We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

This is very close to the train station, in what appears to be a fairly modern building. The staff are great, very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

The room is clean, however, you cannot escape the hideous 'drain' smell from the bathroom, where the shower has a broken mixer-tap that is so encrusted in limescale that it must have broken many months ago. You cannot watch the tv in your room as the lead to the arial socket has decayed to such a state that you can see wire, and as such, you can only see people through a blizzard! Not coming back here ...

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Scott2586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience of the hotel. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

If you have any further questions or would you like to discus it further, do not hesitate please do contact me directly.

Tomas Bartuskevicius
Guest Service Manager - 01179304800
gsa@hiexpressbristol.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

And in that sense you're never disappointed - similarly not overly impressed either
It's handy for the station but a little remote from the centre and therefore lacking any kind of infrastructure nearby - no convenience stores - just one ( very good) Italian restaurant
Maybe better in the spring or summer when the 10 minute walk to a more interesting venue would not be so problematic
Don't come here expecting too much - oh the car park is great value

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank BruceHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review. If you would like to discuss with me your stay further, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Kind Regards,

John Morton

Senior Guest Services Manager - 0117 930 4800
sgsm@hiexpressbristol.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Hotel is opposite Bristol Temple Meads Station, great location, very convenient for shops, restaurants etc. The Reception staff were extremely helpful, answering questions and moving us to another room immediately when we had a slight problem. The room was spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, good hot shower and fluffy towels! Will definately return.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel (overlooking car park) and there was early morning noise when...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

It is always great to see such warm feedback coming back from our guests. All reviews, are of course much appreciated as they help us to develop and improve on areas.

Thank you for taking the time to review. If you would like to discuss with me your stay further, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Kind Regards,

John Morton

Senior Guest Services Manager - 0117 930 4800
sgsm@hiexpressbristol.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Very, very good reception staff - helpful and welcoming. Room very pleasant and protected from noise of traffic. Breakfast is pretty basic - but as expected ... regretted the microwaved 'snack' a very expensive ready meal of the cheapest kind, and no, I wasn't convinced that cardboard nan was a suitable substitution for garlic bread with the Cannelloni...... but very convenient for the station, a good place to get to other part of Bristol and if you want to eat out a very reasonable 'Spoons around the corner and an Italian if you turn right out of the Hotel. Overall very pleased to have such a well-presented and comfortable room - clearly newly refurbished - and above all to have had such excellent staff on duty whilst I was there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curlytoptwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review.

If you would like to discuss with me your experience further, please feel free to contact me at any time. Our Bristol team looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

John Morton

Senior Guest Services Manager - 0117 930 4800
sgsm@hiexpressbristol.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We had an overnight stop in Bristol and stayed at the hotel due to its close proximity to the main train station. Bus to the airport goes from the station and town is a 15-20 min walk. The staff were very friendly and appeared to do everything they can to help. There is free breakfast but we left too early to take advantage of it. The room is typically for a holiday inn - very basic but clean. They provide a cot without charge and there was free wifi. Good value and would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lu_rvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Hi Lu_rvs,

Thank you for taking the time to review. If you would like to discuss with me your stay further, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Kind Regards,

John Morton

Senior Guest Services Manager - 0117 930 4800
sgsm@hiexpressbristol.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Completely satisfied with my three day stay this week. Reception staff were nice on arrival and explained the car parking options. As I was arriving after 6PM and leaving before 8AM I could take advantage of the £2.50 parking (a note for your windscreen is required from reception).

Room was fine, I was on the forth floor at the front but traffic noise was minimal. WiFi is a little slow but free so that's a bonus. I did eat in the restaurant one evening as it was chucking it down with rain outside and I didn't fancy venturing out. Food was basic but fine for one night. Breakfast was included / "free" and again OK.

Good points - staff were helpful and pleasant. Down side - close to the station but a little way out of the City Centre.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevehc247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Good Afternoon Stevehc247

Thank you for taking the time to review. If you would like to discuss with me your stay further, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Kind Regards,

John Morton

Senior Guest Services Manager - 0117 930 4800
sgsm@hiexpressbristol.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I was not expecing much as it looked very old from the outside hotel but when I entered I was pleasantly suprised as it had obvioulsy been completely refurbished recently.

The reception staff were very pleasant and welcoming and the rooms lovely warmand clean.

Unfortunately I had a bedroom on the front of the hotel which if you like sleeping with a window open is not recommended as it is on a VERY busy main road and traffic mainly emergy services vehicleswere going past ALL night - on top of that although the bedrooms have been refurbished they have not replaced the pillows which were like trying to sleep on bricks...the choice was supposed to be soft & firm which is standard in a Holiday Inn Express but believe me these were not a choice.I did ask the reception team about the pillows the next morning and they did say they were supposed to be being replaced shortly...I know budget can be tight in hotels but good pillows are essential so my recommendation until they replace the pillows would be if possible take your own and ask for a room at the back of the hotel

I dis eat in the hotel as I was a lone lady traveller and did not want to venture into a city I do not know at night time...the menu was very limited I decided upon a ham and cheese toastie with salad that was (available 24 hours according to the menu) however, this was not available so forgetting the diet I had the pizza which was very tasty but not really what I wanted.

All that said the staff were lovely and helpful and yes I wouldstay again but with my own pillow

The Location is ideally located if you are arriving in the city by train just across the main road streight opposite but a walk to most places in the city centre - the main shopping centre is about a 10-15 minute walk so a taxi may be advised.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back away fromthe main road Check if they have replaced the pillows - if not take yo...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathysav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Hi Cathysav;

Thank you for taking the time to review. If you would like to discuss with me your stay further, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Kind Regards

John Morton

Senior Guest Services Manager - 0117 930 4800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Bristol Centre
Novotel Bristol Centre
#14 of 39 in Bristol
1,492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre

Address: South END Temple Gate, Bristol BS1 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £58 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre offers good value, modern hotel accommodation in the heart of Bristol. Located directly opposite Temple Meads Train Station, our modern hotel offers rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing