We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
75
110
91
68
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
110
91
68
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews woburn abbey hotel building roll top bath breakfast is served safari park bletchley park bed was comfortable high street stayed for one night mains
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 402 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We were in Woburn for the day doing some shopping and thought we would visit The Bell for some pub style lunch, we are regulars at Green King pubs where we live so we know what to expect with the food. We found the staff here really rude indeed, grumpy when taking our order, and just a huge put off overall. We couldn't wait to just finish our food and leave. The atmosphere was awful, the tables were sticky and we were constantly being attacked by flies and a wasp. Sticky tables i can deal with but rudeness from the staff is not what you expect when paying to eat anywhere. The food was the best part of our visit. I will not bother going there to eat again when i am next in Woburn i'm afraid.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pezz555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMurray83, General Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Hello pezz555
Many thanks for the view. I am disappointed to read that your experience with us was not up to our normal standard.
I would like to discuss this further with you. Please call or email when free on 01525 290280 or 4316@greeneking.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed in Room 25 for the one night and nicely presented . Wash Basin tap dripped constantly but not an issue with the door shut . The hotel is located on either side of the road with Reception on one side and the Bar Restaurant on the other. The outside bar area could be so much nicer with some attention to the borders and perhaps some additional lighting but nice enough in the sun . The real joy was the breakfast . All our order arrived swiftly and nicely presented with the Scrambled Eggs and Smoked Salmon a particular delight . Only slight gripe , finishing at 10.30 on a Sunday is not the norm for other Greene King hotels we have stayed in . Totally get the fact you need to prepare for lunch later but even 11.00 would have made a difference . We decided on a decent walk first thing in the beautiful grounds of Woburn and it was a bit of a push to get back for that time .

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bruce-Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMurray83, General Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thanks Bruce-Sally for the review and the kind comments.
I take on board your comments about the garden area but the recent hot weather killed our potted flowers/plants!!
We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

decided to go for a well earned pint after a hard day,we also ordered a sharing platter, it was awful , we had breaded garlic mushrooms,breaded prawns, onion rings,garlic bread it all tasted the same the two dips were like water,fries had black bruising marks and Were cold,beer was expensive pint of peroni and a bottle of sparkling water £6-85, we have dined here before with no problems but we just found out it has changed hands

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ann f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMurray83, General Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Hello ann f.
Thank you for the review. Firstly the pub/restaurant has not changed hands, we are still Greene King.
Secondly I can only apologise for the poor food experience you had with us. I have raised this with the kitchen and we will be monitoring going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Always a lovely place to visit. Excellent customer service and the food is superb, especially the sandwiches. The prices are very reasonable for the quality of the food. Of all the places to eat in Woburn at lunchtime, this is the place I always choose.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMurray83, General Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Hello Tracey M. Thank you for the kind words about the customer service. I will pass this on to my team.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next lunch visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Had an enjoyable week there but be prepared for a few things such as ringing a bell for a receptionist to come from the pub across the road on arrival, no lift and steep narrow staircase. My room was a very small single ensuite in the second floor but essentially it was clean and comfortable . The hotel is in need of painting and decorating especially the entrance and doors to the hotel and the same across the road in the pub essential for first impressions for a guest where incidentally is where you have breakfast and any other meals should you desire. Perhaps maybe washing down hotel entrance to get rid of cobwebs at hotel front entrance and plants geraniums or small conifers just to make a more welcoming atmosphere . It is on a very busy main road and collects a lot of traffic film on frontage.
Food was fine good pub fare and I noticed was the only pub style restaurant on the main street which had a food hygiene rating of 5 so be aware.
Staff were friendly and helpful and the manager was exceptional in his efficiency , by the way thanks for the complimentary pint of Abbot .
I will be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: A rear room would be better to reduce traffic noise , but it is on a busy main road
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ukbobdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMurray83, General Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us ukbobdog.
We are currently making small strides in making the whole experience better from the moment you walk into the hotel and the points you have made have been addressed.
Thank you for the kind words about the staff, it is always a pleasure to share this with my team. And you are more than welcome for the pint. There will be one waiting for you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews