We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Low quality food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Tasca - Bristol City Centre - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Tasca - Bristol City Centre
Price range: US$25 - US$50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Description: Right in the heart of Bristol City Centre, this popular branch of La Tasca bustles throughout the day with a lively young crowd tucking into a hearty menu of Spanish favourites. Tapas and paella dishes predominate, washed down with a comprehensive drinks list that features native wines, beers and pitchers of sangria. Colourful accents and rustic music add to the continental vibe of the restaurant.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Low quality food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

I have eaten here various times (not by choice). There is a nice setting as with all la tasca restaurants. However the food is almost always burnt when I have eaten here. The few dished that were not burnt were of low quality and had little taste. I would not recommend eating in the Bristol Cabot Circus la Tasca at all. The staff are generally polite, with the exception of one visit. Where poor service was recieved throughout the entire meal. We waited a long time to be served then we were ignored the entire time, finding it difficult to get drinks. Thus we decided not to pay the full service tip as it was definetly not deserved. When we went to leave the waitress questioned where her full tip was!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

We had not eaten in a Spanish venue before and was unsure of how many and which tapas to order. There was a greeter on the door - and she explained to us about the items, she recommeded the "chefs recommondations" which were for 2 or more to share at £29.95.
The atmosphere was warm and authentic.
The tapas arrived to the table and we did enjoy the selection, it was plentiful and filling. My only complaint would be that it got cold very quickly and there was no hot plate on the table.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GrannyDidda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Reliable Chain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

La Tasca is always a great stand-by if you like Spanish food and can't make up your mind what you want, or how much you want to eat.
Good value, good food, attentive service

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorsefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

I know its a big chain but you don't get that impression here.

Excellent service, food was delicious and hot. Set meals offer good value.

Only thought i'd comment here because of the quality of night we had there.

Would go back happily again and again. It's nice to go somewhere and be treated like you want to be.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TimmyKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good enough.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

The food was great, the same as at any La Tasca. My only problem was that the staff, although very nice when actually serving us, spend the rest of the time leaning on the bar talking loudly about their night out and swearing. I just don't like that, a bit more professionalism would have got it to a 5 star.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dani-Elizabeth86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tasca - Bristol City Centre also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing