We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I got 99 problems, but this hostel ain't one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Full Moon Backpackers Hostel
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A1 accommodation. Friendly staff, always willing to please. Eclectic music and communal generosity. Excellent value for money. Stayed for two nights but wished it could have been more. Already looking into next stay

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lighten_up_ajax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights en arrival in Bristol before starting a new job - for anyone on a budget its great, the staff were friendly and I had no problems with the beds or facilities, the guest kitchen and common area were spacious and nice for cooking and chilling out. Also the hostel is above a bar and live music venue with a large courtyard (with a giant mushroom statue in it!) which had a great atmosphere, for me an awesome introduction to Bristol culture

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I cannot understand how this place can charge £17 a night for an 8 bed dorm with mouldy walls and unfinished badly decorated rooms and hallways. genuinely shocking. our room door does not lock so anyone could come in when we are asleep. no lockers to fit a substantial amount of things. shower cubicles dont lock, cold rooms, smell of toilets linger in the hallways. apart from the area, there really is no perk to staying here, infact they should be paying ME to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Full M, Manager at Full Moon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2015

Hi Charles,

It is very discomforting that your time at our hostel was not satisfactory and we are extremely apologetic for your experience.

If this was the case, understandably your review was submitted just over a year ago and since that time the hostel has undergone a lot of different changes. If you do wish to return you will be more than happy to see that a lot of our facilities and dormitories have been improved.

We are always taking on board customer feedback in order to strive to provide the best possible service which we can offer to our guests.

We welcome you to come and stay with us in the future!

Thanks

The Full Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Went there for a weekend stag do and we had a 10 and 6 bed dorm. They take a £20 pp damage deposit, towels are extra and they photocopy ID for each person (just so you know). Staff were helpful and the place looks like it is having some money spent on it. Clean and tidy, modern wash facilities. The electronic taps mean there is no cold water so take some bottled with you.

The beds vary from uncomfortable to painful even with what appear to be some fairly new mattresses. The bed linen (certainly mine) was very old and full of holes.

The pub downstairs is very busy at weekends and the music is LOUD until a good 3am followed by a constant beat from the background music all night.

There is a mix of people who use the bar and outside covered area. Some are okay but there is a LOT of drug taking and dealers and dropouts pushing drugs hanging about in and outside the pub.

Keep your wits about you and definitely keep your valuables safe. The staff on reception are there 24/7 but it still makes you nervous of a break in theft.

So, finally we get to the food. We had full breakfast which is served in the pub. The chef was spot on and everything was cooked and served properly. A saving grace!

A in all we had a good weekend. At 25/night with breakfast you decide, some of the nearby hotels do deals not far off that price so you make your choice...

I would have rated it higher but the bar security underneath gives me serious concerns..

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank A1tonyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Full M, Manager at Full Moon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2015

Hi Tony,

Our team would like to earnestly thank you for providing well balanced and constructive feedback on your visit to our hostel, it is very much appreciated! Here at the Full Moon we are deeply invested in an ongoing process of self improvement and are always encouraging of any suggestions on how we could enhance the experience we provide. In regards to your raised concerns, we are very happy to assure you that security is a priority for our team so there is absolutely no need to feel ill at ease. Since your stay we have undertaken significant refurbishment and redecoration, you will also be happy to hear that this includes our mattresses and bedding! Our team are always very happy to welcome any previous guests for a return visit to see all of the great changes we have made to our hostel. Hope to catch you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night in an 8 bed dorm. It was a Saturday and there is a bar below which is open till 2am. We made sure to be out until then so it didn't bother us. The rooms themselves were pretty good. Big and clean. The bathrooms weren't. My main issue was their size as they were small and awkward, especially for the number of people they're to serve (I never had a problem waiting to use a shower but it was 2am). The lockers are not inside the rooms but in the stairwell and you would not expect to store your whole bag in their or anything. I have no idea if there was a common or kitchen area aside from the bar. Overall not a bad stay for 1 night but not amazing.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank annamkoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Pretty standard hostel, but rooms were very clean and bathrooms nice. No hot water in shower though!!!! Cool bar attached, with pool table and table football. Staff were friendly and beds standard for this sort thing. Good place to crash if staying in Bristol

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edd1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

First things first, this is a hostel above a pub in the middle of Stokes Croft in Bristol. Don't book to stay here if you want luxury, room service or a quiet early night. Do stay here if you want a no-fuss place to sleep at night that is close to the city centre and train stations.
I stopped here for two nights as part of a University reunion and can't really complain about the place. It is basic and reasonably clean and the beds are comfier than many other hostels I have been to. The residents kitchen is large and my food didn't go walkabout, there is a communal lounge for those who don't want to sit in a pub all night and 24 hour access is available if you want to return at silly o'clock after a night out. I suggest you bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.
In summary the Full Moon is what it is and is better than most.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank napierterrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Bristol Central Mitchell Lane
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Bristol Filton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
0.9 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 39 in Bristol
734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock'n'Bowl Motel
Rock'n'Bowl Motel
#3 of 31 in Bristol
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Backpackers Hostel

Address: Stokes Croft | 1 North Street, Bristol BS1 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Bristol
Price Range: £18 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Eco-Friendly Backpacker Hotel situated in the heart of Bristol's lively cultural district Stokescroft, just 10 minutes walking distance from the City Centre. We are right in the heart of Stokescroft, Bristol's famous bohemian quarter. Nearby there is a host of amazing graffiti and street art, including pieces by world-renowned artists such as Banksy. There are also many great alternative cafes, bars, pubs and clubs to be found in the area. We have: -Private, Twin & Dorm Rooms -Shared Toilet & Shower facilities -Self-catering Kitchen (with communal food shelf) -Free Tea & Coffee -Free WI-FI -Free use of Computer -Guest Common Room and TV Lounge -Laundry Facilities -Luggage Storage -24 Hour Access -The Full Moon: Pub/Restaurant with Pool table and DJ Booth -The Attic Bar: Live Music Venue (Fridays/Saturdays) -Woodfired Pizza Oven (Fridays/Saturdays) -Shisha Bar -Large Courtyard/Outdoor Seating Area A gentle reminder to all our future guests - we are in a very vibrant area and have a popular and busy bar downstairs, especially over weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Full Moon Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Full Moon Backpackers Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing