We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2010

This hotel's in a very central and convenient location. Good, helpful service. Breakfast seemed better than the average buffet - but as with all hotel breakfasts, it's well worth having if inclusive, but not worth paying the standard rate for. Room was great - amazing views over the city, comfortable bed, free broadband, nice toiletries. Downsides: corridors too hot, and long waits for the lifts.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,854 - 1,860 of 2,022 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2010

Ticked all the boxes for a perfect lads weekend. Central,clean and new. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Stayed at this hotel on business. The hotel is fairly new. So new that there was ongoing work during the time we were there... This isn't really a problem but it did mean that the entrance area was a bit chaotic.

First impressions: The hotel seems to smell of panini or pizza all the time (food of some sort). This isn't unpleasant. Just a bit strange. The lobby (apart from the building work) is nice looking and well kept, modern in style - lots of wood and lighting.

Check in / reception VERY slow. The person on reception was new so we could excuse this up to a point, but it was frustrating especially when we had a meeting to get to and it was all prepaid. It took about 10 minutes per person. It shouldn't take that long. In general over the course of our stay we found the reception to be slow and not very responsive. It was especially frustrating when there are 2 desks but only one appeared to be manned at any one time.

The rooms are nice and new, and reasonably large. No issues at all with them and they seemed clean and bright. They have a Radisson Blu colour scheme (orangey and bright colours) that wouldn't be to everyone's taste, but they were perfectly nice. The bathrooms are a good size and the shower was fine (though a little confusing to use... but that could just be me). Room had aircon/heating and the bed was comfortable. It is pretty much what I would expect, having stayed in other Radisson Blu hotels.

The bar was good but again they aren't very responsive. The whole stay gave the impression that they're still running at 50% with a skeleton staff or people in training. That said, all the staff were very friendly and the service was good when we got it. I would say for a hotel of that size I would expect quicker service generally.

The lifts are worthy of note for how long they took! There are two and you can end up waiting quite a long time. Perhaps because of the number of floors in the hotel but there never seemed to be many guests there, so it was odd they took so long.

My keycard for my room stopped working twice - possibly due to being near a Blackberry, but it was a bit strange and hasn't happened before in other hotels. I had to go down to reception twice to get it reactivated which was a bit annoying when you consider the lift situation.

Parking was really difficult to find. They seem to be building the parking under the hotel but this was not available yet, so we had to park in the NCP as directed by the hotel's website. Even with the GPS it was VERY difficult to find - spent about half an hour driving round Bristol trying to find it. It would help if they said on the website that it is joined on to the Bristol Hotel, as it is not that noticeable otherwise. Apparently you get your ticket swiped at reception which was meant to give a discount, but it was still £22 for an overnight stay, which seemed a bit steep.

We did stay late in the bar after we had been out for dinner, and had a good evening. Nobody tried to get us to leave and we stayed up very late, which was a bonus... They seemed happy for us to stay there even after the bar had closed.

The location is very good - close to town and an easy walk to wherever we needed to get to. It is quite easy to spot as it's taller than the other buildings around.

The following day, the breakfast was decent - cooked breakfast, bread/pastries, fruit, etc, the usual. Nothing to write home about but nice enough.

I would give this hotel 3.5 if it were possible. It is perfectly adequate for business needs but I would find it frustrating to stay there for a longer period of time and there were definitely some teething problems. I'd recommend it for business or if you can get a good price, but not for a romantic break as it is definitely geared towards business travelers. It is nice and new and the staff are friendly - but there is something missing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nao C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We went to this hotel for 2 nights to celebrate our Ruby Wedding. I booked through a cheap, last minute source and then phoned the hotel direct and asked if I could upgrade. I got a room upgrade to suite on the 14th floor for the 2 nights and breakfast included - all for under £60. The hotel is ideally situated by the Waterfront and we had a corner room on the 14th floor, which had floor to ceiling views across the waterfront - spectacular, although perhaps not so good if you don't like heights. The room was spacious, the bed firm [our preference]. Some parts of the hotel [epecially carpark ]werestill not at the completion stage. We only ate breakfast at the Hotel and whilst there was a large choice it did look as though it had been standing around a while. However, this may have been affected by the Bank Holiday weekend and the smallish number of guests in residenceat the time. We used the car park and didn't take it out whilst we were there. The busses and ferries went from directly outside the hotel and were very good - the car would have been a nuisance. We asked reception for quite a lot of specific City information and they were very knowledgeable and they also booked us a table at a restaurant of our choice, Fishers, where we had a superb meal.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

The view from the 16th floor was magnificent but the decoration of the room looked a bit cheap.
Nevertheless, the bed was comfortable.
The breakfast was disappointing and the lifts took ages to arrive.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marininlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Stayed here a few times over the summer as I was running training courses for a big multi national. The Conference staff are really helpful and the lunches are excellent. We had private dining here as well and that was well organised and good quality given the numbers of us. The hotel management are not afraid to get their hands dirty helping to set up or rearrange training rooms - I was impressed with that. Finally, the delegates liked it so much they persuaded their company to run more courses from there. Speaks volumes. Bedrooms really funky and views spectacular. Brilliant central location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stagman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

It was our first trip to Bristol and it was my birthday. We liked this hotel very much. The location is perfect. Radisson Blu Hotel is new, modern, fresh, crispy, clean. Staff friendly with smile, breakfast tasty, beds and linen comfy...all in all a very good hotel to stay in Bristol.
We will stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Experienceholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,761 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol

Address: Broad Quay, Bristol BS1 4BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#9 Business Hotel in Bristol
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £64 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol is a first-class accommodation choice in England's sixth most populous city. A total of 176 stylish, comfortable rooms provide ample amenities, including Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Many of the rooms also overlook the picturesque harbour as well. Collage Restaurant helps supercharge your morning with the expansive Super Breakfast Buffet, complete with pastries, fruit and coffee. Lunch and dinner specialities include British favourites. For exceptional events, the flexible and sophisticated meeting facilities can be customised to suit your hosting needs. - Only 20 minutes from Bristol Airport - A total of 176 Bristol hotel rooms and suites, On-site Collage Restaurant offering the Super Breakfast Buffet and delicious British cuisine - Free high-speed, wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Four meeting rooms for personal and business events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing