We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous collection!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oakham Treasures

Oakham Treasures
Ranked #17 of 193 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous collection!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

I visited Oakham Treasures in February 2014 with my Grandma as she really wanted to go. I found the collection absolutely fascinating, I couldn't believe how big the museum was!!! There were so many interesting things to look at and took us a long time to have a thorough "mooch round." We stopped for lunch afterwards and found that the cafe was lovely, spacious and served really good food! Was also nice to see that two of the Bristol Gromit's had found homes in the cafe :)

Lovely day out especially if the weather isn't too great!

Helpful?
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hope the Gromits behaved themselves!! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    45
    7
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Interesting, definitely worth a mooch round”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

A really interesting collection, definitely worth a look, we went on a cold and wet day and it was a great way to spend a morning. There is a café as well which was really warm and cosy, friendly staff, we only had a coffee (which was very nice) but the menu looked inviting, may well go back just to have lunch.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 79sgrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Glad you enjoyed the Museum. You do not need to visit the Museum to use the cafe, and we look forward to seeing you just for lunch. Our menu offers hot and cold homemade lunches, snacks and cakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What an amazing collection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

An amazing collection of "stuff"
There are actually many and varied collections from post boxes, a huge amount of enamel advertising signage, to ceramic shaving mugs and tractors. There are complete shops, pharmacy, hardware, millinery, tobacconists, which are fully stocked with everything they would have sold a 100 years ago! Some recognised household brands still around today and many many more that will be great memories for the older visitors. I know I missed many things and will definitely take the family for an afternoon out. Great cafe too, with a good selection of drinks and hot and cold food in pleasant surroundings.
Definitely worth a visit, I will be back. Thanks!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nostalgia Indulgence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

A wonderful collection of memorabilia from the past 100 years. Covers all aspects of life including food, cleaning, fashion and leisure. Some of the items are displayed in mock shops - iron monger, drapers, chemist. grocers. There is also a display of farm equipment and other vehicles.
I would have liked to see some more information about some of the exhibits but this only a minor point on what was an extremely enjoyable and fascinating afternoon out.
Although we didn't try it the café is spacious and attractive and, of course, there as two Gromits to look at close up.
Recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
So glad you enjoyed your visit. The Gromits are my personal favourite! Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fascinating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

A fascinating collection of all sorts, from mobile phones, through toys, shop displays to tractors. We spent a good few hours wandering around and saying "ooh I remember that" to each other. Only downside really was that it was so cold.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank lonnie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
We certainly bring back the memories!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oakham Treasures also viewed

 

Been to Oakham Treasures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing