We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful and nasty place to stay - NEVER SEEN BEFORE” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Full Moon Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Full Moon Backpackers Hostel
Aachen, Germany
1 review
“Awful and nasty place to stay - NEVER SEEN BEFORE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed for two nights, which were nightmarish. Kitchen has maybe never seen a cleaning. Mattresses were nearly not usable for sleeping. And most awful: the hygienc standards of the beds were miserable. Obviously, many guests do not like to use the provided linen, so everything is in a bed condition, we even got bed bugs.
NEVER MORE!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Full M, Manager at Full Moon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 8 January 2016
Our team here at the Full Moon are naturally very disappointed to hear that your last stay with us was an unsatisfactory experience. Understandably it brings us great dissatisfaction to think that previous visitors have departed from our hostel with a less than positive opinion of our establishment. As we strive hard to ensure that each guest is guaranteed a comfortable and friendly duration of time with us, this is something we would take pleasure in resolving. Whilst our staff are always happy to try and address any complaints immediately and we always encourage feedback from our guests. It would seem that at the time you stayed with us our hostel was a very different place. Since your stay, we have undergone significant transformation. Improvements include new facilities, new décor and even complete refurbishment of some our old dormitories and rooms. We would love for you to come and see our new hostel, particularly as we have worked so hard on creating an environment which we believe is exemplary for our guests. Sincerest apologies! The Full Moon Backpackers welcome you for a return visit anytime you should wish to do so!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    34
    18
    17
    33
See reviews for
4
17
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

There seem to be a lot of negative reviews for this hostel and I am not sure why.
I have stayed here 4 or 5 times and have never had any problems.
The place is excellent value.
Maybe the other reviewers thought they were booking a hotel, not a hostel.
It is true that there can be loud music from the club nearby - but you have exactly the same problem if you stay at the Bristol YHA - But this place has free parking plus free internet access - the YHA does not have these.
It also has original Banksy art on the outside and there are several student bars and restaurants along Stokes Croft.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EricHalfaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

This is in a great location and has parking, don't think you could beat this on price. I went with my mates for a night out and this was an ideal place to stay. I don't normally stay in hostels but we opted for this option as it was cheap and central. My main issues related to the beds which were rock hard, even though i had drunk a lot I didn't get much sleep. I was also a bit worried about leaving my car outside a busy bar. I personally wouldn't want to stay there again as it is very very basic, but I guess, as its a hostel you shouldn't expect to much. If you are looking for somewhere cheap, central, and don't mind roughing it, this may be for you. However if you like even the most basic pleasures don't go.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank planiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2010

place was good, mattress quiet hards but it was fine. The area is apperantly said to be in a dodgy area of Bristol, however we liked it cause there are a couple of very good clubs in the same road.

From a negative side, the car which we parked in the hostel's parking area was scratched with a key while parked there.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DanielB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

The hostel is located close to the city centre, major shopping areas and main bus terminus. The hostel compares to your average backpacker hostel in terms of amenities and quality. I was impressed by their desire to be as environmentally friendly as possible (which fits in with Bristol's alleged 'green' image).

However there were problems. The shower block had four shower cubicles but one had a broken lock and another would flood very quickly. The kitchen was dirty and run-down. I think if the staff kept it clean then some of the visitors may have tried to keep it clean too. There was only two stools with a small table in the kitchen so don't expect to meet your fellow guests at breakfast.

There were a few stag parties staying at the hostel during our stay. These guys were incredibly noisy and had no respect for hostel etiquette. Expect loud conversations at 3am and furious departures in the morning to check out in time (banging doors, more loud conversation about how awesome it was getting blind drunk the night before). There is also a nightclub located at the rear of the hostel called the Blue Mountain. On our first night (Fri night) we had doof doof music playing until 7am! I think the club may have closed early morning but the partygoers hung around in the rear lanes until 7am, playing loud dance music from their cars. On Saturday night, the club closed at about 4am. The club also has an outdoor terrace for smokers/fresh air seekers so you can hear a lot of people talking the night away.

The bed was hard and the pillows from memory were filled with sand and reasonably comfortable. The overhead lighting in the room was a little dim though.

Despite all this, if you are looking for cheap accommodation that is close to everything then this is the place to stay. But make sure you ask reception for some free ear plugs!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dooola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

I've stayed in the full moon backpacker for couple of nights with my friend. I've read the other reviews and was a bit scared to come here but as it was weekend and everywhere else was fully booked we managed to book the last two beds in this hostel.
For me the hostel was nice suprise. I travel a lot and i've stayed in hostels all over the world. I must say i've seen much much worse places then this.
The staff were very nice and very helpful and friendly. We have checked in without problem. We were in 6bedded femele dorm.The fingerprint system was quite cool. It toke me little while to get used to it but after that i had no problem with it at all.
Our room was very clean and spacious.I found the bed very comfi. Lots of people said it's hard which is true but didn't think it was too bad. All the bedding and linnen was clean. Bathrooms were clean too. I didn't like the self catering kitchen very much though.
It was a bit noisy at night but what can you expect in city centre. It would be noisy anywhere in the centre.
I would happily come back to stay in this hostel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BedaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

Checked into hostel late avo and was met by very friendly and helpfull staff who assisted me with directions to the Banksy exhibition. We really enjoyed the fact that the hostel was over a pub which had a warm atmosphere and great food.

Stayed a couple of nights and found that it was great value for money, nice staff, clean, tidy and great location to bus station and city centre.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwiggyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Backpackers Hostel

Property: Full Moon Backpackers Hostel
Address: Stokes Croft | 1 North Street, Bristol BS1 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Eco-Friendly Backpacker Hotel situated in the heart of Bristol's lively cultural district Stokescroft, just 10 minutes walking distance from the City Centre. We are right in the heart of Stokescroft, Bristol's famous bohemian quarter. Nearby there is a host of amazing graffiti and street art, including pieces by world-renowned artists such as Banksy. There are also many great alternative cafes, bars, pubs and clubs to be found in the area. We have: -Private, Twin & Dorm Rooms -Shared Toilet & Shower facilities -Self-catering Kitchen (with communal food shelf) -Free Tea & Coffee -Free WI-FI -Free use of Computer -Guest Common Room and TV Lounge -Laundry Facilities -Luggage Storage -24 Hour Access -The Full Moon: Pub/Restaurant with Pool table and DJ Booth -The Attic Bar: Live Music Venue (Fridays/Saturdays) -Woodfired Pizza Oven (Fridays/Saturdays) -Shisha Bar -Large Courtyard/Outdoor Seating Area A gentle reminder to all our future guests - we are in a very vibrant area and have a popular and busy bar downstairs, especially over weekends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Full Moon Backpackers Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing