We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again avoid like the plague.”
Review of Royal Hotel

Royal Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hotel
Ranked #47 of 52 Bristol B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never again avoid like the plague.”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We arrived late at night after flying down for a 2 day job. Got into the room and the smell hit me straight away. Bed was ok bathroom small and cramped. On the last night we had a curry front the takeaway across the road. Back at the room went to plate up and to cut a long story short I ended up eating out of the foil container. Plates and cutlery just not clean at all. Pleased to be going home tonight. I'd rather travel 20 mile further everyday than stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    4
    13
    7
    24
See reviews for
4
8
7
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Only had a drink there once. Couldn't stand the idea of staying on. I felt unsafe having left my car outside - will it be there after my pint is quickly downed? If you really want a treat, chaps, you should try the barber shop on the station platform. Having had you hair sawn off you'll probably be glad of a shower at the Royal whatever the carpet is like. By the way I guess the hair in the showers and under the pillows is provided by the barber shop free of charge - it made me feel physically sick.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bristol hotels

Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

A colleague and me had business in Avonmouth and saw that this hotel looked ok and was cheap. It is very basic, delapidated, and in need of urgent renovation. It's like something out of a 1950's seaside boarding house, without the good points. We are fairly rough and ready blokes and it even surprised us. The restaurant ambience reminded me of sitting down to a school dinner, albeit the food was satisfactory. The rooms were very basic. The one redeeming feature was the bar wherein one could purchase copious amounts of reasonably cheap beer in order to diminish the overall experience. Stay here if price is your only consideration.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ward s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2012

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Apparently you can rent the rooms by the hour - say no more! Its filthy dirty and I had to place my suitcase by the door for security. There was no where to hang your clothes (not that you would want to stay at this place). Can't comment on the food as there was no way I would eat anything prepared here.

Like others go a junction down the motorway and book another hotel - stay away!!!

Room Tip: Book another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This hotel was dirty. The restaurant was like a transport cafe! Everything was old and shabby. Would never stay there again even if it was free. Far better hotels in the area for around the same price.

Room Tip: Don't bother!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliemaemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Stayed in this Hotel whilst working in Bristol. It is a bit of a trek to and from bristol however at the time the Bristol Hotels were showing a big lack of availability at the time.

The Room was okay Tired looking decor but the bed was reasonable and the bathroom was okay shower was powerful and it had a bath.

Breakfast was in the cafe downstairs this was also okay

The Bar is frequented by the locals and this can be a little daunting if you want a nightcap but once we had a natter they were quite cool really.
Massive DVD library available if you have a laptop with you.

Curry house over the road was excellent.

Good parking and overall my stay was okay.

Improvements would be freshen up the decor in the rooms and hallways.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is the first poor review I've ever written. I booked this hotel because it was close to where I had business the next day. As a woman travelling alone I was genuinely afraid here. It was old, dirty, the sash windows were rotten and the draft from them made the tatty thin curtains bellow. I couldn't believe where I was staying. In the end, knowing I'd never sleep, I booked a Premier Inn a junction up the motorway and I'm sitting now in a big clean bed having had a good hot bath and a nice cuppa feeling safe and warm. I'm sure there is a place for such hotels but at £50 for a night, you could get much much better. My advice would be to give the Royal Hotel a very wide berth. It felt like a homeless hostel or something like that.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t_hornbuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Bristol M5
Days Inn Bristol M5
#1 of 1 in Easton-in-Gordano
627 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Henbury Lodge Hotel
3.3 mi away
Berwick Lodge
Berwick Lodge
#2 of 5 in Almondsbury
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Bristol Cribbs Causeway
5.6 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,543 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Portishead
Travelodge Portishead
#1 of 2 in Portishead
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 28 Gloucester Road | Avonmouth, Bristol BS11 9AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing