extra time to get into MK in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mantovani_Stankovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear guest,

We are very pleased to see that you had a lovely time with us at the Bell Hotel and we will be delighted to have you back again.


Thank you very much for the positive feedback!




Deepak T.N.
General Manager

The Bell Hotel, Woburn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Eleven of us visited the Bell Inn restaurant for Sunday lunch on the 9th Feb at 1pm. The pub itself was nicely decorated and had a cosy atmosphere. On ordering our drinks we were surprised to be told that the bar did not have Martini, or not enough for a full measure according to the waitress! The restaurant had a very large menu at very reasonable prices and so we were looking forward to our meal. After spending some considerable time perusing the menu we made our choices. Unfortunately for us when the waitress took our order several of the meals were sold out. It would have been helpful to have known this before we began! Our children wanted to order fish and chips from the child's menu but this had sold out. We asked if the chef would cook a large fish and cut it in half so the children could share it but the waitress explained that the chef would not even consider doing this. The food that we had was ok, although the pork belly came without its sauce. Our empty glasses were not cleared from our table and so we barely had room for our plates. When it came to dessert, suprise, surprise several of the options were unavailable and they had even run out of custard! We spoke with a very nice waitress when paying our bill and told her our concerns, she explained that they were only allowed to stock a certain amount of food per week hence the lack of it! I suggest they cut down their menu size and improve their staff training. We shan't be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greeneyes0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank-you for taking the time out of your day to shave your thoughts about our hotel. As a new team at the hotel, we do recognise that there are certain issues that need addressing. However, it delights me to say a training plan and hotel improvement plan has since been rolled out for both the team and hotel in order for improvements to be made. We do take all feedback seriously whether good or bad, as feedback like yours enables us to improve our offering for future guests. Rest assured your thoughts will be shared with the whole team.


The team and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Deepak T.N.
General Manager

The Bell Hotel, Woburn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have just come back from the bell inn, and we had a fabulous break away. We had read reviews before we went and was a bit worried. The hotel has recently been taken over by Deepak and he is doing a grand job, rooms very clean and spacious, we ate in restaurant both nights and the food was fantastic, very tasty, plenty to choose from and great value for money. Breakfast was very nice, waitress was lovely, couldn't do enough for you. Great location. All in all a fabulous weekend away. Don't read old reviews, the bell inn is definitely worth a visit and we would definitely return in near future.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parker1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear guest,

We are very pleased to see that you had a lovely time with us at the Bell Hotel and we will be delighted to have you back again.


Thank you very much for the positive feedback!




Deepak T.N.
General Manager

The Bell Hotel, Woburn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woburn
0.0 mi away
Longs Inn Hotel
Longs Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woburn
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
601 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Moore Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
7.7 mi away
The Knife & Cleaver
The Knife & Cleaver
#1 of 1 in Houghton Conquest
454 reviews
5.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel & Inn

Address: 21 Bedford Street, Woburn MK17 9QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Woburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Price Range: £46 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Hotel & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your The Bell Hotel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Woburn
The Bell Hotel And Inn
Bell Hotel Woburn
The Bell Hotel & Inn Woburn, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing