We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, but not great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed here for one night at the end of May. We checked in late afternoon thought the room was lovely - very contemporary.

However, the plug in the basin got stuck in, meaning we couldn't empty the water away. We reported this to reception at about 5pm and were told that someone would go to our room whilst we were out and fix it.

Upon returning to the hotel at about 10.30pm we found the basin still full of toothpaste-y water. We phoned reception and the same receptionist we reported the problem to came up - the only way she could 'fix' the problem for us was to remove the plug entirely! We weren't very impressed by this at all, but no complaints about the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Dear Janet_Sarah
Thank you for posting a review for us. Your comment regarding the basin has been passed on to the Maintenance Technician. Please allow me to reassure you that all the plugs in our rooms have been checked and tested in the hotel. Also thank you for bringing the maintenance issue to our attention.
Regards
Sharine Carrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

536 - 542 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

For £90 per night you would expect to at least have a free car park but no you have to pay and display!! I asked on reception on check in if I could by a can of redbull from the fridge behind him but he said the bar had closed so if I wanted one I was to walk 10 minutes to the neaby petrol station, 11 o clock at night!! Extra £30 deposit needed if you pay cash, god knows why! First time in Holiday inn, I feel sorry for the Olymic people who are staying in them as I believe they are the hotel sponser.

Tv in room didnt work and you had to switch off at wall as it was buzzing very loud. Funny smell throughout the hotel also.

Breakfast very poor, toaster not even able to toast the bread after standing there for 10 minutes waiting, pretty poor!

Would not recommend to anybody, find a nearby hotel instead.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danzy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Dear Danzy100

Thank you for taking your time to post a review for us. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your expectations. Your comment regarding the Redbull has been shared with the team and we would like to apologise for the miscommunication. The £30 deposit is a standard policy for all our guests and my team is simply following procedure. Again, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Regards
Sharine Carrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed here Saturday night as last minute change of plan - me and my little boy (19 months old). Walked in around 10pm, very sleepy boy in the pushchair, hoping to get a room quickly so I could get son to bed. Check in took AGES. I think the chap on the desk was a trainee, he needed help from another member of staff at one point. There was no sense of urgency - obvious my son needed to be in bed asap and I was visibly stressed. Foolishly I thought rates would be reasonable, and had a near heart attack at the £90 room rate - although that included breakfast.

Eventually got to the room - not massive, little storage space, not as clean as I would have liked (bathroom). Took a while to get air con right - wary of freezing my son to death.

Walls lack soundproofing - being woken up at 4am by noisy American women in the next room only made the stress worse.

As soon as I used the toilet and sink there was a bad smell from the drain. No bath. Shower was efficient but water didn't drain away so whole of the bathroom floor became a skidpan - had to put used towels on the floor to soak up some of the water!

Tea facilities a plus point, and my son was entertained by his favourite CBeebies channel on the tv.

Breakfast at first glance looked substantial but no bacon, no choice of eggs, sausages slightly overcooked.

Check out was quick - change of staff.

I stayed here because I needed to catch a train first thing Sunday morning. Very handy for Temple Meads, but I could have stayed somewhere better.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrystalBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Dear CrystalBobby
We are sorry to hear that your check in experience was far from desired, please accept our most sincere apologies in causing undue stress to you and your young child.
Regards
Sharine Carrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Stayed here overnight on business.

The hotel had no food service, the breakfast was poor and the wake-up call I requested did not happen.

The corridors smelt of stale cigarette smoke.

Not cheap but felt very budget.

Very close to Bristol Temple Meads station.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLady148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Dear LondonLady148
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good stay with us due to lack of room service and poor breakfast. Also please accept our apologies for the issue with wake up call too.
Regards
Sharine Carrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed here with 2 friends in 2 rooms. We had originally booked a single and double but on arrival they moved the single to 2 doors from us and upgraded to a double free of charge. We were on the top floor in smoking rooms. Rooms were great, had what we needed. Shower worked well, no complaints. Excellent location, walking distance to Cabbotts. Reception staff were very helpful and poilte. We didn't eat the brekkie as we were too hungover from a night in the City!! Would stay here again no problem.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornwall78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Dear Cornwall78
Thank you for taking your time to post a review for us. We are pleased to hear that you and your friends have had a pleasant stay with us and we have met your needs for your night out in Bristol. We look forward to your return soon
Regards
Sharine Carrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Had a few doubts when I first booked with some negative reviews,but as soon as we arrived they were dispelled.Very friendly reception soon had us booked into our room on the second floor at the rear of the hotel..The room was comfy with the sofa bed for our son.The bathroom was quite large with a walk in shower that was very welcome after our drive down.Breakfast was very good with a selection of cereals, breads,jams,yogurts,fruits and pastries,also sausages,scrambled egg and beans.Some moaned about the lack of bacon but there was enough choice to fill up on.I remember when it was just a cold buffet.Some people just like to find faultsThe staff kept the food topped up as well as cleaning the tables .The car park was £6 per night which isn't bad for a city centre,and it was secure with a coded gate.Right opposite the railway station and a short walk to the city.Only about 20 miles from Weston along the A370.SWould use this hotel again.

Room Tip: we had a rear room but with the window open could here the traffic from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigfredthegoalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Dear Bigfredthegoalie
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review posted. It is great to hear that you chose to book with us even with a small handful of negative comments posted and have had your doubts dispelled during your stay with us. We have always prided ourselves on our excellent customer service and also we would like to take this opportunity to reiterate that we do not provide bacon for hot breakfast due to brand standards. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.
Regards
Sharine Carrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

First impression was that the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was quite nice and it was clean. Breakfast was tasty. Very close to temple meads train station and within walking distance of the centre of town.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelli92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Dear Kelli92
I would like to thank you for posting a review for us and we are very pleased to hear that you have had a pleasant stay at our property and our customer service standards have met your expectations.
Regards
Sharine Carrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Bristol Centre
Novotel Bristol Centre
#15 of 39 in Bristol
1,506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay
0.6 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre

Address: South END Temple Gate, Bristol BS1 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £57 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre offers good value, modern hotel accommodation in the heart of Bristol. Located directly opposite Temple Meads Train Station, our modern hotel offers rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing