We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, not amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Full Moon Backpackers Hostel
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night in an 8 bed dorm. It was a Saturday and there is a bar below which is open till 2am. We made sure to be out until then so it didn't bother us. The rooms themselves were pretty good. Big and clean. The bathrooms weren't. My main issue was their size as they were small and awkward, especially for the number of people they're to serve (I never had a problem waiting to use a shower but it was 2am). The lockers are not inside the rooms but in the stairwell and you would not expect to store your whole bag in their or anything. I have no idea if there was a common or kitchen area aside from the bar. Overall not a bad stay for 1 night but not amazing.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank annamkoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Pretty standard hostel, but rooms were very clean and bathrooms nice. No hot water in shower though!!!! Cool bar attached, with pool table and table football. Staff were friendly and beds standard for this sort thing. Good place to crash if staying in Bristol

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edd1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

First things first, this is a hostel above a pub in the middle of Stokes Croft in Bristol. Don't book to stay here if you want luxury, room service or a quiet early night. Do stay here if you want a no-fuss place to sleep at night that is close to the city centre and train stations.
I stopped here for two nights as part of a University reunion and can't really complain about the place. It is basic and reasonably clean and the beds are comfier than many other hostels I have been to. The residents kitchen is large and my food didn't go walkabout, there is a communal lounge for those who don't want to sit in a pub all night and 24 hour access is available if you want to return at silly o'clock after a night out. I suggest you bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.
In summary the Full Moon is what it is and is better than most.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank napierterrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We went there with a rugby team. The rooms are not bad. The wifi connection is not good.
Petunia's pizzas downstairs are awsome and the party in the terrace brings good vibes.
The staff is very nice. I wouldn't mind to repeat it!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank PedroCarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We used the Full Moon in Bristol for a filming location and they were very helpful and hospitable. We didn't stay in the rooms, so can't review those but the bar looked great with a good vibe. The reception area was clean, and the outdoor area had a lot of space so I imagine it's a great place to drink in the summer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Worst place you could ever stay in bristol
Beds were mingin
I didnt eat here but apparently a continental breakfast is a slice of toast and a banana provided my a rough looking bloke with no teeth.
The whole place was as dirty as a tramps underpants.
The place was very loud and there was a stag party who couldnt find there door key and kicked the door in. Then they banged out "in the army now " by status quo at 7 am as some sort of joke about the terrible conditions.
I think they got chucked out

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank armyboyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Full M, Manager at Full Moon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2015

We are very sorry to hear that your time at the Full Moon was not as enjoyable as you expected. We would always encourage our guests to inform the staff about any disturbances caused by other guests staying at the hostel. Behaviour such as you described is simply not tolerated. Likewise we encourage feedback on any problems our guests identify with facilities. Our team welcome you to come and stay with us again in the future, particularly as a great deal has changed here since the time that you were last here. We have new decor and facilities and are constantly trying to improve the hostel so that the service we provide is increasingly satisfactory for our guests.

Thanks

The Full Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Whilst we had a good time at the bar, the hostel itself was pretty grim. There was a terrible smell throughout and the bathrooms need a lot of attention. And I got bitten by bed bugs. Need I say more?

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Full M, Manager at Full Moon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2015

Our team are very sorry to hear that you weren't happy with your stay at the Full Moon. Likewise, any complaints of reported bed bugs are taken very seriously although in this instance we did not receive any complaint at the time. This would be a very serious issue affecting the service we aim to provide. Therefore we are very encouraging that guests please do not hesitate to let us know if they believe they have encountered this. Regardless we recognise your stay with us was quite a long time ago and if you would like to come and see all our brilliant improvements we would be more than welcoming!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Bristol Central Mitchell Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,715 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Backpackers Hostel

Address: Stokes Croft | 1 North Street, Bristol BS1 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Bristol
Price Range: £18 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Eco-Friendly Backpacker Hotel situated in the heart of Bristol's lively cultural district Stokescroft, just 10 minutes walking distance from the City Centre. We are right in the heart of Stokescroft, Bristol's famous bohemian quarter. Nearby there is a host of amazing graffiti and street art, including pieces by world-renowned artists such as Banksy. There are also many great alternative cafes, bars, pubs and clubs to be found in the area. We have: -Private, Twin & Dorm Rooms -Shared Toilet & Shower facilities -Self-catering Kitchen (with communal food shelf) -Free Tea & Coffee -Free WI-FI -Free use of Computer -Guest Common Room and TV Lounge -Laundry Facilities -Luggage Storage -24 Hour Access -The Full Moon: Pub/Restaurant with Pool table and DJ Booth -The Attic Bar: Live Music Venue (Fridays/Saturdays) -Woodfired Pizza Oven (Fridays/Saturdays) -Shisha Bar -Large Courtyard/Outdoor Seating Area A gentle reminder to all our future guests - we are in a very vibrant area and have a popular and busy bar downstairs, especially over weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Full Moon Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Full Moon Backpackers Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing