We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to the usual standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not up to the usual standard”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I'm afraid this place falls well short of the usual standard of the Radisson Blu chain. OK, it's not the swankiest chain in the world but their hotels are generally very comfortable and often very stylish.

This place however, was a little run down and tired. The staff were all quite curt and, in the two days I stayed there both of the two elevators broke (thankfully, not at the same time).

My room was clean but that's about all I could say to commend it. On the last morning, the hot water stopped flowing and, when I asked at reception if they were aware, I was told they had known the day before that it would be off. When I asked why we weren't told, the response was that they had put a message on the internal channel of the TV! What if you don't watch the TV??

This response met with a shrug....

Just not good enough, I'm afraid.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnythirkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for the review, obvioulsy this is not how we wish to be percieved

I notice that you stayed back in in October and the issues you faced were during your stay then, I am sorry we did not catch you before you checked out or that you did not approach us at the time to make the stay right and to resolve your issues. It is true we had a few challenges during that time, but all of it could have been resolved.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and i hope you will give us anoter chance to show this is not a true representation of how we are

Thank you again

Christopher Peach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    767
    245
    83
    54
See reviews for
207
781
90
489
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The Bristol Blu is just amazing, if you have never stayed you do not know what you are missing. Along the harbourside the Bristol Blu stands proudly , once inside you will not be disappointed one little bit. With outstanding staff across all departments who have such a can do attitude they are never too busy to help. The rooms offer fantastic views , the higher the floor you stay on the better, even If you do not like heights you will feel safe. The filini restaurant is wonderful , the
vegetable antipasti is a must , you can have this as a starter or to share. The super breakfast buffet is a must see , it caters for everyone , the vegetable ratatouille is a must eat . The hotel is clean and warm , and very well maintained. There is also take away coffee available for one pound from the bar which is well worth a buy. You do need to pay for car parking , however it is well worth paying the charge as you car will be in a safe and secure location on the ground, basement level.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmmmmwww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
What a fantastic review, thank you so much. I am not quite sure how to reply to your review, I will definitely pass your comments on to the staff and I know they will be as happy as I am.
it is always reassuring to know that what we are trying so hard to achieve is paying off.
Thank you again very much and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
best regards
Christopher Peach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Having read some of the reviews I asked for a room on a higher floor and away from the noise of Sainsbury delivery lorries. Request was noted and I had no problems with the very minimal noise level (as expected of a busy city at a weekend). Slightly irritated by the noise of the lift shaft, but I'm being picky now!

Large and modern room. Loved the wall picture. Nice bathroom. All as expected of a modern Raddisson. I liked the easy chair as well as a desk chair.

Breakfast -food and the room were also very good. Very relax atmosphere.

I enjoyed the location as I love the harbour front. Not too far too walk to the train station when I had a day at the Bath Spa. Suggest a taxi with luggage.

I would stay again.

Room Tip: Room on a higher floor gets away from street noise if that's an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdwatcher25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Lovely review thank you very much

We do hope you will stay with us again.

best regards
Christopher Peach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Radisson Blu is undoubtly my favourite hotel chain in the UK. This is the fifth RB I have stayed in so my expectations were high. We booked a business class room and valet parking.

From the moment you arrive you are made to feel special, the service from all staff is excellent. Whoever does their training should be comended. My car was parked for me, seems a little expensive but for peace of mind I think it was worth it. Our room was on the 15th floor with a staggering view over Bristol Docks. This really is the best view in Bristol. The room is excellent and my only slight niggle was connecting to the wifi.

The hotel is well located with a 5 minute walk to Cabot Circus and the Hippodrome just across the road. It can be a bit difficult to find when driving, but that may just be my GPS.

Breakfast is probably the best I have had in the last year. Plenty of choice, quality ingredients and great service. Overall this Hotel chain should be applauded for the service they provide. It is worth every penny, and I would always choose to stay at a Radisson Blu over any other chain.

Room Tip: Business Class Upgrade is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for the review,
You are right with the GPS, unfortunately our address takes you up a one way street which is not helpful, I am working on trying to get it changed. Next time pease use BS14AQ that will get you to the right road, I will ensure the team know to inform guests booking of the best possible driving route.
I do hope you will stay with us again and we will ensure you will enjoy your stay again.

best regards

Christopher Peach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant stay. The staff are helpful and polite, the rooms, while not the cheapest, are very clean and well appointed and the Nespresso machines in the business class rooms are a nice touch.
Breakfast was also very good, with a wide variety.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milltowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Great review
Thank you very much

best regards
Christopher Peach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitley bay
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

really pleasant stay, would recommend this hotel strongly. In a great location central to everything, restaurants, bars, shops etc. Very good quality rooms and attentive staff. Excellent breakfast with great choice of food

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chatWhitleyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for the Great review
Christopher Peach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed here for one Saturday night in November 2013. We had a business class room which made me wish we were staying for longer! It was excellent, very well-appointed with big, comfortable bed, a large, full bathroom and a great view. We were on the eighth floor, and I understand that the view is even better on higher floors. Our check-in was fairly quick, even though we had arrived before the regular check-in time, and the receptionist was professional and helpful. We also found the valet parking option well worth the extra charge, as we had our car parked for us on arrival and then fetched to the hotel entrance on departure the next day.

The location of the hotel is ideal for visits to Bristol city centre, being in Broad Quay right opposite the Hippodrome.

There was a good choice of food for breakfast and the staff were very helpful. Like other Radissons we have visited, the restaurant seemed a little cramped for the large number of guests, some having to wait for a table. But this being Sunday morning we expected it to be busy. What we hadn’t expected was the long wait for a lift down to reception; I got the impression this was the usual situation at check-out time on a weekend morning, as the lifts are small and only take a few people at a time.

Although the reception and restaurant areas are quite small for a hotel of this size, I would rate this hotel very highly on its location and quality of accommodation. I would certainly use it again for future visits to Bristol.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for the the review of the hotel, unfortunately you are right about the lifts they are on the small side but we hope that the facilities and the service make up for some of the shortfall

best regards
Christopher Peach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Address: Broad Quay, Bristol BS1 4DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#9 Business Hotel in Bristol
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol is a first-class accommodation choice in England's sixth most populous city. A total of 176 stylish, comfortable rooms provide ample amenities, including Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Many of the rooms also overlook the picturesque harbour as well. Filini Restaurant helps supercharge your morning with the expansive Super Breakfast Buffet, complete with pastries, fruit and coffee. Lunch and dinner specialities include Mediterranean favourites. For exceptional events, the flexible and sophisticated meeting facilities can be customised to suit your hosting needs. - Only 20 minutes from Bristol Airport - A total of 176 Bristol hotel rooms and suites in three design styles: Chic, Fashion and Fresh - On-site Filini Restaurant offering the Super Breakfast Buffet and delicious Mediterranean cuisine - Free high-speed, wireless Internet throughout the hotel - Convenient on-site features like a business centre, which provides secretarial services including printing and copying - Five meeting rooms for personal and business events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing