We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Very well located, the airport bus (£11 return) drops off and picks up across from the hotel, about 50 metres walk.

City centre and SS Great Britain about 15 minutes walk away.

Hotel room was well furnished., toilet was cleaned each day with clean towels as required.
We had no problems and staff were well mannered and courteous

All in all a nice hotel at a reasonable price

Room Tip: rooms at rear dont have road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear John P from Motherwell ,

What a wonderful message to all our future guests ! Thank you for your short and clear description .Wishing you all the best on behalf of all our team

Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
General Hotel Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    294
    153
    44
    27
See reviews for
72
217
72
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in February. First impressions were very positive with a warm welcome from the receptionist. It was 10am but it was no problem checking in and was made to feel genuinely welcome and appreciated and got room straight away.

The hotel is a little worn around the edges but overall provides very good value and good service. The room was spacious and airy. The TV had a good mix of channels and radio stations. The bed was comfortable and there were tea and coffee making facilities - everything you would expect. Agree with the previous poster that the lack of a bath is noticeable but the shower is a double shower and water was hot and plentiful.

Breakfast was decent and there were plenty of staff there to keep things moving. The selection was OK and varied by day - one day had no yoghurts, the previous day there were plenty. The hot food was just eggs, sausages and beans (no rashers, hash browns, tomatoes etc) but this is stated on the menu. The breakfast is included in the rate so anything is welcome. I found that the bread was a little stale - maybe meant for toasting and on the first day the cheese was shrivelled up and best avoided, heard others mention this too, but the next day it was fine. You can also pick up a free newspaper by the bar.

One negative was that the security system which was meant to mean that you could only access the lift and bedrooms with a valid key card was not working and anybody could get through. Hopefully it is fixed by now.

One last thing Holiday Inn have a best price guarantee. I booked a room and found it cheaper elsewhere and as part of the guarantee got the first night free. Just e mailed them and told them and got one night's stay free without any quibbles.

Hotel is well located just opposite the train station and a 10 min walk max to the city centre. Would stay again if in Bristol.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SH2315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear SH 2315 from Ireland ,
Thank you very much for your detailed and positive feedback on your staying with us . We have nothing to add to it except the apologies for the stale bread .We do provide only toasting bread though. We are proud you felt being genuinly welcomed and appreciated .

Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
General Hotel Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly.

Carpark. First come first served £6.50 per 24hrs cheaper on a Saturday night to park next door in the pay and display.

Room. Small, and had an unpleasant smell, didn't feel clean. Child bed was VERY uncomfortable with a very thin mattress on hard wooden slats. Our room was on the corner so we got to watch all the police cars and vans charging around outside. The hotel is directly opposite Temple Mead station so there was a large police presence for returning football fans on the Saturday night.

Breakfast. Included in room cost, basic but ok.

There is a nice italian restruant a couple of doors up where we had a good evening meal.

Would not stay here again mainly as it felt grubby, would rather pay a little more and feel comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear Susan B,
So very unfortunate that you stayed on a football night but we have no control of that . As you correctly mentioned we are located right opposite the train station which some consider a big bonus .
Thank you for mentioning our helpful and friendly staff and " a basic but ok breakfast " .We are glad you enjoyed the dinner in the italian restaurant .
You are quite right the guests of the hotel have a choice of parking either in the gated area or a public one .On the whole it looks like not everything was not to your liking and we hope you change your mind and decide to stay with us again , we will be loking forward to see you back.

On behalf of all our friendly team
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
General Hotel Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Comfortable clean room, disappointed that baths had been taken out to be replaced with showers, without warning on website. Close walking distance to riverside bars & restaurants, fab location. Breakfast included in price which was fab, good choice & tasty!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Dear Donna C ,
Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are delighted your enjoyed a clean and comfortable room and breakfast was to your liking as well with a good choice and included into the price .Unfortunately , we don`t have baths as you correctly mentioned but our showers are very nice and comfortable .We are glad your stay proved enjoyable overall .

May we take this opportunity to welcome you back .

Best regards
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
Guest Hotel Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

On the way back from a rugby game in Cardiff, we needed a cheap room and quick access to Bristol airport. This hotel is perfectly situated for that. No thrills, simply efficient. Breakfast was a bit chaotic as there was not quite enough space for everyone on a Sunday.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Dear SwissMac,

First of all , hope you enjoyed rugby and secondly,thank you for your nice comments. We are pleased the location of the hotel gives a good access not only to the airport but to Cardiff and other places of interest in and around Bristol.
Breakfasts could be a bit crowdy on a Sunday due to amount of people coming down nearly at the same time but that shouldn`t make it less enjoyable .

Best regards
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Stayed for 1 night with 2 friends.

Handy hotel for our needs .. close to main rail station and a base to head out on the town at night.

Room was a bit cramped for 3 adults, and breakfast was basic enough .. but NO COMPLAINTS

Room Tip: Try and get a larger room if more than 2 people travelling
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tommygilboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear tommygilboy,

Thank you for taking your time to leave a comment .The location can`t be more comfortable for train commuters. Agree the sofa bedroom is not big enough for 3 adults, it is more suitable for a family with a child . Hot breakfast is complimentary for all our guests and it is good enough to start a day .You are welcome to stay with us again .

Regards,

Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed here in October 2012 the hotel has great access to the train station and is a 15 minute walk into the centre of Bristol. We stayed for 2 nights and I would recommend the hotel and would certainly stay there again. The staff were good and the bar in the public area is adequately stocked.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnlegend73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Darren P ,

Thank you for your very positive comment and hope to see you again in the near future.

Wishing you all the best

Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Bristol Centre
Novotel Bristol Centre
#13 of 37 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Address: South End, Temple Gate House, Bristol BS1 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre offers good value, modern hotel accommodation in the heart of Bristol. Located directly opposite Temple Meads Train Station, our modern hotel offers rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing