We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish restaurant in Bristol”
Review of The Spiny Lobster

The Spiny Lobster
Ranked #121 of 2,086 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Spiny Lobster is an award winning seafood restaurant. We've been on Whiteladies Road for 15 years with a restaurant and fishmonger and a great loyal following locally and from visitors to Bristol and to Clifton. The Spiny Lobster offers a wide ranging menu designed for lovers of the best seafood and shellfish. We specialise in cooking over the open fire of our Josper grill, adding a distinct flavour to our food inspired by our staff's travels. Have a look at the menu, come to the restaurant and fishmongers and see for yourselves this gem in Bristol. We look forward to welcoming you.
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Fantastic restaurant. Lived in Bristol since 1977 and, it does not get better than this. Ambience, table clothes, knapkins, service spot on. Fish soup just incredible. Lunch time and early evening menu great value. Use it for all business lunches.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 194 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2018

Have visited the Spiney Lobster on many occassions and it has always been superb. We were not disappointed . There were 18 people in our group and we were very well loooked after. It was a Saturday lunchtime and the restaurant was very busy. The chef's were top class and never appeared flustered or not in control. The meal was excellent and beautifully presented. The waitressess were lovely, Charlotte was exceptional. Great staff, lovely place and wonderful food. We will be back.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JennyMT009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 May 2018

We have had very good times at the Spiny in the past but I did notice in Trip Adviser that these days quite a few people have had dodgy experiences. So too, last night, did my son and me. As it happened both he and I decided independently upon one whole plaice for each of us (one for him, one for me) for the main course. When the waitress arrived she brought with her without any warning or explanation just one solitary plaice for us to share. This plaice was not particularly large but the waitress said it "was better for the kitchen" or some such - and that was it. And 2 plaice were eventually marked on at £40 - no discount here! - for 2 fish on the receipt that we never had and no apology for the arrival of ONE different fish that we did get with no warning and never knew we were expecting but eventually got...

My son and I both left leaving the restaurant feeling done-by and hungry. Fortunately there are lots of restaurants popping up in Whiteladies Road now and I am particularly looking forward to dinning at the River Cottage Kitchen amongst others.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

A friend and I visited the spiny lobster for their early supper deal - weekdays before 7pm. A simple and well thought-out menu with only two prices (£15 for two courses, £18 for three) meant we could make our respective decisions quickly. I had the grilled herring with lemon and horseradish, my friend the silver mullet. Delicious, and served with a medium glass of the white wine for an extra £3.95. We both had the affogata for pudding which was fun and novel.

The early supper deal is excellent value if you want to visit this lovely restaurant without forking out for the more expensive mains - just as we did. That said, we were so impressed that it’s likely we’ll return, perhaps to try the oysters which can be bought individually at £3 a pop.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank freddylc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Visited with friends for an early evening meal on a Saturday night. The restaurant is accessed via a side door past the wet fish sales area which is somewhat strange. However the restaurant itself is well laid out and we did not feel that the other tables were uncomfortably close to ours. It was busy and the staff were friendly and efficient.
The starters were pleasant but not exceptional. For mains, three of us had the turbot. The fish was perfectly "just" cooked and was simply prepared and served. The pudding menu was limited and not particularly interesting, so we did not try them.
This is a good restaurant for fish served well in a relaxed setting.
I would recommend it to friends.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hughdavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Spiny Lobster also viewed

 

Been to The Spiny Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.