We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay despite funny smells”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I had a one night stay here in late April. Check in was seamless, very friendly and welcoming staff. The room was spacious, clean and modern and a comfy bed. I was on the tenth floor and had no noise at all so I was able to get a good nights sleep. I didnt take advantage of the breakfast offer but it seemed a reasonable price for a 4 star hotel. My only slight issue was there was a strong stench of a certain illegal substance from the corridor of my floor when I arrived, this had gone later in the evening though so I didnt report this to staff. Overall other than this slight blip it was a good hotel and i'd stay again

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Gareth848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you very much for the review. We do not accept any illegal behaviour in the hotel and it is a shame you did not tell us at the time, but this is something we will be monitoring more diligently going forward.
Thank you again.

best regards

Christopher Peach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,982)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,115 - 1,121 of 1,982 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights last Friday and Saturday. I booked and paid for a double room with 'river view' through Expedia. We arrived around 7:30pm and were given a twin room with a view of a wall about 20ft away. Room wasn't bad. Disabled bathroom made noises from poorly designed plumbing.

Reception staff - wow there's a lot - varied between "leave it with me and I'll see what I can do" through "there's no way to guarantee a river view as we allocate rooms on arrival" (this one clearly missed the customer care training). All very confusing as they could have moved us to a river view room on Friday - on the floor adjacent to a prom party, but had none available of Saturday. Someone was not being wholly truthful. We just felt as though we were insignificant, had a 'cheap' booking and didn't deserve anything better. They did send someone to 'convert' our twin into a double pretty quickly though.

And, on the subject of truthful.... watch out for the valet parking line of only being £3 more than the NCP. For a 5 minute walk, there's a car park for £5 a day and £4 overnight.

Shall not be staying here again - nor any other Radisson. Their policies and attitudes disappoint.

Room Tip: if you expect a river view - check in very early
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeManagerRB, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback following your stay with us.

I'm disappointed to hear of your experience with your room allocation. We always do our up most to meet the expectations of our guests and I'm sorry that on this occasion we didn't. I would appreciate if you contact me personally at the hotel so we can discuss your experience in more detail?

There are alternate parking options in the city, however from our experience these options we would not consider as 'secure' as they are open air and often have no security. The hotel only recommends alternate parking options that we would class as secure such as the nearby NCP parking.

Kind Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I recently booked 3 rooms via Hotels.com, one twin and 2 doubles. This was for my hen night with my future mother in law and family. Imagine my horror when she thinks I have deliberately booked her into a disabled room in the disabled refuge part of the hotel, which is twin single beds and a wet room.
I complained to the receptionist who advised it is what I requested through Expeidia.....Umm no, I showed her the email booking confirmation to prove I requested a standard double. Her response was sorry we are fully booked. No mention of the Radisson Blu 100% satisfaction guarantee or money back policy.

Room Tip: show them the email confirmation whan booking in so it eliminates them getting it wrong.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeManagerRB, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for providing your feedback following your stay at our hotel.

I was disappointed to read of your experience. I have addressed your concerns with you personally and hope that you will consider us should you wish to return to the city.

Best Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

One night weekend stay for 2 in June. The reception was welcoming and speedy with room keys(cards) and information given quickly, We had a twin room on the 16th floor (business class). Lift was very quick. Room was very clean and beds extremely comfortable. Floor to ceiling windows with a great view over the harbour/docks area. Extras such as fluffy robes and expresso machine very nice (no biscuits to go with coffee and tea maker). Front desk staff helpful when information needed. Bristol on a Saturday night is extremely loud so I am glad we had a high up room but couldnt fault the location - just a few minutes walk to shops, great restaurants, the cathedral. Breakfast was awesome. One of the best selections of everything Ive seen. Service was also good. Would definitely recommend this hotel for location and service,

Room Tip: Take a high up room if possible.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djdaz1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Lovely review thank you very much

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

best regards

Christopher Peach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Only stayed for 1 night. Room was lovely,view was not. Large spacious, huge double bed. Had trouble with the wifi so gave up.
Valet parking great, there is a NCP that you can book in advance on the same road, the valet parking was only £3 more so I took advantage of that.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teeps13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for the review, Nice to see positive comments regarding our Valet service, We think it is a great service.

Do come and visit us again soon

Best regards

Christopher Peach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had one night here on a long weekend and the hotel is very well located close to the harbour area. It is nicely appointed and for the price of £70 I thought was good value. The bar area was being renovated when we were there, but the barman brought our drinks to us at the outside tables.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Lovely review.
Thank You very much

Best Regards

Christopher Peach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Unfortunately we arrived very late but had a good greeting by the night staff. We were too late to park in their car park so were a bit put out that we had to go to an NCP which cost £20.00 overnight. Then we discovered that the hotel's car park would have cost more! Good room lovely view of the harbour and city.and all was well until THE TEAPOT! A good range for breakfast and we sat in the window ... all good. Then I ordered my strong tea and a hot water for my partner. Tea came in a 'Thermos' jug and hot water in a TEAPOT! That is how they serve tea, apparently. That is OK I suppose but it is just so bizarre to put tea in a tall jug and water in a teapot! WHY? This is Britain, it is the National Drink ... please get it right and DO NOT put an extra teabag on the side. Surely anyone in catering knows (sic) that tea needs to be made with boiling water, straight from the kettle/still, whatever and coffee should NOT be made with boiling? Surely?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Trainers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeManagerRB, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time share your feedback following your recent stay.

I’m sorry to hear of the issues experienced and have communicated your feedback to the relevant members of the management team. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations.

I hope that you will consider to stay with us again, should your travels bring you back to the area.

Kind Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol

Address: Broad Quay, Bristol BS1 4DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#9 Business Hotel in Bristol
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £77 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol is a first-class accommodation choice in England's sixth most populous city. A total of 176 stylish, comfortable rooms provide ample amenities, including Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Many of the rooms also overlook the picturesque harbour as well. Filini Restaurant helps supercharge your morning with the expansive Super Breakfast Buffet, complete with pastries, fruit and coffee. Lunch and dinner specialities include Mediterranean favourites. For exceptional events, the flexible and sophisticated meeting facilities can be customised to suit your hosting needs. - Only 20 minutes from Bristol Airport - A total of 176 Bristol hotel rooms and suites in three design styles: Chic, Fashion and Fresh - On-site Filini Restaurant offering the Super Breakfast Buffet and delicious Mediterranean cuisine - Free high-speed, wireless Internet throughout the hotel - Convenient on-site features like a business centre, which provides secretarial services including printing and copying - Five meeting rooms for personal and business events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing