We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, helpful Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Full Moon Backpackers Hostel
Dorset, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great, helpful Hostel”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We used the Full Moon in Bristol for a filming location and they were very helpful and hospitable. We didn't stay in the rooms, so can't review those but the bar looked great with a good vibe. The reception area was clean, and the outdoor area had a lot of space so I imagine it's a great place to drink in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    37
    21
    17
    35
See reviews for
5
17
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Worst place you could ever stay in bristol
Beds were mingin
I didnt eat here but apparently a continental breakfast is a slice of toast and a banana provided my a rough looking bloke with no teeth.
The whole place was as dirty as a tramps underpants.
The place was very loud and there was a stag party who couldnt find there door key and kicked the door in. Then they banged out "in the army now " by status quo at 7 am as some sort of joke about the terrible conditions.
I think they got chucked out

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armyboyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Full M, Manager at Full Moon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 14 December 2015
We are very sorry to hear that your time at the Full Moon was not as enjoyable as you expected. We would always encourage our guests to inform the staff about any disturbances caused by other guests staying at the hostel. Behaviour such as you described is simply not tolerated. Likewise we encourage feedback on any problems our guests identify with facilities. Our team welcome you to come and stay with us again in the future, particularly as a great deal has changed here since the time that you were last here. We have new decor and facilities and are constantly trying to improve the hostel so that the service we provide is increasingly satisfactory for our guests.

Thanks

The Full Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bristol hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Whilst we had a good time at the bar, the hostel itself was pretty grim. There was a terrible smell throughout and the bathrooms need a lot of attention. And I got bitten by bed bugs. Need I say more?

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Full M, Manager at Full Moon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 23 December 2015
Our team are very sorry to hear that you weren't happy with your stay at the Full Moon. Likewise, any complaints of reported bed bugs are taken very seriously although in this instance we did not receive any complaint at the time. This would be a very serious issue affecting the service we aim to provide. Therefore we are very encouraging that guests please do not hesitate to let us know if they believe they have encountered this. Regardless we recognise your stay with us was quite a long time ago and if you would like to come and see all our brilliant improvements we would be more than welcoming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Eight of us had two nights in the Full Moon hostel as accommodation for a stag weekend. The hostel is well located for the city and comes with its own pub which is handy. The hostel is on a busy road by a busy junction and so it's best to park up on a backstreet, and there isn't parking at the hostel and so you either have the NCP next door for £20 per day, or backstreets with various parking restrictions.

The staff were helpful when we checked in and had various bits to rent and the room was basic but a reasonable size with four bunks and some chairs. The bed was reasonable and I used a sleeping bag because the duvet was very thin. Head-height power plugs are provided which is handy for mobiles. The pub downstairs has a popular courtyard for drinking and smoking and plays some music, and so if you want to go to sleep at 9pm on a Saturday you may well be disturbed! The pub was ok, and pretty popular. The showers and toilets were fine and reasonably clean. All in all a pretty good hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mogwai84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

It is 4am, I am in a private room in the full mon hostel and I can't sleep. for dirty pounds a night, I could be staying in a basic hotel (eg. The clifton, the,Washington). They fail to address basic issues which would take the experience from a nightmare to poor but tolerable. For example, they have actually gone to some trouble to find the most uncomfortable bed they possibly can. I think they must hate their guests, or at least enjoy laughing at,their pain. The mattress springs protrude into my flesh and the bed frame makes a loud wiry noise every time I move. What really bothers me, however, is the smell of sweaty heads that had accumulated in the lumpy pillows that have clearly never been washed. The walls have dark splatters ask over them, and there is a creaky door just outside the room that is being incessantly opened and closed (I will go and ask the reception to oil it shortly).

also, for forty pounds a night I don't like having to share a bathroom sprinkled liberally with urine (outside of the places you'd expect).

Less within the control of the owners, but still a massive nuisance is the roaring and shouting guests in the room next door.


The staff told me parking would not be a problem and that I should park next door in ncp. This would cost me forty pounds, almost as much as a parking ticket if I were to just leave my car somewhere I shouldn't. Again, out of their control but I feel misled by their info.

The reason I returned to this hostel is that last time, I had quite a basic but nice room (room 'a') with an en suite shower for exactly the same price. I am told this room had been given to 'a non paying guest who is a local artist, because he keeps setting off smoke alarms in the other rooms'. I see.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186220Ellenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Full M, Manager at Full Moon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 16 December 2015
We are very to sorry to hear about what sounds like a less than enjoyable time at the Full Moon backpackers. Our team would like to invite you for a return stay at our hostel as we feel that your description does not adequately represent the typical Full Moon experience. Much has changed since you stayed with us and we have undergone substantial refurbishment and redecoration, as well as many other improvements.

Thanks

The Full Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballywherever
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

This hostel was cheap and our room was clean, but apart from that it was a disappointment. Barely any of the showers worked and those that did were in bad repair, dirty and rusty. The staff seemed snobby and disorganised. They got our reservation wrong, and we didn't get the room we paid for (we booked a 6 person dorm just for our group of girls and got a 10 person dorm sharing with others on the second night). While the larger room was okay in the end, it was still annoying that they didn't really make any effort to get us into the right room. No seperation of male and female toilets meant a horrible drunk guy came onto my friend late at night in the toilets - you just don't want to be dealing while you're brushing your teeth! The room was okay, clean and felt fairly safe, but it was freezing cold. Threadbare and holey covers didn't fit the duvets and the mattresses weren't comfortable. It was hard to get to sleep with the combination of very cold temperature and very loud music and voices outside. I know this is a very inexpensive place / not luxury / etc etc, but I've stayed in a good few cheap hostels and this one was still pretty low on the list. Just felt like there was an overall air of neglect and not caring.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWandererReturns7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Full M, Manager at Full Moon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 8 January 2016
Our team here at the Full Moon are naturally very disappointed to hear that your last stay with us was an unsatisfactory experience. Understandably it brings us great dissatisfaction to think that previous visitors have departed from our hostel with a less than positive opinion of our establishment. As we strive hard to ensure that each guest is guaranteed a comfortable and friendly duration of time with us, this is something we would take pleasure in resolving. Whilst our staff are always happy to try and address any complaints immediately and we always encourage feedback from our guests. It would seem that at the time you stayed with us our hostel was a very different place. Since your stay, we have undergone significant transformation. Improvements include new facilities, new décor and even complete refurbishment of some our old dormitories and rooms. We would love for you to come and see our new hostel, particularly as we have worked so hard on creating an environment which we believe is exemplary for our guests. Sincerest apologies! The Full Moon Backpackers welcome you for a return visit anytime you should wish to do so!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Well what can I say!! Where to begin. Firstly the mattresses are so bad the princess and the pea wouldn't have stood a chance. Secondly the duvets are so thin I was freezing for most of the night and thirdly it's been a while since I was given a duvet cover with so many holes at the seams it was hard to tell top from bottom. Despite having booked several days in advance we were unable to stay two consecutive nights in the same room meaning we effectively had to waste time packing our stuff up after the first night, putting it in a store room while having to check out at 11am only to be told we couldn't check in again till 3pm. There was no attempt by the reception manager to try and clean the room any earlier and we were left effectively with no room for 4 hours and no apology from the manager. On our return in the afternoon to check in again we were met by a sullen and unapologetic manager and then found out there would be a party till 4am meaning our room would be unsleepable till then!! Shame no one had told us this in advance. All in all our stay has been made up if lots of small things that are singularly mildly irritating but add up to make an unpleasant stay. I would not recommend this place to anyone!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cushionh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Full M, Manager at Full Moon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 23 December 2015
Our team are upset to find that your stay was not satisfactory and we can only offer our sincerest apologies for this. Guarantee of staying consecutive nights in the same room without changing is subject to availability, therefore we strongly recommend that if this is a major concern guests book as far in advance as possible. Because it is essential that rooms are clean and presentable following others checking out, we must always allow significant time to prepare and clean the rooms before others are allowed to enter. Occasionally we are happy to make alternate arrangements, but only if this is actually possible and does not compromise our standards. Whilst we would have appreciated any feedback immediately at the time, our team recognise that it was a long time ago that you stayed with us. Many improvements have been made since and our team would love to welcome you for a return stay. There are alot of changes and improvements to see!

Thanks

The Full Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
0.4 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 38 in Bristol
1,200 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Backpackers Hostel

Property: Full Moon Backpackers Hostel
Address: Stokes Croft | 1 North Street, Bristol BS1 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Eco-Friendly Backpacker Hotel situated in the heart of Bristol's lively cultural district Stokescroft, just 10 minutes walking distance from the City Centre. We are right in the heart of Stokescroft, Bristol's famous bohemian quarter. Nearby there is a host of amazing graffiti and street art, including pieces by world-renowned artists such as Banksy. There are also many great alternative cafes, bars, pubs and clubs to be found in the area. We have: -Private, Twin & Dorm Rooms -Shared Toilet & Shower facilities -Self-catering Kitchen (with communal food shelf) -Free Tea & Coffee -Free WI-FI -Free use of Computer -Guest Common Room and TV Lounge -Laundry Facilities -Luggage Storage -24 Hour Access -The Full Moon: Pub/Restaurant with Pool table and DJ Booth -The Attic Bar: Live Music Venue (Fridays/Saturdays) -Woodfired Pizza Oven (Fridays/Saturdays) -Shisha Bar -Large Courtyard/Outdoor Seating Area A gentle reminder to all our future guests - we are in a very vibrant area and have a popular and busy bar downstairs, especially over weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Full Moon Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Full Moon Backpackers Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing