We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bell Hotel & Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
witham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“fabulous”
Reviewed 18 September 2009

what lovely staff, friendly and efficient .
Lovely food well done all.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisywitham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    94
    84
    56
    49
See reviews for
57
156
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We were here for one night for a wedding nearby. The room was clean, small (I think they would prefer to say full of character!) but was what we were looking for. On arrival there was only one bath towel, but one arrived very promptly when we requested another. The bed was a touch lumpy, but fine. We were actually in a room over the pub and we were woken up by other guests walking past our room on the way to breakfast. I think this is the problem with staying in a character filled pub/hotel, but wasn't a massive tragedy, definitely worth bearing in mind if you are planning on staying in bed for most of the morning though. Breakfast was good, and well cooked, the buffet was a little understocked and with only one waiter, he was kept pretty busy. For the price we paid and the amount of time we were planning to stay in the room it was ideal, but I wouldn't want to stay for more than one night - or be planning a romantic night away there!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Battycaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawtry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

My boyfriend and I had decided to go to Whipsnade and Woburn as a short mid-week break and had originally planned to stay in a basic B&B with one of the main chain hotels. When looking at different prices we came across the old english inns website and this hotel. It was cheaper than any of the main stream chains so we booked it.

When we arrived it was absolutely beautiful, Woburn is a very quaint little village in its own right and The Bell fitted in with this both from the outside and the inside. The room was lovely with everything we could ask for but the icing on the cake was the bathroom which was huge!!! There was a shower, basin, loo and then in the middle of the bathroom a huge free standing bath, it was fabulous!

The staff were extremely friendly and the bar/restaurant was lovely and obviously very popular with the locals which was even more encouraging. The food both at breakfast and dinner was lovely and very reasonably priced (breakfast was included).

Overall absolutely perfect for what we wanted and exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n1csome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Although I only paid £40 for the night including a half decent breakfast the overall level of service was poor. On arrival I phoned across the road to the pub and some one checked me in and quickly dissapeared back to serve in the pub. I was given directions to my room from reception. The single room was clean,bed was uncomfortable and bathroom was miniscule with window in shower area. The place was obviously running on a shoestring and a lack of staff made it feel like very impersonal. I would only reccomend it for a cheap "bed for the night" visit,I only hope the double bedrooms are bigger and better appointed. Good venue for golf at Woburn as it is only a short drive to the course.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2009

Upon returning from our honeymoon we got into Heathrow a little later than expected. We decided to stop at Woburn on our way back up north for a bite to eat. We did a bit of a recky round and saw that the Bell looked nice & the food seemed reasonable.
The staff were very friendly and we decided to stay over so we could enjoy our meal with a drink.
As it was the end of our honeymoon we stopped in the Harold Wilson suite which is classed as a 'feature' room. Although the room was a bit on the small side there was a lovely roll top bath to enjoy. This room was above the pub part of the hotel. There are more rooms over the road in the main hotel part.
The meal in the pub was great & good value (2 for £9.95) and the breakfast the next day was really good quality and there was lots of choice (full english, eggs benedict, smoked salmon etc etc).
Well worth the money to stay over and I'm sure we'll go back as I'm a keen fan of Woburn.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mashcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Ive stayed there a few times now in the 'feature' rooms which are very clean and have differing levels of facilities from a large feature bath to quaint beams. However, on this occasion the room was adjoined to the building next door and thumping 'techno' style music was playing until gone 2am. On phoning reception to ask for help, was informed that next door was empty as it was being renovated, but clearly someone was in there without any respect or care in the world for others. Couldnt do a thing about it and woke up very unrefreshed and wont want that room again. Otherwise its a nice place, good value for money with nice food in a nice village. I recommend the hotel just not the lodge room.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stayoverLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night early February. It was in the middle of all the snowy weather, so we were unsure whether we would actually get there or not.
Arrived at about 2pm, tried to park in the Hotel car park, but got stuck in the snow (its on a hill), so reversed and parked in the pub car park. Pub is on one side of road, hotel on the other.

Before arriving I had emailed asking for a room overlooking the back, as I was aware the front could be noisy. This was agreed and we had room 16. Check in was swift. Room was small, but cosy. Bed was comfortable, with a nice thick duvet and crisp white sheets. TV was a big flatscreen with loads of Satellite channels - more than any hotel. Tea and Coffee etc with biscuits. Bathroom was basic, small but enough for 1 night. Overall yes it was small, but for one night it was fine - cosy. The heater did its job, and we were never cold.

We had lunch/snack and breakfast at the pub over the road. Was quiet due to the weather, but food was nice and reasonably priced.

Was expecting the road between pub and hotel to be like an F1 road, from other reviewers, but it was fine. Literally less than a minute door to door.

Paid £20 each for bed and breakfast and had a lovely time. For that price was very nice.

Would go again.

  • Liked — The breakfast and the cosy room
  • Disliked — Bathroom was bit tired and could have been bigger!
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strawberry_Mojito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woburn
0.0 mi away
Longs Inn Hotel
Longs Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woburn
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
578 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Moore Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
5.1 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
5.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel & Inn

Property: The Bell Hotel & Inn
Address: 21 Bedford Street, Woburn MK17 9QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Woburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Hotel & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bell Hotel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Woburn
The Bell Hotel And Inn
Bell Hotel Woburn
The Bell Hotel & Inn Woburn, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing