We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Hotel

Royal Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Hotel
Ranked #47 of 51 Bristol B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I booked this hotel for 2 of my workers. They stay all over the country & are used to staying in some dodgy places. However, they have never refused to stay anywhere before. They opted to drive 2.5 hours home & back again the following morning rather than stay here. It bears no resemblance to the photo's and from outside looked derelict . Everywhere is old, dirty and smells of damp. Paint is peeling from the walls; bedding is stained & smells; net curtains & windows are black with mould; carpets are badly stained. Apparently, there is an old section and a not so old section, but both parts are unsavoury. It is situated next to a train track. Parking is difficult due to trucks parked next to the steel works. It isn't cheap at £55 for a twin room as there are others in the area for a similar cost. Manager is deluded and doesn't think the rooms are unclean or smell, so is reluctant to offer any refund. Steer well clear.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, stay somewhere other than The Royal Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    4
    13
    7
    24
See reviews for
4
8
7
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Having stayed in the Royal Hotel several times over the last few months, I feel that some of the more negative reviews posted here are a little harsh. While it's not the most modern or well decorated hotel you could stay in, it's well worth the £25 you pay for a single room. I've always found the staff both friendly and helpful. The Royal Hotel is fine if you're just looking for somewhere cheap to lay your head for a night or two with no frills.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

This hotel if that's what you would like to call it should be shut down, Very smelly everywhere, poor carpets through out hotel, very dated, poor quality of rooms, filthy shower! our overall stay was bad! Never shall i or the FIVE other people stay here again.! Disgusting!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay all rooms are bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank april h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bristol hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Ok, its not the Ritz but its a few miles from Bristol and its cheap, if you want somewhere plush then go to the Premier Inn but that'll cost you £80 a night!, what do you honestly expect for £25 a night?

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daz911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I had a really great experience at this hotel, I had travelled all the way from Liverpool for a science practical exam on Frenchay campus and was feeling really nervous. When I asked the lady at reception in the morning could she tell me how to get there for my exam she told me she would take me in her car, not only did she drive me about a 15 to 20 minute drive to the campus but she told her boss I was doing an exam and he gave me a complimentary huge bar of galaxy chocolate and bottle of water for the exam. They went out of their way to be incredibly helpful and I haven't experienced service like that in any other hotel I've ever stayed. I am incredibly grateful to them for making what was a nerve racking exam experience in a place I'd never been before really pleasant. I would recommend them.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

honestly can not stress how much i beg you not to stay here!! it is actually pathetic!! its dirty vile and staff are shocking!!

i wanted to watch T.V and it didnt have a remote so i asked reception for one and they said they would bring one up! an hour and a half later still no remote so i went back down and they had closed!! so went to bar and he said i need a remote and got told TOUGH! use the buttons on the T.V even thow it didnt have buttons!!

noise is pathetic ! everyone shouts!! i would never let my worst enemy stay here!!

ok thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaykm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We arrived late at night after flying down for a 2 day job. Got into the room and the smell hit me straight away. Bed was ok bathroom small and cramped. On the last night we had a curry front the takeaway across the road. Back at the room went to plate up and to cut a long story short I ended up eating out of the foil container. Plates and cutlery just not clean at all. Pleased to be going home tonight. I'd rather travel 20 mile further everyday than stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Henbury Lodge Hotel
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Bristol M5
Days Inn Bristol M5
#1 of 1 in Easton-in-Gordano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
41.1 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#15 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Berwick Lodge
Berwick Lodge
#2 of 5 in Almondsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Portishead Hotel
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol Cribbs Causeway (M5, J17) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 28 Gloucester Rd. | Avonmouth, Bristol BS11 9AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing