We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed then dismayed.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Booked 7 twin rooms through Laterooms - when phoning to cancel a room was told that we had 7 doubles.....not best accommodation for 14 men on cricket tour!! Disappointing that the hotel did not contact me!! After much hassle a part solution of 6 twins for 2 nights and then doubles for last night. Seemed like a reasonable compromise until another payment for the room we did not use was taken from my account 3 days after our stay- still being looked into by Laterooms, hotel and HIE..............out of pocket to the tune of £260!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wicketkeeper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Wicketkeeper

Disappointed then dismayed, indeed Mr Wicketkeeper.

Thank you once again for yet another review. As we have attempted to explain on all your cricket teams’ previous reviews so far, if you book doubles with LATEROOMS (a third party agent) expecting twins to be presented by the hotel on arrival, then unfortunately you will be disappointed if the hotel is fully booked.

My colleague was trying to be hospitable by offering you twins at the tail end of your stay, as soon as she learned of your booking error (which you accepted) however it now seems this effort was perceived by your team as unhelpful or unprofessional.

Even LATEROOMS management attempted three times, at our request to speak to you prior to your arrival, yet I remind you once again, you were still happy to maintain the original reservation rather than cancel.

In summary, I am sincerely delighted to hear LATEROOMS management are finally looking into your reservation with them. Certainly for the benefit of other guests, we will be keeping a close eye on future weekend group bookings being directed via this third party agent.

Should you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel or indeed email me at sgsm@hiexpressbristol.co.uk

John Morton - Senior Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stay regularly in this hotel. It has a good location just across the train station and the staff is very helpful. Everything is quiet close to the hotel: city centre, harbour side, old city. Good hotel worth of money.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking to train station, very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear edina a
Thank you for sharing your stay experience in our hotel with fellow travellers and we look forward to receiving you again on your next visit to Bristol.
Regards
Sharine Carrow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The hotel is down the block fromTemple Meads and so it was very convenient to stay here. It is about a 20 minute walk to the city center but it really is not that bad of a walk. Most of the inclines in the city are in the city center itself. The hotel was clean, quiet, and our room was just fine. it may be that our room was quiet because we were on the fourth floor. Breakfast was mediocre. Also, there is only one lift, so a few times we took the stairs. The people at the front desk were very nice.Even though it is not in the city center, I believe it was a great choice since the next day we were at the train station in less than five minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europeantraveler0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Europeantraveler0504
Thank you for taking your time to post a review for us and sharing your experience with fellow travellers. As mentioned, our hotel has a perfect location due to it's close proximity to Bristol Temple Meads Train Station, making it very convenient for both business and leisure guests. We are very happy to hear that you have had a pleasant stay and our customer service has met your expectation. We hope to have you staying with us again on your next visit to our lovely city.
Regards
Sharine Carrow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Me & my family stayed in this hotel to see Bath & Bristol. The room was clean & a good size for 3 people staying, the breakfast was good too. On the whole a good hotel, although I did find it strange (from going to other Holiday Inns) that you could walk into the back & the front of the hotel & not necessarily be seen? 2 other things to be aware of: if you intend to get a taxi anywhere don't ask reception as the taxi firm they use on the 1st trip the driver didn't know where he was going & coming back a different driver had his steering wheel held together by tape! Also part of the hotel is above a pub & on the Saturday night of our stay they had a live act, didn't bother us to much as we were at the other end if the hotel, but this went on from half 9 till midnight, anyone directly above the pub, wouldn't have been too pleased

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank NeilOakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear NeilOakley
I would like to thank you for taking your time to post a review for us. We are please to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The entrance into the hotel from the back of the hotel was for the convenience of our guests who have travelled into Bristol by car. It is an area we are continuously accessing in order to maintain a high level of security for our guests. We work with a number of taxi firms and will definitely relay your comment to them too. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again during your next visit to Bristol.
Regards
Sharine Carrow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

6pounds for parking!! Parking area not built for a range rover... Had no sleep due to very busy road, doors banging at 3am... And cold tap is hot water so no cold water in room. I have a 2yr old who's bed was made up right agents a heater on the wall so had to move it all around! It was a joke... Will not be staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raftery34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Raftery34
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting a review for us. We are investigating into the various issues you have brought to our attention so that relevant actions can be taken in order to improve our facilities, products and ensuring our guests can look forward to a comfortable stay with us. Due to our limited parking spaces, we have an agreement with the adjacent NCP car park for a lower parking fee for our guests at £2.50 from 6pm to 8am which is payable at the Pay and Display machine by their entrance. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Regards
Sharine Carrow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed here as part of a cricket tour group and they messed up our 3 day booking so we had double rooms on the Saturday night rather than twin rooms which we'd had on the Thursday and Friday--we had to check out on the Saturday to check back into the rooms which they'd incorrectly booked and the process took 30 minutes-at one stage I was told they only had 2 of the rooms even though they'd been pre-booked and pre-paid for a year! In the end it was sorted but it was very poor.The breakfast was ghastly but the rooms were ok.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mullionboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Mullionboy
Thank you for taking your time to post a review for us on Tripadvisor. I would like to reassure you that the group reservations made via an online channel was dealt with very efficiently by my Reservations Manager and 3 managers of that channel. The original booking was made for Standard Rooms therefore room types are allocated based on availability. The organisor for your group was contacted and informed of the room type availability based on his request hence the agreement of changing rooms during your stay was reached prior to your arrival.
We hope that this would help clear up any misunderstanding.
Regards
Sharine Carrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Chosen for location as it was opposite the cider festival we were going to. We had a room at the back of the hotel which was a bit quiter and it was clean..even had a choice of pillow, soft or firm!! Room had air con and very spacious shower...breakfast was ok, although croissants were horrible! Rock hard and quite stale, tasteless. Apart from that all ok. If we stay in bristol again wouldn't hesitate in staying there again.

Room Tip: If you want a bit more peace and quiet then request a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Jason and Nicky H
Thank you for taking your time to post a review for us. We are pleased to hear that you have had a great stay and our hotel facilities have met your expectation. We always welcome feedback in order to improve on our service and products and we really appreciate your comment on breakfast. We look forward to have you staying with us again soon.
Regards
Sharine Carrow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel
0.2 mi away
Novotel Bristol Centre
Novotel Bristol Centre
#15 of 39 in Bristol
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre

Address: South END Temple Gate, Bristol BS1 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £48 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre offers good value, modern hotel accommodation in the heart of Bristol. Located directly opposite Temple Meads Train Station, our modern hotel offers rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing