We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, good location, friendly, and excellent coffee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Modern hotel, typical Ibis room (modular bathroom), very handy for station and close to city centre. Staff were friendly and helpful, room very clean and spacious. Bed a little hard, even for me and I like a firm bed. No plug next to bed which is a shame. Aircon, hairdryer, big mirror, great shower, modern TV, kettle, free wifi. Everything you could want really, and a very sensible priced breakfast (7.95). All in, a great place to stay.

Location: From the train station, when coming off the platforms don't turn left to the taxi rank, but instead continue straight on, through an old engine shed and out towards the new waterside development. Turn right when you come to the road and follow the footpath, cross the pedestrian bridge over the river and the hotel is on the opposite side of the building you face. Currently it is under construction, but once finished I imagine you could continue straight on to the hotel. For now make a left, after a few yards turn right between the two buildings and after a short distance at the road side you will see the Ibis on the opposite side and to the right.

Between leaving the station and crossing the river, there are various shops, cafes, starbucks, weatherspoons, and other places to eat in the central outdoor area.

Getting to city centre / waterfront is a 15 minute easy walk, all on the flat. Heading back as if to the station, keep straight on and follow the road instead of turning left for the station at the corner shop. At the big roundabout bear left and over to Redcliffe and go straight over the big river road bridge, to Queen square and cross it diagonally and you are right into the heart of the city.

Breakfast: good selection of hot and cold. Various fresh breads too. Bacon was excellent and proper sausages and nice mushrooms, beans etc. Hash browns although cooked well had gone a little soft due to being under a closh; would be better in open dish under heat lamp. Scrambled egg didn't look great, but actually was ok. No fried egg on display, although I imagine they could be requested. Coffee was fab (enjoyed it more than the starbucks the night before). Is from beans in a self service machine. Can recommend the latte, and also takeout cups available (so I had one for the road too!).

Excellent value for more, especially with the free wifi and sensible priced breakfast.

Room Tip: If you like watching the trains, get a high floor ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeenB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrey_Belogortsev, General Manager at Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I am glad you enjoyed your visit overall and all our services exceeded your expectations. I hope we can welcome you back again in the future for another great stay and a cup of our wonderful coffee! Kind regards.

Andrey Belogortsev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 615 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Check in by lovely friendly staff. Nice clean room and comfortable bed. Location ideal for Temple Meads Station but a trek into the city. General store,Starbucks and Wetherspoons nearby and a couple of bars.


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
Thank DeeYorkshire2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrey_Belogortsev, General Manager at Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I am very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards.

Andrey Belogortsev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Good easy access, parkng could be a problem with construction work going on around the area, nice clean room, pretty basic breakfast, evening meal was a nightmare, took so long to get and half the things on the menu were not available

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
Thank Ishy06062014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrey_Belogortsev, General Manager at Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I will look into the points your raised about the dinner service personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back very soon. Kind regards.

Andrey Belogortsev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Rooms clean and spacious. 3 minute walk from Templemeads station if you go the right way. Long stay parking available in the station too. Staff very helpful and polite. A couple of bars very close by. Breakfast a typical buffet but perfectly edible. A great place to stay for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzieloufrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrey_Belogortsev, General Manager at Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we are glad to have been a part of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Bristol Temple Meads. Kind regards.

Andrey Belogortsev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It had been a long and grim day, tearing headlong down the M5, shaken by the inescapable reality of landing in an Ibis Hotel, hearing the echoes of Partridge cavorting through my head. I stared down the motorway, all gritted teeth and heavy heart.

I've stayed in Bristol before at a godforsaken joint on a roundabout on the way into town, but at least it was on the the way into town. It quickly becomes apparent that either my Satnav is broken, or I'm being left out to dry like a dog on the Fringes of Oblivion. Ugh. It's the latter.

After wrestling with the traditional UK Hotel nonsense of 'zero-parking' and ducking into multiple alleyways to avoid the marauding hoardes of The Prozac Nation of Hen Parties our cities have become, I made it to the Ibis. Reception was a weird blend of stark and plastic modern lines and the standard British Service Industry ethic of hiding in the office to avoid speaking to, you know, customers.

Once I got into the room I felt disconnected from the real world. It was as if I had become a strangely sanitised lab rat in this moulded, modular space. The bathroom was a single moulded piece, and the bed, whilst comfortable (as cheap beds go) faced a flatscreen TV which wasn't straight. I used my mobile phone to ascertain it was at an slope of 9 degrees, and then fell into a deep slumber, awoken by the harrowing image of Cilla Black erupting from my moulded cubicle with the words 'SURPRISE SURPRISE' spewing from her ample mouth.

Horrified I checked out early, and made my way to the nearest osteopath to get that 9 degree crick in my neck corrected.

Stay here at your peril my friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank shackforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrey_Belogortsev, General Manager at Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments here. I am sorry we failed to live up to your expectations and if you would like to talk about the matter further, please feel free to call me on 0117 954 3600 or email me on h6593@accor.com. Kind regards.

Andrey Belogortsev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here this weekend for the Lets Rock Bristol festival. Staff were very helpful and check in was speedy, despite us having a large group and there being a number of other large groups arriving at the same time. Our rooms were all huge, clean and had extremely comfortable beds.

The hotel was new and well kept, offering extremely good value for money (book earlier and you get much better rates). The drains in my room smelt a bit wiffy, but not bad enough to affect the stay. The hotel handles a lot of stag and hen parties, but actually our rooms were all very quiet and I didn't hear any noise at all. Breakfast is good. Much better than other hotel chains in this price bracket.

Room Tip: The family rooms which are made up to become twins are a great size and far away from the lifts etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrey_Belogortsev, General Manager at Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I am very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found all the services including room and breakfast to match your expectations. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you and your family back to Ibis Bristol Temple Meads. Kind regards.

Andrey Belogortsev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A bit out of the way in an area with few services.

If you looking for a central/city type location may not suit you. If you looking for somewhere cheap just to put your head for the night definitely OK.

Clean comfortable 3* room. Free Wi-Fi

No air-conditioning, No toiletries.

Bathroom is a module similar to on-board a ship. Roomy but a bit noisy - floor creaks, shower noisy, etc - not an issue if staying by yourself - if you are sharing with someone else then noise may be a problem.

Breakfast buffet - hot foods were "cold". Poor selection/choice. Probably better off getting something to eat on the road rather than paying for what they offer here.

NO pool gym or anything like that. Just somewhere to sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IPANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrey_Belogortsev, General Manager at Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I am glad your experience matched your expectations and enjoyed your visit overall. I hope we can welcome you back very soon. Kind regards.

Andrey Belogortsev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
1 mi away
Ibis Bristol Centre
Ibis Bristol Centre
#22 of 39 in Bristol
1,531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Novotel Bristol Centre
Novotel Bristol Centre
#16 of 39 in Bristol
1,531 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay

Address: Avon Street, Bristol BS2 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Bristol
#16 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £40 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay is located within walking distance of Temple Meads railway station, a few minutes from Broadmead Shopping Centre and Castle Park. Easily to reach from the airport and the M32 motorway, the hotel offers 140 rooms (all non smoking) and features a restaurant, a bar open 24 hours and WiFi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing