We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groupon Deal”
Review of City Cafe - CLOSED

City Cafe
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Nestled in the heart of Temple Quarter, with views overlooking Temple Gardens, Recess offers a wide variety of dishes that can be enjoyed at any time of the day or evening. Recess offers fantastic value with light bites, an array of burgers, salads and pasta dishes in a modern setting. The recently refurbished outdoor terrace is very popular throughout the year with young professionals and our weekend revellers, with a retractable canopy and heating for your comfort. The recent enhancements provides both lounge seating and restaurant style for you to enjoy throughout the year. Continuing on our reputation for providing excellent value and high quality food over the years in Recess, our newly appointed Head Chef's creative approach to local and international produce ensures this is at the heart of all he does. Not your typical hotel restaurant, we like to think our service and food quality speak for themselves. Ideally located for business lunches or a romantic evening out.
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Groupon Deal”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Had a fantastic meal on a groupon deal with my husband 2 saturday ago , it was the best out of all the deals.

The food was !00% we even sent a message to the chef. Deal 2 courses 2 people £16.50 it was so good i bought another on Monday when i cam to work. Customer service spot on. Very good price even with out the voucher.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaH2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    17
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always very good”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Fifth visit here and every time it is lovely. Top service, fresh delicious food with a good wine list.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matrix316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good for a hotel based cafe/restaurant”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is now part of the Hilton Garden Inn hotel. I ate lunch her with a colleague simply due to its location/convenience - I had low expectations as it was part of the hotel, and was pleasantly surprised. My salad was fresh and tasty, and the french fries were really good too. Service was friendly and attentive. There are more interesting venues around this area of Bristol, but I would recommend and return, particularly if I stay in the adjacent hotel again. It is also suited to a wide range of visitors. Not the best value cafe, I presume as it is linked to the Hotel Chain.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We had a very enjoyable meal at the City Café on 3lst May. The food and the service was perfect. Would certainly recommend this restaurant, which is conveniently placed for the City Centre, and we will visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“I heard better things about this place.”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Of course, this is now the Hilton. To be fair, I was on a package and restricted to a set menu, which was not to my taste. The first time I was there, they lost my reservation (presumably in the confusion of it being so busy) and the second time, despite it not being busy, my dessert took forever and was stale. Will not be going back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank u2fancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Cafe also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing